skip navigation
The Kid

The Kid(1921)

  • Wednesday, December 17 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Kid In this silent comedy, an... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Kid

    • Goetan
    • 8/15/14

    Chaplin's first feature film explores the storytelling technique he would be known for. He and Coogan give beautiful performances as an adoptive father and his child, respectively. Perfectly combining comedy and pathos, this film has hilarious pieces and sentimental, but effective moments. Paved the way for films like "The Gold Rush," "City Lights" and "Modern Times." I give it a 4.5/5.

  • the kid

    • angie
    • 3/30/14

    beautiful silent film starring the great charlie chaplin and jackie coogan- a must see for any film buff and a perfect example of why chaplin was and still is a superstar

  • Beautiful Film

    • Natacha
    • 10/8/12

    This classic is not to be missed. Chaplin's little tramp finds an abandoned baby and decides to take him home. When he first brings the child to his tenement house, neighbors ask what the baby's name is, so the tramp ducks inside briefly to check the gender, and returns and responds: "John". Chaplin's portrayal is especially poignant because he had lost his own infant son shortly before starting work on this film. Chaplin's son had multiple congenital anomalies that were fatal at the time. Chaplin was so despondent over the child's death that he put "The Little Mouse" on the child's grave marker, rather than his name. You see what paternal grief looks like when you view the scene in which child protective services take the child away. The film does have a happy ending, though.

  • the synopsis

    • anna
    • 4/16/12

    I believe there are errors in the synopsis- it doesn't accurately reflect the full story

  • The Kid

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ****

  • All-timeFavorite Silent Film

    • LESG
    • 2/14/11

    I rarely watch silent films, but for anyone else in that category and for silent film buffs, The Kid is not to be missed. It is sad, yet caring, a beautiful human story of love in the purest form. A definite Must-See!

  • Greatest movie of the silent era

    • Mr D
    • 8/10/10

    This picture is extraordinary. Almost Dickensian in his pathos - Jackie Coogan played the mop-haired child. Chaplin's story-telling is sublime. The courtyard dream scene in heaven may be Chaplin's greatest achievement in film.5 stars - not to be missed!

  • THE KID

    • indydave
    • 6/23/10

    This is absolutely the sweetest film I have ever seen in my life and I don't even like children. Thank you TCM for having so many dvd's that cannot be found in specialty stores or on the internet.

  • The Kid

    • Bob
    • 8/1/08

    Classic movie in my opinion. When I first saw it I really enjoyed the kid and could not believe it was Jackie Coogan. Another great job by Charlie Chaplin. Well worth a look people.

  • One of the greatest

    • Polly
    • 4/21/08

    I love this film! It got me to laugh and cry! Jackie Coogan was asome in it. And being so young. And of course Charlie Chaplin was great in it, they made a perfect team. If you have not seen this yet please do. I sure you'll love it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.