skip navigation
The Blob

The Blob(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Blob A misunderstood teen fights to... MORE > $26.99 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Blob

    • Goetan
    • 8/3/13

    The perfect film to introduce viewers to campy, cult films. McQueen is too old to play the young hero who tries to convince the idiotic towns people of the Jell-O monster that's invaded their town. The story is pretty predictable, but also ingenious for combining the "Teen Delinquent" genre with the B-movie, Sci-fi genre. Not good, but very entertaining with a potentially haunting ending. I give it a 2.5/5.

  • Steve Mc Queen

    • denscul
    • 7/6/13

    Saw this at the Drive in long ago. I thought that Mc Queen was the man. Forget James Dean, still don't know why the chicks loved him. I always thought he needed XLax. If your too young to know what that is, ask your grandparents. I loved the hi-tech use of pie filling as the blob. If the actors got any on them, they could just lick it off. The story is corny, the film was low budget, but it has endured because of McQueen, and despite of the lack of computer generated effects. Like King Kong, It Came from Outer Space, these films will probably last longer than the latest King Kong, or any of the new spectaculars. The ratings are low, but why is it, that Academy Award winners frequently failed at the Box Office or have vanished from TCM, are not made into DVD's and not seen on Netflix and its completion. Does that say something about the professional critics. Have they lost touch with the common man?

  • THE BLOB

    • RUDEWOMAN
    • 7/6/13

    I'm "watching" this movie while doing housework, even though I have seen this movie many times before, I note something new each time I see it ( the best is how the people running & screaming out of the movie theatre all have smiles and seem to be laughing). Today's viewing brought to my mind that the blob is dropped off at the frozen Artic to keep it under control forever. What happens now that the ice is melting because of global warming?That's why there is that big ?, they knew this was going to happen even in the 50"s!!!.........only Steve McQueen movie that I like.7 out of the movie theatre

  • a drive in classic

    • my.comment
    • 7/4/13

    our family had saturday nites at the local drive in and that's where i saw this movie. i remember ducking behind the front seat alot; and still remember that title song: beware of the blob; it leaps and creeps, and glides and slides... it's just too perfect. and i don't know how steve mcqueen ever got another acting job...

  • This camp classic oozes

    • collin stevens
    • 6/4/13

    Pack up your belongings and head for "camp" because this classic is about half as good and you'll have a great time! the blob is about a metorite that crash lands as a strange creature grows into a giant rhaspberry jello alien amoeba that eats and disolves citizens! remember the time where I did a review on the nutty professor well this camp classic rips off others so beware the blob and enjoy this movie, you'll have a monsterous time!

  • Talky B Pic Closes Well(1958)

    • nshepard
    • 7/22/12

    Steve McQueen as misunderstood teen angster finds man with outer space goo on his arm. Takes him to the local Dr. with disasterous circumstances. Talky but McQueen the real deal.Well worth the price of admission. Lack of complete music score big negative, but the story closes well withh satisfactory results. Anita Corsaut also stars.3.5 stars out of 5.

  • The Blob

    • zanny
    • 7/30/11

    This is probally one of the best B movies of the 50s. IT stars Steve Mcqueen

  • The Blob

    • Stephen Case
    • 7/1/11

    As a child I got to see this movie and for months I looked at air/heater vents with terror in my young heart. Because I just knew that I heard something moving in the vents!!!

  • Scariest movie of all time.

    • rlgbob
    • 6/11/11

    My parents took my sister and myself to a drive-in to see this movie when it came out and I was 8. This was the only movie that has ever given me nightmares. My kids have watched it and think it is hilarious that it scared me so badly.

  • Memorable

    • Jack
    • 8/3/10

    I recall very well seeing this movie when I was 18, everyone in the theater had a ball, we laughed at just about every scene, scary it was not, even the girls thought it was silly, but fun. Aneta Corseaut (Jane) sure looks a lot younger than when she became a regular just a few years later on the "Andy Griffith Show".

  • The Blob

    • Angelique sims
    • 11/9/09

    This was an excellent movie! I loved it all the way through. Full of suspense, action, and comedy all the way through! Two thumbs up!

  • One of the MOST exciting movies ever made

    • Rusti
    • 1/6/07

    While this movie is going on 49 years old, it is still as exciting today as it was when it first came out. Forget the modern horror, get your whole family around the TV and pop this movie in, you'll all be in for a good time. A nice mix of science fiction and genuine horror, the only people aware that a town is in danger, are the local teenagers who the police refuse to listen to, so they must get everybody's attention before the Blob kills them all. Very exciting, no matter how old or young you are, this is a great film and the whole family can see it, there's no blood, language, nothing perverted, just a bunch of sci-fi fun and some good old excitement and terror.

  • Excellent 50's Horror,sci-fi

    • lummox66
    • 3/21/06

    Steve McQueen's first movie,was a low budget horror film,released in 1958.On par with War Of The Worlds.The blob is set in small-town America.A meteor falls to earth,and horror ensues..I recommend this film highly.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.