skip navigation
Eyes Without a Face

Eyes Without a Face(1959)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Eyes Without a Face A surgeon steals young... MORE > $22.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • H.A.C.
    • 10/23/18

    'Frankenstein's Theory of Interchangeablepartsativity' is the title of my following review which failed to post the 1st time...

    • H.A.C.
    • 10/23/18

    What reviewer K.S. posted! The National Geographic posted an article dealing with face transplants from corpses onto living recipients- one case looking like a cabbage-patch-doll after surgery & healing. Some way or another, the original body rejects the foreign misfit externally and/or internally as this movie, meticulous in its horror, made undeniably clear.

  • eyes without a face

    • kevin sellers
    • 11/4/17

    In a style best described as "elegantly disgusting," a mood that perhaps only the French can perfect, this gem of a horror flic will definitely get under your skin (no pun intended). I defy anyone to view Dr. Genessier's surgical practices with indifference. And the denouement will satisfy any viewer jaded by the sanguine tendencies of a Hooper or Carpenter. Throw in appropriately Jarre-ing, demented carnival music (sorry, couldn't resist another bad pun) and wonderful sick/ twisted performances from the two leads, Alida Valli (grown a bit fleshier from 'Third Man" but just as alluring) and Pierre Brasseur (think Walter Slezak with a Gallic air), and you have one damn fine scary movie. If the hero of the piece as well as the cops who track Genessier and Co. had been a bit less dull then I would have accorded this one an A instead of an A minus.

  • Eyes without a Face

    • Goetan
    • 11/6/14

    An atmospheric, moody horror film. A doctor kidnaps women to graft their faces on to her disfigured daughter, who indirectly drives her father's decisions, creating an human monster. The films greatness comes from director Franju's multiple use of contrasting elements, the film is a beautiful fantasy and a shocker based in reality. Still able to disturb, this is a gorgeously-photographed chiller. I give it a 4/5.

  • A classic!

    • ggtx785
    • 12/6/12

    One of the best psychological thrillers you'll see...had me hooked from the opening credits, with that kooky circus-like calliope theme music playing. Amazing performances all around, especially from the three leads, who deliver understated, complex performances when it would have been easy to veer into melodrama. Very cool film I'll definitely be purchasing for my classic movie library.

  • Dr. Faustus' Chamber of Horrors

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/12/12

    This was the title of "Eyes Without A Face" when it was released in the U.S. in 1962. I'd seen EWAF once before late one Sunday night as part of TCM Imports about 2 or 3 years ago. It's a very slick thriller (I think the term "horror" is very overused) from France about a plastic surgeon who steals the faces of young girls and grafts them onto his horribly scarred daughter in hopes of making her beautiful again. Of course the doctor gets paid back for his evil deeds at the end, being attacked by all of those dogs. Alida Valli is the only name in EWAF that I recognize, having starred in Hitchcock's "The Paradine Case" and the classic film noir "The Third Man". EWAF reminds me of another thriller about a doctor who steals glands in order to keep his wife young looking, but I can't remember the title.

  • Excellent French Thriller

    • Cheryl
    • 10/23/09

    This movie has great cinematography. It's a more grown-up version of a thriller. Highly recommended!

  • well done,Georges!

    • me
    • 6/6/09

    I loved this movie! I found it very symbolic...such as the way that the doves scattered throughout the film (and ultimatlly in the climatic scene)were used to represent the innocence within.Also,I noticed how the various portraits of her throughout the house showed her father's obsession for her perfection(out of his own guilt).The photography is also nicely done,always so tatalizingly close to seeing her real face,then swooping away at the last second, making you secretly sigh.Even though this movie is subtitled, the script is so colorful, and the plot is so engaging,it was if I could actully hear the charachters speaking in english!I'm no expert,now...I just rented this on pay-per-view...but this movie was amazing.Five stars.No question.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.