skip navigation
The Godfather

The Godfather(1972)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Godfather Epic tale of a 1940s New York... MORE > $49.99 Regularly $49.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • 10/12/12

  • Godfather

    • Mike
    • 9/5/12

    This is culture shock. There are no good cops, no DA's, governors, molls, prisons, police chases, gamblers, rum-runners, reformers, G-Men, witnesses, juvenile delinquents, reporters, grand larceny allegations, prison bust-outs, shoot-outs, detectives, lineups. A triumph of Corman Gothic. Perfectly cast, acted and produced.

  • One Of My Favorite Films Of All Time

    • Alex Krajci
    • 9/3/12

    The Godfather Is One Of My Favorite Films Of All Time, I Like This Film Better The Godfather: Part II And The Godfather: Part III.

  • The Godfather

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/31/12

    This Best picture winner is an excellent film that time will remember. Brando gives the performance of a generation, winning his last Academy Award. Cann, Duvall & Pacino are excellent as his sons, each earning Oscar nominations. Director Coppola & Puzo won for adapting the latter's successful novel to create a chillingly accurate account of the mafia lifestyle. A film that will live in the hearts & minds of all those who see this unforgettable film. I give it a 5/5.

  • Brilliant Movie

    • Adventure
    • 1/1/12

    Kudos to Paramount Pictures and Francis Ford Copolla for a great movie masterpiece. Marlon Brandois superb and The Godfather and a great cast of players all of whom would become Academy Award Winners and superstars: Al Pacino, Diane Keaton and Robert Duvall.

  • My favorite

    • Adam
    • 8/18/11

    This is my favorite film of all-time... I could watch it over and over and never get tired of it.

  • The Godfather (1972)

    • Jeff
    • 6/23/11

    The gangster movie genre hadn't been a sure fire thing since the days of James Cagney, Humphrey Bogart, and Edward G. Robinson. This was no hindrance to Francis Ford Coppolla, who thought this was all the more reason to create a film adaptation from Mario Puzo's novel. The film is about how when Mafia leader Don Vito Corleone (Marlon Brando), is injured from a botched assassination attempt, his son and Mafia outsider Michael (Al Pacino) comes to his side and becomes involved in the family business, soon taking over. Nino Rota's score is unforgettable, the cinematography is phenomenal, the direction from Coppolla is great, and the script with immortal lines from 'I'm gonna make 'em an offer he can't refuse' and 'Leave the gun, take the cannolis', etc. is great as well. But the film's real MVPs are what anchored the film, Marlon Brando and Al Pacino. They make their characters immortal from Pacino's rightfully star making role to Brando's best role. Brando is so good in this that he makes his character as memorable as Rick Blaine, Scarlett O'Hara, Dorothy Gale, or Darth Vader. This is an offer you can't refuse.

  • Long Movie

    • chris
    • 5/24/11

    It drags a little

  • My Favorite Film

    • Mrs.Strangelove
    • 1/3/10

    Ever since I saw this film at my father's house a year ago,I knew that "The Godfather" had quickly become my favorite film of all time.The movie is completely flawless.I don't seen ANYTHING wrong with it or anything I would change if I had the opportuinity.It has an amazing premise about a family invloved in the mafia that slowly starts to falls apart because it has been threatened indirectly by an ever-changing society.The performances of Marlon Brando,Al Pacino,James Caan,Robert Duvall,Talia Shire,Diane Keaton,etc. are some of the greatest acting you will ever see in all of cinema history.Francis Ford Coppola's directing is impeccable and his shots are gorgeous.I could paise every aspect of this movie all day,but I will say this,who WOULDN'T love this movie?It has remorable scenes,characters,it has as much humor as it does drama,and it's not at all surprsing that this movie is one of many great milestones in the world of cinema.

  • What more can I say.....

    • marty
    • 8/27/09

    I've seen this movie about 100 times and still enjoy it every time even though I pretty much know the entire dialogue. It is one of those movies that's just plain mezmorizing....the music score is instrumental in making it so captivating.One of the all time greats.

  • Beautiful cinematography and direction.

    • Michael
    • 9/29/07

    I used to hate this movie because just like every other greatest movie ever made, I thought that it was overrated and not interesting but after watching more and more I have come to appreciate this timeless film, the characters are so well developed and the story surpasses all the other dreadful gangster films. The story is still relevent today and still says so much about who we are as human beings and it still holds up much better then most 30 year old movies do. Oh I forgot, the cinematography is superb and each shot gives me chills and takes me to another place. I love this film, although it still is a bit overrated, I can't help but love it.

  • wow

    • mark rumpf
    • 12/27/06

    the godfather was more than a gangstermovie. it was a celebration of familyand personal honor and accountability.

  • An Offer you can't refuse.

    • Tristan
    • 8/20/06

    The Godfather consists every element of what a phenomenal movie should have. Terrific performance by Marlon Brando and others. Great score by Nino Rota (love the song). Magnificent story, and very consistent with the novel. If you tell me otherwise, then you are a complete idiot, because it's ranked 3rd in best movie of all time by AFI. This is one of those movies that will make you obcess. Because my friend, it's an offer you can't refuse.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.