skip navigation
Two Rode Together

Two Rode Together(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Two Rode Togethe... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • a James Stewart and Richard Widmark western.

    • maureen v.v.
    • 7/21/13

    An OK John Ford western. There are a lot of B-actors in this movie, such as Andy Devine, John McIntire and his wife Jeanette Nolan, Harry Carey Jr., Ken Curtis(Gunsmoke TV series) ,Ted Knight(Mary Tyler Moore TV series) etc.

  • Two Rode Together

    • Goetan
    • 7/20/13

    An under-rated Western from Director Ford. Stewart is a cynical Marshal who joins Widmark's Calvary officer to rescue a group of people taken by the Comanche's years earlier, the two actors play off each other excellently. At times this seems like a series of deleted scenes from "The Searchers," but this film surpasses the former by showing a darker side to the treatment of Native Americans. Although Ford only did this film for the money, today he might agree the pay was worth it. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • One of my all-time favorites!

    • Pam W
    • 6/22/13

    Oh, pu-lease release this movie on DVD! I would love to watch this over and over! It is one of my favorites! It's got everything...comedy, romance, and action. What more could you ask for!?

  • Another Favorite!

    • Troy
    • 6/22/13

    Would love to add this entertaining movie to my DVD collection, I've always enjoyed it when it comes on TV. Jimmy Stewart, Richard Widmark and Shirley Jones were all great in this movie!

  • Great movie

    • Denice Edwards
    • 4/28/13

    My family really enjoyed this movie. I have been looking for it on DVD. Sometime back, TCM played this movie but I missed it. Can you post when you might show it again?

  • TWO ROAD TOGETHER

    • sally
    • 10/9/12

    Still waiting for this movie to be released on DVD.

  • Long Overdue For Its American Debut!

    • David Tucker
    • 5/5/12

    "Two Rode Together" is a classic John Ford western starring James Stewart and Richard Widmark. I own two DVD copies I purchased in error from a dealer of European DVDs. Columbia Pictures, read Sony Picture Home Entertainment owns the rights to this wonderful picture, but refuses to release it in the U.S. on DVD or Blu-Ray. It is long past due for its U.S. release to the millions of fans waiting patiently while the master film slowly deteriorates in their vaults. I will gladly trade you my two PAL Region 2 DVDs of this movie for one Region 1 NTSC or Blu-Ray version, Sony!

  • Movie

    • Brenda Simpson
    • 3/12/12

    This movie is one of my favorites. Although I haven't viewed it in a while I still like it!

  • Widmark and Stewart in entertaining ride

    • Jack Jacoby
    • 11/8/10

    Well before the popularity of Buddy movies and road movies,the masterful John Ford creates a likeable pairing in this western "rode" movie with Jimmy Stewart and Richard Widmarkat their dusty trail, plain talking, best. Town Marshall Stewart is enlisted by Cavalry Officer Widmark to find white surviviors among the Commanche captives. The movies entertains from start to finish thanks to the fine acting of the leads and good support from John McIntyre, Shirley Jones, and a few of the regular Ford acting troupe including, Harry Carey Jr., John Qualen and other Fordians. Good western!

  • Two Rode Together

    • Pat Boerger
    • 8/5/10

    John Ford apparently disliked this film but it doesn't show. Graced by a witty, sharp,unpredictable script that veers without a beat from comedy to tragedy(much like real life) with multi-layered character development, this is a movie that seems timely and oddly contemporary. The themes of bigotry and whether to choose greed over good resonate with our 21st century lives. The humor is at times laugh out loud hilarious and at others dark and nuanced. James Stewart and Richard Widmark are perfectly paired and play off one another effortlessly.There is one impossibly tender moment Stewart and Linda Crystal, the recovered captive Latino wife of an Indian, when she is achingly vulnerable and he spontaneously kisses her, that is pure cinema magic.This is a film that holds up on all fronts and deserves watching and rewatching.

  • Two Road Together

    • Kathy
    • 6/26/10

    This is a great movie and would love to add it to my western movies collection. Why is this movie unavailable on DVD? Seems to me that their are many people continuing to want classic movies.

  • Two Rode Together

    • Donna Comeau
    • 7/18/08

    This is a good movie and should be relased on DVD like his others have been. For collecters of his movies like me. I would buy it.

  • TWO ROAD TOGETHER

    • sally
    • 5/26/08

    Good movie and should be released to the public on DVD to enjoy.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.