skip navigation
Stalag 17

Stalag 17(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Stalag 17 A cynical serviceman in a... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Stalag 17

    • Eric A
    • 3/13/14

    **** Holden at his best, deserved Oscar winning performance.

  • Stalag 17 is okay ...

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 2/10/14

    ... but Stalag 13 (i.e. Hogan's Heroes) is better. :P

  • Fine film...

    • Tom Gordon
    • 2/7/14

    This is pretty terrific. Grim at times, and yet, funny as well. Not as gritty as a present-day rendition of it would have been. (Think True Grit with John Wayne and the Coen brothers' version.) Holden is terrific. Only reservation is there is too much Strauss and Lembeck. They are good in what they do, but I don't think they should have as many minutes as they do here.

  • Stalag 17

    • John
    • 8/3/13

    Overall- 4/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-5/5Score-4/5Titles-2/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • Stalag 17

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/13/12

    A superb WWII POW film. Cynical Sergeant Holden is suspected of being a Nazi informer by his fellow prisoners. Holden earned a well-deserved Academy Award as "Sefton," Strauss was nominated for his supporting performance, great acting from Preminger. Director & screenwriter, Wilder perfectly blends drama & comedy to depict the cruel ironies, brief loyalties and feuds among the confined men. A rousing, raw & entertaing look at POW camps during WWII. I give it a 5/5.

  • Colorful Comdey

    • Rachel
    • 2/26/12

    I first stummbled opon this movie watching it with my grandma; when I was little kid! Speaking from the younger generation, this movie was and still is one of my all time favorites to watch! This movie made my love for the old classy black and whites grow. You can't find a movie now a days as original and whitty as the oldies had made them! I recommend watching Stalag 17!!

  • stalaga 17

    • edith
    • 11/21/11

    one of his better movies.

  • Fantastic Movie !!

    • Jim Burns
    • 9/30/11

    Stalag 17 has got to be one of the best Billy Wilder movies of all time. William Holden is great as the cynical seargeant who is a slick operator. My favorite scene is the one toward the movies end when the other prisoners discover who the "stoolie" is. A great movie !!

  • My fav

    • Zan
    • 7/9/11

    this movie is the best of all time a tru Man's man's movie

  • stalag 17

    • edith
    • 6/18/11

    one of his movie

  • Good

    • Chris
    • 5/23/11

    Holden at his best.

  • Wilder's Wartime Comedy Masterpiece.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 6/18/10

    Academy Award-winning director, Billy Wilder brings Donald Bevin and Edmund Trzcinski's (who plays one of the prisoners) Broadway stage play to life on the big screen. William Holden gives an Oscar-winning performance as a super-cynical American POW suspected of being a Nazi spy planted among the other prisoners. Wilder perfectly blends drama with comedy to show monotonous, anxiety-ridden life among the POWs. Otto Preminger is wonderfully sinister as the ruthless camp kommandant, Oberst von Scherbach, and Don Taylor as the American lieutenant arrested as a saboteur. Robert Strauss and Harvey Lembeck reprise their original Broadway stage roles. With Peter Graves, Richard Erdman, Neville Brand, Sig Rumann, Robert Shawley, Jay Lawrence, William Marko, Peter Baldwin, Robinson Stone, Michael Moore, Ross Bagdasarian, Gil Stratton, Jr., Peter Leeds & John Mitchum.

  • Stalag 17

    • Bill Robinson
    • 5/28/10

    Vintage Bill Holden. When they roll Peter Graves over in the end, it triumphs over their containment by the Germans.

  • STALAG 17

    • jon previty
    • 5/27/10

    This movie is great. William Holden, Otto Preminger and Peter Graves played their parts just right. Back in those days during WWII, it you tried to escape a prison camp, the Germans knew what to do.

  • stereotype

    • John Andrechak
    • 3/20/10

    Like The Great Escape, this movie gives a portrait of the German camp guards as good natured benign bumblers; in this movie two US prisoners swaab a guard with white wash across his face without any repocussions; (in The Great Escape Steve McQueen actually knocks down a guard with a flying tackle again without any payback).In this movie though the worst case is how the film portrays the treatment of women russian prisoners; in reality if these women were either actually POWs or slave laborer there wasn not any showers, etc. While not neccessary to actually show the beyond brutal treatment of these people, there is no need to make it look like a Red Cross inspected Camp

  • perfect movie

    • Lamb Bunny
    • 11/11/09

    In my home we didn't have a TV till I was 17, and I was the one who brought it in, my dad immediately started working on it (wonder he didn't get killed) We got an antenna and long pipe attached so we could direction it and pick up 2 stations. The first movie I ever saw was "Silent Running", about a submarine. I have always loved black and white movies since basically that is all that was made back then. when I saw Stalag 17 and the part where they sing I love you along with the other songs, It is just so sad and such a good movie, I fell in love with the movie. it's One of the top ranking movies ever. If you don't like this movie something is wrong with you.I hope the new generations make a point to watch movies and TV from the mid 20th Century.

  • Stalag 17 (1953)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/27/09

    Outstanding prisoner of war classic. Director Billy Wilder skillfully combines drama, humor, intrigue and war into a well crafted film. Excellent performances all around. William Holden stands out in his Oscar winning role. Robert Strauss stands out in the superb supporting cast. Excellent all around.

  • Outstanding!!!

    • Deborah
    • 8/16/08

    One of the best films ever!!!William Holden is terrific. Wonderful performances by Robert Strauss, Harvey Lembeck, Otto Preminger, Neville Brand, Peter Graves, and Richard Erdman.Although their parts were small, I also enjoyed William Pierson, and Jay Lawrence.Well directed by Billy Wilder. I could watch this one everyday.LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!

  • A gem

    • Paul
    • 8/4/07

    A tour de force performance by Holden. A delightful cast. A witty tight script based on the stage play.

  • One of the all-time classics

    • texnewmex
    • 8/4/07

    I first saw this movie when I was 11 yrs old... it's always been one of my all-time favorites.

  • Great Dramedy

    • robert a.
    • 6/13/07

    This film offers a great blend of drama and comedy, a combination that works quite often but isn't used enough in film. Holden is sensational as the the con man,oppurtunist who reprieves himself in the end. The climax where he exposes the spy always gives me goosebumps, as everyone does a 180 degree turn towards him.Prisoner of war movies always seem to deliver, the situation creates many different dynamics, Think "The Grand Illusion."Great supporting cast including Harvey Lembeck who went on to the great "Sgt. Bilko" show, and an over the top Robert Strauss, and Otto Preminger as the camp commandant. You will recognize many of the cast members from old TV shows.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.