skip navigation
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer 1925 Studio Tour

Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer 1925 Studio Tour(1925)

Contribute

FOR Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer 1925 Studio Tour (1925) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • MGM Studio Tour 1925 Silent

    • Steve Kolb
    • 4/20/15

    I was enjoying this short when unexpectingly, I saw my grandfather. He was with the electric department. This is the only video I have seen of him. I would very much like to get a copy of this movie.

  • Amazing stuff

    • Zanakaye
    • 3/26/13

    This just added to my fascination of old hollywood and how film has evolved over the years. can you please show this more often

  • The 1925 MGM Studio Tour is just AMAZING

    • Joy Ghigliotti
    • 9/18/12

    Please do consider releasing this, maybe in a collection of industrial shorts . It was just a wonderful glimpse into the operation of MGM.

  • Will you make this available soon????

    • Andrew Jackness
    • 9/5/11

    This is a priceless piece of history. Seeing each department and all the employees is a window on an era that will never happen again; but for those of us who work in the industry, it gives a sense of the origins of how we make movies now. Please make this available for purchase.

  • 1925 MGM Studio Tour - A Must for DVD!

    • Russ
    • 8/15/11

    This documentary is fascinating, with the rarest of footage! Please put it on DVD so that film buffs can add it to their collections.

  • Silent Treasure!

    • ThalbergFan
    • 4/17/11

    I always enjoy watching this tour of 1925 MGM. I especially love seeing John Gilbert with the other stars, as well as Lon Chaney cleverly keeping his face averted.The shots of the old cameras turning, the giant rooms of furniture and household props, and Erte' dressing a young Joan Crawford are priceless. I am so grateful this was one piece that survived! it's like a little piece of dessert at the conclusion of Silent Sundays.

  • 1925 MGM Studio Tour

    • Linda Field
    • 4/14/11

    This is a priceless film of an era and location gone forever. How visionary it was for them to film it as they did, not only for theater showings at the time, but for future generations to see and enjoy. Each time I see it, I am transported back to that era and can almost feel, hear and smell what was going on in this studio. At that time, most people in the world did not understand how the movies were made or who made them and where the locations were. The movies were still a relatively new form of entertainment and the production details of a film were known only to the very few. Not like today where locations are listed in the ending credits and we can pull up information on websites like TCM and others to find out more about a movie. There were and are so many people behind the scenes that, at that time, the public didn't know about, because they were not listed in the credits as they are today. So seeing all these people and how they dressed, the equipment they used, how they prepared and where, and who they were, since most were never credited on film, as they are today, is fantastic.I just love this film and am thankful that it was made, because the studio as it was then and all those people are gone now.Thank you TCM for playing it, and if you have access to any other studio films in that genre, I would love to see them. The making of these classic films, silent or sound, is a fascinating topic for an evening or day of programming, don't you think.

  • MGM Studio Tour Silent Era

    • Steven Currie
    • 7/17/10

    Not sure what year this fascinating short film was made; estimate around 1925-27. Tour of MGM departments, showing actors, actresses, directors, screenwriters, cafeteria, clothing, props, camera repair shop, editing, electrical power house, shots of films in production, MGM executives, etc. It shows "Lucille Le Sueur, an MGM find of 1925," who, of course, became Joan Crawford. A wonderful tribute to the silent era at the peak of its development in its own time, and a treasure trove of scenes and informational highlights for film historians. I have seen it several times on TCM. Please, please, please release it on DVD for us "Silent Sunday Nights" fans!

  • Blacksmith at MGM

    • Marvin Tanner
    • 8/31/09

    My father worked as a blacksmith for MGM studios at the time of this filming. I was captivated knowing that my father was there, although not filmed with the other trades people. It is a part of my father's history I did not know much of.

  • Fascinating, and needs to air again!

    • Preston
    • 11/23/08

    A truly great piece of motion picture history, the inaugural MGM short with a great final shot: A neon MGM logo!

  • when is this showing on TCM?

    • Sharyn
    • 1/22/08

    when is this showing on TCM?

  • 1925 MGM Studio Tour (short)

    • TomL
    • 12/29/07

    An exiting documentary of MGM at the height of its power during the Silent Film era. An insider's view of MGM -studio department operations when Culver City was the film capital of the world. Don't miss seeing it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.