skip navigation
The Battle of Gettysburg

The Battle of Gettysburg(1956)

Contribute

FOR The Battle of Gettysburg (1956) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Battle of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Battle of Gettysburg

    • John
    • 2/19/14

    I didn't realize that this short documentary was scheduled to run today between two TCM movies. I came across itwhile it was already in progress and watched it to conclusion. One of the best programs I have ever seen on theCivil War. I hope you run it again some time. Can it be purchased from TCM? Sure wished I had taped it.Thank you

  • gettysburg

    • wm. anderson
    • 3/31/13

    ive visited the battlefield and seen the film, and both times asked the same question. why was general geo. armstrong custer left out. if not for his michigan brigades flanking attack against gen jeb stuarts corp.the entire union army would probably have been attacked from the rear by gen. stuarts cavalry( during picketts frontal charge) and swept off the high ground and defeated. probably ending the battle, the war and possably the union itself.custer lost only one battle the last one. at least in the film, they died with there boots on with errol flynn (many historical inacuracies to be sure) credit is given where it belongs at gettysburg. custer must be laughing in his grave,he got what he most wanted, he is probably the most famous (for good or evil , depends on your point of view) soldier in american history.

  • Great short doc

    • Rachel
    • 2/7/13

    This documentary short can be found on the DVD for the 1993 film Gettysburg.

  • Battle of Gettysburg 1955 Documentary

    • Donald R.
    • 2/15/12

    Just watched this excellent documentary on TCM and was impressed by the photography, music and arrangement of this film. It is the first time I've seen this and would like to see it again. Although I enjoy the main feature films on TCM, the shorts are also very entertaining.

  • The Battle of Gettysburg

    • Gloriajean Penny
    • 9/4/10

    This is great. I have spent many days touring the battlefield andthis file is very well done.I would buy several of these right now.

  • Why Isn't This Being Shared

    • Gerard Brown
    • 9/3/10

    I have watched the 1993 movie "Gettysburg" over and over again, and I own many copies of it and have never seen this as an addendum to the movie. I would give anything to be able to share history portrayed this way with my children and all future generations of my family. It is a piece of history that those who can not get to Gettysburg,PA should be able to own.

  • Battle of Gettysburg 1956

    • Phil
    • 5/19/10

    I cannot believe the Battle of Gettysburg 1956 video is not available for purchase! I would buy several right now to give as gifts to my fellow U.S. History teachers. Loved it, except for the abrupt image change to paintings to tell the story of the battle. Narration and live video of terrain and statues were intense enough for me.

  • Available on 1993 Gettysburg Movie DVD

    • Ron
    • 5/19/10

    For those looking for the Battle Of Gettysburg (1955) documentary, note that it can be found on the 1993 Gettysburg movie DVD.

  • The Battle of Gettsyburg

    • Barbara
    • 3/2/10

    This is one of the finest short movies I've seen. I'd like nothing better than to show it to my students at school. How could something as good as this film is not be available?

  • Unforgettable

    • ariel
    • 3/2/10

    I saw "The Battle of Gettysburg" as a "short" in a movie theater when I was 15 and was so moved that I saw the long-forgotten feature film again just to see this short film twice. (An unusual move for a boy-crazy 15 year old.) I never forgot the film, how awe-inspiring ir was, or that it sparked my life-long fascination with the Civil War. I was moved to tears to know it still existed when I happened upon it a few years ago on TCM, and so sad that I missed it today. The photography is fantastic, and the sounds of battle juxtaposed on the peaceful countryside made the battle more real to me than any simulation. I remember "The Battle of Gettysburg" more vividly than hundreds of feature Hollywood films I have seen since 1956 and would be glad to pay almost any price to own it on DVD.

  • THE BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG (1956)

    • Judy Bettinger
    • 2/8/08

    This film was awesome. The monuments and sound effects was all it took to give me chills. It covered the 3 day battle on all aspects. As I watched your short film on the Battle of Gettysburg, I thought this should be shown at the Battlefield Visitors Center soon to be opened in April. Please release it and call the foundation. Must be shown.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.