skip navigation
The Shop Around the Corner

The Shop Around the Corner(1940)

  • Thursday, December 11 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, December 14 @ 02:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, December 24 @ 04:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Shop Around the Corner (1940) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Shop Around the Corner Feuding co-workers don't... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Jimmy Stewart is Excellent

    • Alexei
    • 1/28/14

    Charming film which takes its time in a wonderful old-fashioned way. Jimmy Steward and the supporting cast are excellent and the film has a lot of witty dialogue and touching moments. I'm not as impressed by Margaret Sullivan, however. Maybe it's how the character was written, too abrasive and not altogether credible. But overall a sweet film.

  • they dont make them like this anymore

    • sherry
    • 12/31/13

    just happened across the shop around the corner ,one Christmas now I could watch it anytime . I have worked in a small store kinda like this with similar people , and a boss like this one, except he was the one doing the hanky panky on the side .jimmy stewart is great in this . To have a man look at you like he does would be wonderfull . The cast in this was well picked .I know they tried to do another with You got Mail with tom hanks which is also a great movie and I love too. the people in The shop around the corner are people you can relate to . Its one of those movies you buy several copies of just incase something happens to one you will have a back up.What can I say I love this movie. I think everyone should watch it if you don't fall in love with it,well theres just something wrong with you.Its a one of a kind.

  • Pure perfection!!!

    • Jamie
    • 12/15/13

    There is nothing I don't love about this movie. After coming across it one evening on TCM and learning that it is an earlier version of "You've Got Mail" (which I also adore) and it starred Jimmy Stewart, who is one of my all time favorites, I couldn't resist. And so glad I didn't! This movie is SO charming and well made. It is truly a treat and not to be missed!

  • The Shop Around the Corner

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4/5Score-4/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • Shop Around The Corner

    • Dino
    • 12/30/12

    First time I have seen this film. I am a big Jimmy Stewart fan and will now add this to the list of his greatest movies. Thanks to TCM we have a chance to see this and other great films.

  • The Shop Around the Corner

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/9/12

    A charming romantic-comedy to be enjoyed during Christmas time. Two salespeople who hate each other don't realize their romantic pen pal's, Stewart is magnificent & Sullavan deserved a Best Actress nomination and the supporting cast is splendid. Director Lubitsch, as always, adapts the play from Miklos Laszlo with such skillful class, but the story is fairly predictable. Stewart & Sullavan's fond chemistry, Lubitsch's direction makes this an excellent film. I give it a 4/5.

  • Christmas Time Classic

    • Randall
    • 11/25/12

    Always love watching this classic; it's great TCM will show this Christmas Eve @ 8:00PM!

  • Lots of fun here........

    • Robb
    • 12/16/11

    Lots of fun here, but the remake 'In the Good Old Summertime' I personally enjoy even more.'You've Got Mail' the newest remake is also a good movie. Very rare when each version of a movie is quality.

  • Great year for Stewart, Morgan, and Sullavan

    • Jeff Boston
    • 12/16/11

    1940 was a great year for the accomplished actors Jimmy Stewart, Margaret Sullavan, and Frank Morgan, with their talent on display in both "The Shop Around The Corner" and "The Mortal Storm," two classics. Stewart also starred in 1940's "The Philadelphia Story," for which he won an Oscar. Just the previous year, Stewart's timeless message movie "Mr. Smith Goes To Washington" and Morgan's forever fanciful "The Wizard Of Oz" were released. Morgan's career included many great roles and his being an Academy Award recipient, and Stewart the iconic actor is also remembered for being a great patriot and veteran, going on many bombing missions against Nazi Germany just a few years after "The Shop Around The Corner" hit the big screen.

  • The Shop Around the Corner

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/4/11

    And engaging "slice of life" film about a secret romance in a small retail business. James Stewart, Frank Morgan, Joseph Schildkraut, and Felix Bressart are all superb in their respective roles. However, while the movie rings true to life, Margaret Sullavan's character works against believability and likeability by being overly abrasive, unappealing, and even downright repugnant. Had a softer approach to the character been taken, or had a more appealing actress brought something positive to the lines, the movie would have been so much better than it was.

  • One of the best ...

    • Lane
    • 8/3/11

    Finally properly released to DVD, this is one of those can't miss films but that few really have ever seen. The remake hasn't given it any attention either. Just a great sweet film with fantastic character actors and story. Its one of my newer favorites that I still am amazed isn't treated with more fame and attention. Watch it if you like the 40's era, watch if you like Jimmy, watch if you just like classic movies, watch if you like ... well anything Watch it!

  • in my top 5 ever!

    • rita
    • 12/8/10

    This movie is 70 years old and the relationships among the characters is as fresh as ever. The banter between Jimmy Stewart and Margaret Sullavan is clever and quick - a few little changes to the dialog and it could be today. (Of course, Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks updated it and they were good as well. but the story line in You've Got Mail is not nearly as charming.) Anyway who hasn't worked with a goofy but kind boss, an intolerable and sneaky colleague along with the rest of the coworkers who make the job pleasant. I love this movie.

  • The Shop Around the Corner (1940)

    • DON
    • 4/15/10

    This picture is just full of sweet, I found this film late in life and still it keeps my attention every time I watch it, if your a fan of Jimmy Stewart you should have this, and Frank Morgan and the supporting cast really round this one out

  • No collection is complete without this movie!

    • Genju
    • 11/11/09

    There is something magical about Budapest and the snow.....and the wonderful characters in this movie. Though the plot is somewhat simplistic, the way the characters handle the situations they face make this the ultimate christmas movie. "In The Good Old Summertime" is a remake of this and though it was very popular I think it lacks all of the charm and sentiment this film is so rich in.

  • The Shop Around the Corner (1940)

    • Jay
    • 7/5/09

    A wonderful and charming film. Ernst Lubitsch has a magic touch when it come to directing. James Stewart and Margaret Sullavan are wonderful together and perfectly cast. The screenplay is superb, well photographed. Charming from start to finish.

  • This classic was remade!

    • Brian S
    • 6/23/09

    The Tom Hanks & Meg Ryan movie, "You've Got Mail", is a remake of 'Shop Around the Corner". That's were the name of Meg Ryan's bookstore comes from.

  • I would shop there right away

    • Marla
    • 12/13/08

    I watched this movie few days ago for the first time and I loved it. The characters are so real and honest and all so interesting. Nothing is boring about this movie. If you love using your brain and be touched by superb feelings WATCH IT. James Stewart was at his best. Margaret Sullavan accent was so cute and funny. You will love this movie for sure, if you are a romantic at heart and if you want the good to WIN, I certainly DO. This is the AMERICA I Loved and dreamed of, before moving here from ITALY, hope it will be back and that the good AMERICAN WILL WIN AT THE END.

  • AWESOME

    • Cris
    • 12/6/08

    Love, Love, Love this movie!!! it is pretty much my all-time favorite... so clasic and sweet. jimmy stewart of course is at his best. i give it a thumbs up!!! totally recomend this. i'm 16 and a huge black and white movie fan, and this is tops in my book. it's my personal favorite of all 3 of the movies, (shop around the corner, good old summertime, and you've got mail)to sum it up this movie is AWESOME...

  • EXCELLENT MOVIE

    • Mary
    • 8/6/07

    Shop Around The Corner is a real Classic with Style, Warmth and Wit.

  • The best in my book...

    • Chris
    • 12/22/06

    Absolutely the best telling of this story. No other version can truly compare. Every single aspect about this movie works together beautifully. Simple and perfect.

  • Warmth, wit, style.

    • ojc
    • 12/11/06

    Excellent movie. This may be the best pre-war performance by James Stewart in any film. The cast is marvelous. The Lubitsch touch is everywhere, from the witty but warm dialogue to the excellent pacing to the inevitable climax. This movie is a somewhat forgotten classic but I strongly recommend it to anyone who likes romantic comedies that have a bit of wit and wisdom also.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.