skip navigation
London After Midnight

London After Midnight(1927)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

London After Midnight In this silent film, vampires... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • London After Midnight

    • Ashley P.
    • 1/14/14

    I would like to thank TCM and those who were involved with restructuring "London After Midnight." Just by viewing the stills taken during production in 1927 along with the music really does scare the pants off of me. If the original 1927 full print is ever found intact. This movie will once again assume it's position as the best horror movie ever made. Other horror movies do not stand a chance.

  • THE SCARIEST MOVIE EVER MADE

    • Anonomyous
    • 11/30/12

    This is the scariest movie ever made. There's no comparison with anything to this, even The Exorcist. From beginning to end it has an eerie mood that never lets up. And it just keeps getting scarier and scarier. Watch it at 12AM on Halloween night. It'll send chills down your spine and give you nightmares for weeks. There's never going to be another silent film or any movie at all scarier than this. Someone find the original copy, restore it, and show it on TV once it's ready.

  • LON CHANEY LIVES!

    • Ray Pienta
    • 9/28/12

    Many thanks to TCM and Rick Schmidlin for reconstructing the 1927 horror classic, London After Midnight. This lost film reconstruction will once again be shown on TCM on Halloween, 2012. As a fan of Lon Chaney, I own many dvds of his silent movies. Since I was a kid, I have wanted to see and own London After Midnight. Now, thanks to TCM, that is once again possible. It's creepy and very-well reconstructed. The score and titles make this 47-minute gem well-worth any classic movie fan's time. I can only hope that someday a copy of the film is found. Until that day, the TCM/Schmidlin reconstructed version is a more-than-adequate substitute. I am so looking forward to seeing it, again. HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

  • Bless you, Rick Schmidlin

    • BBCWiHi
    • 12/25/07

    Creepy. Kooky. If you think it isn't possible to make chicken salad from you-know-what, check out the TCM reconstruction of the lost silent classic "London After Midnight" from 1927. Using only still photos, Rick Schmidlin manages to capture the essence of what the most sought-after "missing film" of Chaney's ouevre. Let's hope it's a Halloween tradition for years to come ...

  • Thank You

    • Rick Schmidlin
    • 9/18/07

    Thank you for your kind comments.Rick SchmidlinProducer of the reconstruction

  • Please show this movie again on tv!

    • John
    • 6/26/07

    I saw it once, i liked it alot, good reconstruction, hope it comes on again!

  • The Greatest Movie I've Never Seen

    • Lundy After Midnight
    • 10/1/06

    No one would be more delighted than me to see an actual print of "London After Midnight", should one surface. In the meantime I'm not disapointed with TCM's photographic reconstruction. I would rather have it than not. I watch it regularly, and I'm grateful to everyone involved in the project. Lundy After Midnight

  • Movie Bogus

    • Shadowman
    • 9/22/06

    I understand Turner pieced together a bunch of publicity photos with a soundtrack and is tricking people to tune in...that's nice for us Universal fans...but if I did not know this and sat down to see a filnm thought to be lost and then found... and I strated watching Stills I would be pretty dogone diappointed. I own a lot of stills already and I can turn on my freekin stereo. If I have been misinformed... someone please contact me or post a message. I have been all over the net and that is what I have found. I was bouncing off the walls when I first heard of this!

  • lost film -found!

    • mikedague
    • 9/15/06

    wow i heard of this film,being lost forever and now its going to be on in oct.on tcm,thanks for putting great films on each month.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.