skip navigation
Tootsie

Tootsie(1982)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Tootsie An unemployed actor... MORE > $11.95 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • lot of opinions

    • denscul
    • 2/12/16

    I'm a film buff. Also an avid reader. 99% of the time, I finish what I start. I couldn't finish Tootsie. I have to keep this short. Big difference between the greatest, "some like it hot, and Tootsie. Lemmon in particular is ten steps ahead of Hoffman. The sex changes were to save their lives. Tootsie just wanted to get a job. Lemmon went on for decades as an A star. Huffman's best role was his first.

  • Overrated

    • DON RILEY
    • 2/11/16

    Was this really necessary ?? A completely ridiculous "waste". This was Dustin Hoffman's "over the top" attempt at remaining credible. It didn't work. He did basically nothing after this. A totally unnecessary farce. It wasn't funny. To call this overrated is an understatement, it ranks with Geraldo Rivera's attempt to find Al Capone's Vault or something of that nature.

  • Tootsie

    • Michael Whitty
    • 1/12/16

    According to the American Film Institute "Tootsie" is number 2 on the list of greatest comedies with "Some Like It Hot" the number 1 film. Both have to do with men playing women effectively. In "Tootsie" Dustin Hoffman can't get an acting job until he dresses like a woman and actually lands a job on an afternoon soap series. His agent can't believe it as Michael Dorsey(Hoffman) has turned himself into Dorothy Michaels. This incredible change goes on and on for awhile with Hoffman fooling everyone and Dorothy Michaels becoming a huge hit. And "Tootsie" did become a huge hit as it shows the possibilities of what actors can do.

  • The Essential Romantic Comedy. "Sez Who?" Sez me.

    • Richard Bysina
    • 1/8/16

    What an absolute delight! I believe that if it weren't for the epic "Gandhi" sweeping the major awards, "Tootsie" would've won Oscars for Best Picture, Director and Actor. Especially Actor, because Dustin Hoffman's role is a tour-de-force. There have been many male actors playing in roles as females, but Hoffman (Michael Dorsey / Dorothy Michaels) had to do it in a believable, dramatic fashion. At times his performance is non-verbal, e.g., when fellow soap opera cast member Jessica Lange reminds Dorothy to be wary of a lecherous cast member who the women on the set call 'The Tongue'. And I love what he ultimately tells Lange, with whom he's fallen in love: "Look, you don't know me from Adam. But I was a better man with you as a woman, than I ever was with a woman as a man." Kudos to the entire supporting cast and director Sydney Pollack, who also plays Michael's frustrated agent, and is the first to witness his desperate-for-work client's makeover in a funny restaurant scene. "Tootsie" - you'll love it. And him. And her! To my granddaughter Julia, this is the sixth of my 12 movies about love I'm recommending that you see, which you now have in your possession from the TCM Shop, as part of my year-long 12th birthday present to you. While I can only hope that you're going to enjoy all the dramatic movies I've gotten for you, I guarantee you're going to love this one. One last thing: Don't stop watching "Tootsie" until you hear the entire theme song at the end, sung by Stephen Bishop, "It Might Be You." Love, Grandpa

  • tootsie

    • Leigh griffin
    • 8/20/15

    such staying power, remains fresh. I love Bill Murray but always surprised to see him though I have watched 30 times over the years.

  • Tootsie

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/17/13

    One of the pioneering films for a new style of comedy. Hoffman won the Golden Globe for Best Actor-Comedy as an unemployable actor who impersonates a woman to get a job in a soap opera. Lange took the Best Supporting Actress Oscar, Garr was also nominated, great supporting work from Coleman, Durning and Murray. The films best achievement isn't in it's feminist-favoured message, but by the authentic look at the lives of actor's. A finely-made comedy from director Pollack. I give it a 5/5.

  • still a hoot

    • chris
    • 5/24/11

    never fades.

  • Wonderful! Delightful! Funny!

    • Spring
    • 2/23/06

    This is a wonderful movie full of laughs and tears. Dustin Hoffman and Jessica Lange are at their best. I HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.