skip navigation
The Secret Land

The Secret Land(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Scuse Me While I Kiss The Sky

    • H.A.C.
    • 2/8/18

    The striking feature in this documentary is that there was probably little or no dispute between these men & their 'domestic partners' about whose turn it is to change the baby's diapers or to vacuum. The international accord disallowing any nation from claiming the Antarctica territory & restricting scientific and tourist exploration following the completion of Operation Highjump suggests George 1 may have encountered the limit of our earthly preserve which gave rise to NASA and Space X. To those for whom the last word is reserved, please be nice.

  • the secret land

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/19/18

    Interesting documentary about the wonders and perils of Antarctica, from penguins to blizzards to hypothermia to warm inland tundra (that I imagine is now a helluva lot warmer after the global warming that has occurred thanks to the burning of the coal Admiral Byrd was so ecstatic about!) I recommend that you watch it on a hot day when your AC has conked out since there is more ice in this film than you can shake fifty million Sub Zero refrigerators at. Give it a B. P.S. Of the three actor/narrators I like Robert Taylor's sonorous voice the best. Montgomery's is too officer-ish and Heflin's is too high pitched.

  • a byrd eye view

    • a.morris
    • 1/13/18

    even people who may think this is a bit on the propaganda side ..would have to say this is an interesting moment in time worth preserving. for people who really do not like it...believe me when I say..still better than ice station zebra.

  • My mouth fell open.....

    • Keith Thompson
    • 6/28/14

    My father, Harry M. Thompson, was a Plank Owner on CV-47, USS Philippine Sea, and all I've heard since I was born, was Operation Highjump and what a blast it was. Never having known there was a documentary, let alone, an Oscar winner, my mouth fell open when I saw this film. Everything my father said about this expedition was right there in front of me. I have documentation on documentation about this mission and about Task Force 68 but this is way over the top for me! I'm surprised that it's not available on some type of format. Hopefully bluray or better if they decide to process it. Especially from the Academy's perspective; it's live history that needs to be preserved and shared. That's what I'm doing with my father's photos and newsletters and other memorabilia; restoring them and sharing with the USS Philippine Sea Assoc. for the preservation of their history. Dad went to school and gave talks about his Polar experience with the "Old Man" which was meant with all reverance to RADM. Byrd. Please, please convert this wonderful documentary for all of us to enjoy. Thanks!

  • The Secret Land

    • Kerri Ago
    • 4/28/10

    What a surprise it was to see this film. My grandfather, Frederick Dustin, actually was with Admiral Bryd on the first expedition and when they created this film. The Dog Ricky featured and his pups, was my Mothers Dog, so we have much memorablia about the dog and expeditions. We have the movie on a reel, and I used to show it at school for show and tell. I think you should plan on scheduling the movie again. I also do think that it is more of a Discovery channel movie or History channel, but again I was very pleased to see the movie featured.

  • The Secret Land

    • Mark Black
    • 4/6/10

    I watched this documentary and was fascinated with it. Someone I work with's father was actually on this expedition.

  • The Secret Land

    • Alice Scott
    • 4/3/10

    My husband and I watched this movie/documentary and we were both very impressed with the content. We would like to see it shown again; and I would also like to see it released on home video.

  • The Secret Land

    • Tom Clements
    • 4/3/10

    Excellent historical film, I would expect to find this more on the History or Discovery Channels. I would like to see this again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.