skip navigation
Roman Holiday

Roman Holiday(1953)

  • Friday, August 22 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Roman Holiday - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Roman Holiday

    • John
    • 8/3/13

    Overall- 4 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-4/5Score-4/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-5/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • Roman Holiday

    • Goetan
    • 5/31/13

    A thoroughly enjoyable, modern fairy-tale. A European Princess bored from her duties slips out one day to join an ambitious reporter in a day of relaxation. Hepburn won her only Oscar for this breakout role, Peck is equally good as the reporter and Albert earned a nomination as Peck's photographer buddy. Other Oscars went to Edith Head's costumes and Trumbo's screenplay. Director Wyler uses the real location to heighten the already magical story that contains great performances and charm. I give it a 5/5.

  • The Princess

    • Condie
    • 11/26/11

    Audrey Hepburn does not just play a role. She IS the role. In this person's opinion, she can say more on screen, without voicing a word, than any other actress in the motion picture business.

  • Roman Holiday

    • roberto Rivera
    • 11/5/10

    I first saw this picture in 1953 while in the U.S. Air Force.There was such a perfect balance between Audrey Hepburn and Gregory Peck. They complemented each other so well.I have both the video and the new DVD version. I see the movie several times a year. Paramount Pictures, tried in the 70,s to make a sequal with the same cast, but the screenplay never materilized.Too bad.The last scene, were he is now alone, staring at the door where the Princess excited and then slowly walks away, is really heart wrenching.This is truly a classic romance filmRoberto.

  • My Favorite!!!

    • Tammy
    • 12/31/09

    I absolutely love this movie!! The whole movie makes me smile, and I always end up laughing at the scene at the mouth of truth

  • I love this movie!

    • Brenda
    • 8/12/09

    I have seen this movie dozens of times and still laugh at the scene where they are at the "mouth of truth" and Gregory Peck yells when he puts his hand in the mouth. Funny, funny, funny. The "fight scene" is also a laugh. This movie is just delightful from start to finish. Audrey Hepburn is just BEAUTIFUL and she plays the part of the naive princess perfectly. Gregory Peck and Eddie Albert were the right choices for Miss Hepburn's "sidekicks". I look forward to seeing this movie again and again.

  • Just lovely.

    • gpgirl
    • 6/14/08

    I keep reading that Cary Grant was meant for the role of Joe Bradley...let me just say that would have been a complete waste! Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn balance each other out perfectly. He gives a solid performance while letting Ms. Hepburn take the lead. It's brilliant and endearing and hopelessly romantic.

  • One of the Best in Cinema

    • Simoa
    • 5/3/08

    I absolutely adore this movie! Audrey Hepburn was nothing short of brilliant and Gregory Peck was such a talented actor! This is definitely one of the best movies of all time and one of my favorites. Audrey was so breathtakingly beautiful and she was completely believable. What else can I say but that William Wyler was a superb director, along with Capra and Wilder and Huston! I may only be seventeen but I know the old classics are the best!

  • Spectacular

    • Emily
    • 3/24/08

    I'm only thirteen, and I watched this movie on TCM and absolutely fell in love with it. Audrey Hepburn was absolutely perfect for this part and Gregory Peck portrayed the newsman wonderfully.

  • Lovely

    • Charity
    • 4/22/07

    This movie is just wonderful. Gregory Peck is such a delightful actor, him and Audrey Hepburn were two different people who happen to manage each other. This is one of my favorites. Awe, I loved it!

  • I love this movie!!

    • Stacey
    • 12/25/06

    I am only 22 years old but this movie caught my eye and has had it fixed on "Old" movies ever since. This was the first time for me to see Audrey Hepburn and I now try to model my attitude around her. She is such an inspiring person and the fact that she was such an animal lover just adds to her great traits. (I'm a veterinary asst)

  • Audrey Hepburn is wonderfulin this film!!

    • Jane
    • 9/26/06

    I love this movie, and Audrey Hepburn is fabulous in this role of a princess! The sceanery is fantastic, as is the acting. I love the story, but I was upset by the ending. But it is a beautiful love story!

  • Audrey is fabulous

    • Jim
    • 2/6/06

    In the first five to ten minutes of this movie, Audrey Hepburn owned me lock, stock and barrel. She is the greatest female charmer of all the movie actresses.The movie is fun and romantic. Peck as usual is solid as is the entire film. But, it is Audrey's show.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.