skip navigation
Texas Across the River

Texas Across the River(1966)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Texas Across the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • texas across the river

    • sue
    • 3/17/13

    I absolutely love this movie.Joey Bishop is so funny.. There is not one bad scene in this movie. I could watch it every day. I want to get this movie on dvd

  • Funny underrated Western

    • mike
    • 12/19/11

    If you haven't heard of this western, you are missing out on something. Dean Martin needs help leading settlers safely across Texas circa 1845, he meets up with Don Andrea Baltazar (Alain Delon) who has been wrongfully accused of murder and with Kronk (Joey Bishop)a wisecracking native. Complicating matters are southern belle Phoebe Ann (Rosemary Forsythe) and cavalry officer Peter Graves who continually yells out orders no one can understand. (Both of whom are ridiculously full of themselves). Not to mention less than harmful Comanches led by Michael Ansara.

  • Texas across the river

    • Tom
    • 8/29/11

    *** I never heard of this spoof. I was pleasantly suprised. Lots of laughs.

  • Texas Across The River

    • Marlene Conte
    • 5/14/11

    Great movie. Why isn't it available in DVD in North America!!! Be nice to have a movie you can watch withthe Grandkids... It was funny then, and it still is. My VHS copy is fading. Please make it availabe in DVD!!

  • very funny movie

    • suzanne schrader
    • 2/2/10

    this is one of the funniest best movies ever and i want to own it

  • Hilarious

    • Elizabeth
    • 11/20/09

    Hilarious

  • Alain Delon is not just a pretty face.

    • Margaret McVey
    • 6/6/09

    I've never forgotten this movie since I saw it as a kid and I've been looking for it ever since. This is great fun and is made extra special with the appearance of the French heartthrob Alain Delon. The fight scene between Dean Martin and Delon is one of the most hilarious ever. I would love to see this released on DVD so I could have it at home.

  • Very Funny

    • Lance
    • 2/10/09

    Find yourself smiling, when not laughing out loud when watching this film...

  • Dino's Darlings - 1966

    • Brenda Orr Norwood
    • 9/1/08

    Thirty young ladies were selected across Texas and Louisiana as Dean Martin's Dino's Darlings for the premiere of Texas Across the River.I was one of those young ladies....Miss Corpus Christi's Dino's Darling 1966. I went to the premiere of the movie in Houston. All of us were dressed in Indian outfits. We had fun. Went to the premiere. And, we even met Dean Martin at the airport and welcomed him to Houston, Texas. He gave each of us a kiss on the cheek.I was one of the lucky one ladies who attended a cocktail party with Dean Martin. He signed my beauty pageant banner.What an exciting event in my life.

  • HEB HA-ROAR HAR!!!

    • LINDA
    • 5/21/08

    DOES ANYONE ELSE REMEMBER WHAT THIS REFERS TO IN THE MOVIE?IF I CAN RECALL IT AFTER 40+ YEARS, IT SPEAKS TO HOW MEMORABLE THIS MOVIE WAS. STILL USE THE EXPRESSION TO CRACK UP A COUSIN OF MINE, WHO SAW IT WITH ME WHEN IT WAS FIRST RELEASED. LONG TO SEE IT AGAIN...CAN'T BELIEVE THE MONEY-MAKERS THAT BE ARE MISSING OUT ON THE PROFITS FROM THIS CLASSIC!

  • One of my favorite childhood memories.

    • Debierne
    • 4/4/08

    I used to love watching this movie when I was a little girl. I used to see it the abc-3:00p.m. movie, that came on monday - friday. And then again, on the weekend movie matinees. I would watch it everytime that it came on. When I became an adult and discovered the classic movie stations...I would always look for it. I love the entire cast...but especially Joey Bishop, Alain Delon and Dean Martin. That trio made the movie. Please make it availabe for sale. I would love to own it!!! And I am a female! I have always loved comedy westerns!!! The fact that it is so off beat; makes it work. If movie buffs have noticed...a lot of modern movies have copied the style of this "dramedy" that makes fun of the western cliches.

  • The funniest movie I ever saw.

    • Joanne
    • 4/8/07

    I saw this movie 3 times when I was a teenager. It was hysterical! I want to share it now with my family.

  • Hysterically funny!

    • Madison
    • 3/16/06

    Anyone who is a Dean Martin fan needs to see this movie. Even my husband, who typically hates all "old" movies, loves this one!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.