skip navigation
The Long, Hot Summer

The Long, Hot Summer(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Long, Hot Summer Ben Quick arrives in... MORE > $79.98 Regularly $79.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • EXCELLENT MOVIE NEWMAN AND WOODWARD AT THEIR BEST

    • SDPPET
    • 4/24/13

    I love, love, love this movie. The cast is outstanding and Newman and Woodward are outstanding in it. One of my all time favorite romantic films. Ben Quick is one of his best characters. Favorite line: "let them talk, cause in the morning you will have a smile on your face."

  • The Long Hot Summer

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/10/12

    A sexy drama that was the first film of the Newman's. Ritt directs his pupils the Newman's, Franciosa & Remick, along with the classically-trained Welles & Lansbury, each giving splendid, if sometimes unsympathetic performances. The film is adapted from a few stories by Faulkner, which is rich in sexual tension, but weak in the finale. Best to be viewed to see the Newman's fall in love in real life. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Bravo 'The Newman's'

    • Adventure
    • 3/12/12

    Paul Newman and Mrs. Newman, aka the great Joanne Woodward are splendid in Martin Ritt's great film The Long Hot Summer with a stellar supporting cast headed by Angela Lansbury, Lee Remick, Orson Welles and Anthony Fanciosca. This movie is downright erotic.Bravo The Newman's

  • ecstacy

    • chris
    • 5/23/11

    erotic...without the rot.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 11/21/10

    Este filme excelente. Paul Newman est timo como sempre e o filme impecvel em todos os sentidos.

  • Welles' supporting role

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 9/12/09

    This is nowhere near the quality of other Jerry Wald productions (I would put Mildred Pierce and some of his other melodramas above this picture), but The Long Hot Summer does have its moments. As others have said, the real-life chemistry of Newman and Woodward, blended with their artistic talents makes the film must-see. But it gets bogged down by Orson Welles' kitschy performance as Will Varner, the southern patriarch who presides over the town and its inhabitants. Welles seems to be punching his scenes up so much that the young stars (including Tony Franciosa and Richard Anderson) seem to have a hard time keeping their composure. Welles is able to get away with the campiness he exudes in a sinister film noir like Touch of Evil, but here it seems somewhat out of place.

  • The Long, Hot Summer (1958)

    • Jay
    • 4/26/09

    Impeccably good production, excellent art direction and cinematography. The acting is top notch, especially Angela Lansbury and Orson Welles. Well written, excellent atmosphere.

  • Newman & Woodward Sizzle!

    • Sherry
    • 9/27/08

    One of my favorite movies ever. You can practically see the sparks between these two, a very sexy couple. And they've stayed happily married and in love for 50 yrs, until his death yesterday (9/26/08). I've never heard a negative word about either of them. He had a wonderful fulfilling life, a rewarding career and most of all a happy home life, away from the influence of the Hollywood scene. My favorite quote when asked by a reporter if he was ever tempted to stray: "Why would I go out for hamburger when I have steak at home?"

  • brings you back to a better time

    • jim
    • 6/8/07

    just a great comfortable film with no blood and guts makes you feel the heat of summer

  • Hot Stuff!

    • Tommye
    • 8/26/06

    When a shirtless Ben Quick drags his mattress on to the veranda to escape the heat, he gets a glimps of Clara lying in her bed. The little speech he makes to seduce Clara singed a hole in my TV screen. It was both seductive and a little creepy.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.