skip navigation
The Ox-Bow Incident

The Ox-Bow Incident(1943)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Ox-Bow... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Ox-Bow Incident

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-3/5Screenplay-5/5Score-3/5Title Sequence-3/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • Great Western

    • Fonda Dana Quinn
    • 8/17/12

    Powerful drama,appreciate more with each viewing.Great book.Lynching as anything but justice was never shown more powerfully.Quinn's best for me are Ox-Bow and Guns Of Navarone.

  • The Ox Bow Murders

    • Fonda Dana
    • 5/16/12

    Another great movie proving what happens when not all facts are known,mob drunk on human blood.Nazis in cowboy garb very apparent

  • Who's Rash in Rush to Justice now

    • No Room For Error
    • 5/14/12

    The Purple Heart showed captured fliers fighting for justice.This is a lynch mob of same caliber as Nazis and Tojo in WWII.Conviction in the mob's hearts is never justice,whether a gay black man in 1998's BLIND FAITH,To Kill A Mockingbird,The Purple Heart or many other wonderful films.As Errol Flynn's Robin Hood said,"It's Injustice I hate,not the Normans!"

  • GREAT MOVIE!

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 2/28/12

    THIS MOVIE WAS A GREAT MOVIE! I NOTICE THAT THE PERFORMANCES BY HENRY FONDA AND DANA ANDREWS WERE PREFERRED PERFORMANCES-I MIGHT HAVE CHOSEN FRANK CONROY'S PERFORMANCE(HIS FACIAL EXPRESSION WHILE WILLIAM EYTHE WAS TAUNTING HIM WAS OUTSTANDING!), BUT THAT WOULD BE SO UNFAIR TO THE OTHER ACTORS, BECAUSE THEY WERE ALL SO GOOD! AN INTERESTING PLOT WITH GREAT ACTING EQUAL A GREAT MOVIE!

  • What Happens When Mob Rules Prevail

    • Dana fan
    • 2/16/12

    What a significant picture of what no one would admit to as happening in Nazi Germany and elsewhere and also today

  • The Ox-bow Incident

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/20/11

    William Wellman's study of mob justice is a dramatic & great story. Henry Fonda is great as a cynical & weary rancher who plunges himself into a group of very, & I mean "Very," nasty people. Dana Andrews is terrific as one of the doomed lynch victims & he will bring tears into your eyes. An incredibly moving & terrific film to add to the western genre. I give it a 4/5.

  • Great Movie

    • Chris
    • 7/28/11

    I'm glad I caught it.

  • Not a good role for Fonda

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 6/17/10

    I think if this film had come along later in Fonda's career he would've taken the role of the Christ figure played by Andrews. The script and direction basically hand the picture over to Dana Andrews. Fonda and Morgan are relegated to the sidelines during much of the story's main action, functioning as onlookers and having less commentary on the proceedings that the supporting cast! Even though Fonda gets top billing he is not integral to the plot (until arguably the end). In 'My Darling Clementine,' he also gets top billing but loses that picture to Victor Mature.

  • One of my favorite films.

    • jayjaybee99
    • 12/5/07

    This is wonderful story - and brilliantly put on the screen. A movie way ahead of it's time. After The Searchers, I think this is the 2nd best western ever made. Look for the little dog at the opening of the film and just before the end.

  • great film, great performances.

    • joe
    • 10/11/07

    great acting captured on film, not just by fonda, but by most of the cast. i remember being absorbed into this film, with no escape from the inevitable outcome. you can sense it in the opening scenes, and the energy builds and builds... like hopelessly trying to stop a runaway freight train. i am so glad to see the four star rating. fonda at his best in his early years, along with grapes of wrath. great film. and maw gave me nightmares.

  • ONE OF THE BEST FILMS EVER!

    • Mary Melinda Kinnaird
    • 8/13/07

    Everyone should see this film. I'm not a western fan, but I do like both Dana Andrews and Henry Fonda, so I watched this film. I am so glad I did. It is one of the best films ever! It's one of the most moving and beautifully made films I have ever seen. This film will stay with you long after the end credits. It's a powerful film that has become one of my all-time favorites. SEE THIS MOVIE!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.