skip navigation
The Singing Nun

The Singing Nun(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Singing Nun Fanciful biography of the... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • DVD release

    • Kathy Martinez
    • 11/17/13

    IT IS ON DVD! My daughter bought it for me several Christmases ago. I loved this movie growing up. Very sad about the facts of the real nun from Belgium.

  • Request

    • Betty Wahl
    • 4/1/13

    Want music of The Singing Nun movie, preferably a Cd with Debbie Reynolds singing as in the movie.

  • Just the fact ma'am....

    • Alice Tully-Hall
    • 3/26/13

    "The Singing Nun" is decidedly NOT an Academy Award winning film. At least I have never been told of any "factual foundation" of it.

  • Just the facts, maam!

    • Alice
    • 3/25/13

    Regarding the previous two responders, before reporting such serious charges regarding this nun, please give some factual foundation before possibly damaging such a sweet image as the one portrayed in the film. You stand to hurt a lot of people who have enjoyed this film and its story for decades. Please be more responsible about telling tales you have not substantiated. Thank you TCM, for continuing to show this academy award winning film.

  • And about that nun.....

    • Alice Tully Hall
    • 8/19/11

    ....forgot to include that the singing nun and her girl friend died in 1984! She had been at odds with the Belgian government for nearly 20 years over their demands of payment to the tune of $50,000.00 to 80,000.00 depending on who you ask. The real kicker. The Belgian government lost their suite against the nun and were required to pay her over $300,000.00. Yeah, I wish someone would make that movie. I hope a film student reads this and falls in love with story and want to tell it.

  • Whatever happened to.....

    • Alice Tully Hall
    • 8/18/11

    The makers of the film "The Singing Nun" could not foretell what would really become of a nun who sang. The sad truth is that this young woman, after achieving fame and fortune (all of which went directly, do not pass go, to the Church). The girl did not see a dime of it. But the fame gave her distance and time to ask where should she be, and how did she want to live her life. Before entering into Holy Orders, she was engaged to a young man. My thought has always been that she ran from that life to another. I know what I speak of on this point. Been there, done habit! She left the convent, but not the Church. She fell in love. A deep and abiding love that lasted though profound poverty, and illness. A love that lasted to the day she died. She fell in love with a woman. The Belgium government demanded she pay the taxes on the money she had earned while in the convent. So the gal is on the Ed Sullivan Show, so I figure the year to be in the neighborhood of say 1962. After years of legal battles with the Belgium government, she and her beloved, at wits end, facing a grim future of poverty and possibly jail time; ended it. Together. Overdosed on wine and barbiturates, leaving a note the is heart rending to read, at the very least. I like to see THAT movie. I am not dissing this fanciful adaptation, but the true store, I find to be much more interesting. How about you?

  • The Singing Nun (1966)

    • Jay
    • 6/13/09

    Nauseatingly sweet story of a nun that made headlines in the 1960's with a surprise hit song. The film is never convincing, not even for a minute. Debbie Reynolds is sincere but never is believable. Corny to say the least.

  • Great Movie. A great Movie for family's members

    • sam
    • 3/28/09

    This a wonderful Movie. I love how it isThe songs are catchy and well writen. I also love Ed Sullivan making a small appreance during this movie.

  • singing nun

    • bob
    • 1/29/09

    I agree with your other responders---this is a great family movie with timeless music and needs tobe put to DVD!

  • Please put this movie on DVD

    • Diana
    • 7/31/08

    Since I have been a little girl i have hummed the music from this music. I have tried to attain the movie but can't!! Please turn this movie into a DVD so I can buy it ....for me...for my kids....for my church social movie night!

  • THE SINGING NUN

    • sally
    • 9/6/07

    This is a good picture and should be released on DVD.

  • a great picture

    • casey
    • 4/8/07

    they don't make them like this anymore...a really good pictures within good performances by throughout. the film exemplifies the struggles many undergo everyday in the course of ordinary life, it depicts the special story of the challenges and rewards of a Dominican Nun and the God uses her to touch the lives of those around her. Debbie Reynolds does a fine job in the lead role.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.