skip navigation
Dollmaker, The

Dollmaker, The(1983)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Dollmaker, The - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • dvd available?

    • sue
    • 12/2/13

    Please consider selling a DVD of this wonderful movie! It is an inspirational explanation of why fair trade concentrates on providing markets for women artisans.

  • The Dollmaker

    • Carol VanCleve
    • 12/20/10

    Although it's been many many years since I've seen this wonderful film, it has remained in my heart, like a small treasure. I would give anything to see it again! Better yet,I would love to add it to my collection of classics. This is a masterpiece that is totally underrated!

  • The Doll Maker - Jane Fonda

    • Delsie Wright
    • 5/26/09

    Please consider playing this movie soon. It's been a while since I've seen it. I would enjoy viewing it again. It is the VERY BEST of Jane Fonda.Thank you.

  • One of the Best

    • Andrea
    • 4/14/09

    In my opinion, "The Dollmaker" is right up there with Steinbeck's "Grapes of Wrath." Few would agree, I'm sure, but I am an avid movie fan and own both movies in my home library. Father Fonda is without a doubt unparelled in Steinbeck's migration film, but daughter Jane has captured the heart, soul and culture of the poor southerner struggling for independence and a worthwhile living during war times. The desire to maintain family ties and yet see "the world" is deeply poignant in the cast's portrayal. My version is VHS, so it should be on DVD. These type of films always do well and would be a giant moneymaker if put on home video.

  • Lost among the best

    • Betty
    • 2/20/09

    It is truly sad that the film "the dollmaker" is not available for purchase. I have always considered this one of the few films that was created above what was written. It was amazing to see the preformance of Jane Fonda beon her best. Her talent made one feel as if they were actually there with her thur her struggle and pain. I would be among the first to purchase this film if only it was listed in your sections.

  • Remarkable Adaption

    • Pat Russell
    • 8/13/08

    This is a truly remarkable adaption of Harriet Arnow's autobiographical book telling the story of so many Appalachian people who came to big cities during and after WWII to find jobs. The alienation and resentment they encountered from so many people. If they had been dropped down in the middle of a foreign country, they would have felt no more disassociated than they did in Detroit or Cleveland or Cincinnati. That so many of these poor people were able to maintain their family connections and old-fashioned values is a testament to the rich traditions of the mountains from which they departed with what they could carry in their cars and in their hearts. I should so like to be able to show my children and grandchildren what kind of people they came from. This movie does so deserve to be made available to the public. I hope the powers that be will take a chance and put it out on DVD. They would make a lot of money.

  • The Dollmaker-Jane Fonda

    • cindy
    • 2/24/08

    I would love to own this movie. I have looked for it for such a long time. I am from the mountains of Kentucky and this movie truly depicts the struggles of the people here and also their will to survive and endure lifes challenges. If this movie becomes available please contact me.

  • The Dollmaker('83)Jane Fonda!

    • Kay Hambrick
    • 1/21/08

    Dear TCM, We watch your station more than any other & appeciate the programming. I taped a movie of Jane Fonda's years ago. I believe it is the best work she has ever done & I've watched quite a few. I have southern roots, although was born & raised in the north. I think many other people would love to see this little known movie she made back in 1983. We would LOVE to see it come out on DVD! Please think about this! Sincerely, Kay & Doyal Hambrick

  • I would love to get this in dvd

    • Marilyn
    • 12/17/07

    I saw this movie with my kids when we were visiting Grandama. Every single one of us loved it - from Grandma right on down to the youngest. I have been trying to get it for years....now is the time before I become a grandma. Love to own it and share it with other family members.

  • A mom and son Movie

    • Joey Trail
    • 11/7/07

    This movie hands down is the pick for my mom and myself as "our" movie. While its' simplistic style and country content may not be Hollywood's money maker, it is a classic to mainstream America. I have rented it on VHS, so if not possible for DVD, where can I purchase a VHS?

  • excellent movie!

    • Leslie
    • 9/7/07

    I saw this movie about 12 years ago. It really stuck with me. I even name my daughter Cassie after the little girl in this movie. With all the reality garbage on TV these days this is a real classic. PLEASE, show this movie or better yet it must come out on DVD. I will be watching & waiting. Thank you.

  • excellent movie!

    • lorelei
    • 8/27/07

    I haven't seen this film in over 20 years and would love to add it to my library. It so depicts the hard life that people of poverty have and their resolve to live proudly in spite of all they have to deal with.

  • Great Family Movie

    • Rachel
    • 8/4/07

    I have been looking for this on DVD and cannot find it. My daughter really enjoys "older" movies and this us just right. I really wish TCM would show or run to DVD.

  • Needs to be on DVD!

    • Joe
    • 6/11/07

    I recorded this years ago but the quality is not the best. It is one of the best movies I've ever seen even if Jane is in it. I'm not fond of Fonda although she was fantastic in this as well as "Fun With Dick & Jane" and '9 To 5."

  • I love this movie!

    • Diane
    • 5/17/07

    I've seen this movie once and it has been with me forever. The story is very touching, many great actors. I've been looking for in on DVD and on TV. Jane Fonda is great in this movie. Cant wait to see it soon.

  • I Adore this movie!

    • Angel
    • 4/12/07

    I was never a fan of Jane Fonda's, but this movie is great. It is so unlike anything else I have seen her in. Her character is so real, so moving. The music carries me away to the hills.

  • One of my favorites

    • Joyce
    • 7/7/06

    This film shows the talent of many fine actors. It's storyline is timeless. Jane Fonda shows that she is many faceted and can be very believable. The film has the ability to evoke many emotions and hopefully it gives everyone something to think about. I can't wait for it to be released on DVD! Great music too!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.