skip navigation
The Thrill of It All

The Thrill of It All(1963)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Thrill of It All A doctor tries to cope with... MORE > $9.95 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the thrill of it all

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/7/16

    Hit and miss comedy with the hits mostly centering on James Garner's talent for comic humiliation. The misses include insufferably adorable kids, a senile butler, a caricatured psychiatrist, toothless satire of TV (movies loved to put themselves above the newer medium, usually coming off as hypocritical and self serving in the process) and, of course, the big miss being the ignorant message that woman's work is subordinate to man's. I know I should check my politics at the door when watching a film, and maybe if this film had been funnier or better directed (it has the look of a 60s sit com, thanks to the usually pedestrian Norman Jewison) I would have, but as it is, with the feminist movement against sexist crap like this less than ten years in the future, I can only categorize this movie as appealing to the male old fart in all of us. Give it a C.

  • Still the best!

    • Alice
    • 3/6/16

    This evening Ben Mankieweitz, while introducing "The Thrill of it All", said Doris Day was the biggest money -making star of her day and that whenever any of her films came out, it was guaranteed that movie-goers would line up around the block to see the film. You know what? I am 71 and would do that today. Even though I own most of her films on VHD or DVD, I still take the time to watch all of her films every single time they are shown by TCM. I am so glad she is still with us. What a wonderful actress, dancer, singer. All her films; comedy, musical, or dramatic are great. Please TCM, keep showing all of her films.

  • The Thrill of it All

    • Michael Whitty
    • 2/2/16

    Everything's fine in the James Garner- Doris Day house until she gets picked to be a TV spokesperson for "Happy Soap" commercials. It's only one day a week...but its $1500 a week. But Dr. James Garner is against it and trouble starts when the TV people give Doris a new swimming pool and Garner gets mad and kicks the detergent into the pool and the next morning there are "suds" all over the house. Directed colorfully by Norman Jewison, who began his Hollywood career the same year with "40 Pounds of Trouble" with Tony Curtis, here was a romantic comedy that's one of the best although Jewison would later top this years later with "Moonstruck". But for the late 50s and early 60s Doris Day was the number one female star and "The Thrill of it All" was another of her winners.

  • the thrill of it all

    • michael whitty
    • 1/5/16

    Doris Day at her merriest. Married to doctor James Garner but Doris is discovered as a TV ad girl and trys to make the most of it despite objections from her husband. A bright and funny comedy especially when James Garner drives his convertible into his swimming pool.

  • Funny Movie

    • Griffin
    • 4/5/14

    This is a very funny movie. It also has some very sweet loving moments between Day and Garner. The kids are adorable without being annoyingly cute like some movie kids.

  • Doris Day night on TCM 4/3/14

    • Nicholas
    • 4/3/14

    Dear TCM, I noticed that you aren't showing "Midnight Lace" tonight, not even at Midnight (ha, ha), in spite of this being Doris Day's 90th birthday celebration. Why not? I've noticed that you've shown tantalizing ads w/clips of it recently, but are not showing tonight- does this make any sense?! Instead, you're showing TWO back-to-back silly comedies w/James Garner, made the same year (1963). What gives? How about a little variety, please? Since this film is not out on DVD (or even VHS?), it makes it especially important that you show it more often. It would show Doris Day's acting versatility, instead of just her comedies & musicals all the time. C'mon TCM, vary your programming w/the big stars!Sincerely,Nicholas

  • Fine Actress - Always makes you feel good

    • Judy
    • 4/3/14

    I've always admired Ms. Day and think she has always been underrated as a fine actress. She did it all - musicals, drama, and her forte - comedy - with an ease and grace that has certainly been forgotten in today's Hollywood and in Hollywood films of the 21st century. It seems that I go to her films whenever I am feeling down as her roles were either upbeat or made you feel that she could overcome anything. She seems well-grounded and just an overall well-adjusted 'star' but without all of the pomp and stuffiness that you see from Hollywood today. She shines far above the crowd when it comes to being a true Hollywood legend. Thanks, TCM for continually showing her films.

  • Not the best

    • Jack The Hat
    • 1/1/14

    I first saw Doris Day in "Romance On The High Seas" and I became a Doris Day fan. This film was not one of her best--Jim Garner is a miss-match. Doris over all was a greater actress then a singer but don't get me wrong Doris could sing. I avoid watching this film when it runs on television.

  • Thank you, Doris Day!

    • Vann Norris
    • 9/22/08

    Doris is a very classy, talented, and comedic actress. I have most of her films in my movie library. I recently purchased her book, "Doris Day: Her Own Story". I was dissapointed that she did not comment in detail about her relationship with Ronald Reagan. I also would like to meet her in person. I thoroughly enjoy her music and listen to "Possess Me" daily. I wish her all of life's treasures. Thank you for sharing your talents. May God always abundantly bless you and keep you in His divine care.

  • Doris Day

    • Shirley Blanton
    • 4/9/07

    Doris Day is one of our best actresses and at my age I still thank the world of that woman and sure wish that I could meet her. She is a wonderful person.Shirley

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.