skip navigation
Being There

Being There(1979)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Being There Political pundits mistake an... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Being There

    • Goetan
    • 9/4/14

    An amusing satire. Sellers won a Golden Globe for his performance as a simple gardener who due to his dress and appearance is mistaken for an intellectual advisor. MacLaine was nominated for a Golden Globe and Douglas won his second and final Best Supporting Actor Oscar. Patiently-directed by Ashby, the film satirises the glorification of apperance in society and television. A funny swan song for Sellers career. I give it a 5/5.

  • A sleeper!

    • Vince Clancy
    • 9/3/14

    Peter Sellers and Shirley MacLaine are great! Almost believably true about American politics! I think this was Peter Seller's last movie. Melvin Douglas is good, too!

  • Better than i expected...

    • Sean R. Moran
    • 4/13/11

    I had no great expectations when viewing this movie though i am a Peter sellers fan. This should be a better known film. My only complaint is of the bloopers at the end but you can skip it and pretend they do not exist.....

  • Curiously disappointed

    • Michele
    • 1/28/11

    I saw this movie in its first run and thought it was fantastic. I was really looking forward to seeing it again. Sadly, and somewhat inexplicably, I was disappointed. This time around, Being There struck me as just a one-joke movie. I also now found the 70's TV commercials and pop songs incredibly irritating.I feel really bad. I wanted to like this movie. I guess you really can't go home. And (spoiler warning - if you don't want to know about the ending, stop here) what's up with the ending? Are we to infer that Chance is really Jesus? This makes no sense at all. I guess I just don't get it. Foo.

  • Sellers at his best

    • Jeff Boston
    • 1/28/11

    I first watched "Being There" last night. It is intelligent and timeless. Kudos to Ashby and Sellers for persevering throughout the 70s to assure it would be done - and done well. Sellers the 60s sensation is fantastic as Chance the Gardener, aka Chauncey Gardner. We have all been duped by those who seem to be something they're not. The genius of this tale is that Sellers' character is not trying to deceive anyone. He is honesty personified. I liked denscul's post, enjoyed the Biltmore location, and loved practically every scene, including the "All I have left is the room upstairs" conversation and the wacky one with MacLaine and Mister Rogers. Some may disagree with its length and both subtle and overt commentary on our culture (although not as much as I anticipated). Such should be forgiven, for the supreme acting (Douglas, MacLaine, Warner, the head honcho from "LA Law", the governor from "Benson" etc), especially by Sellers, is applaudable. Worth watching.

  • Not Listning

    • denscul
    • 1/28/11

    Most reviews I have read consider this film a comedy. Peter Sellers was one of the funniest actors in history, but he was also one of the best actors, and in this film, I do not find anything but a serious commentary that was true in 1979, true today, and probably in the next century. The film is not a hack job at rich people, people in the media, or lawyers. Consider the seen with the black toughs on the WDC streets. They had the same problem all the characters who come into contact with Chance, the Gardner. Nobody listened, they only heard what they wanted to hear. If the producers of this film wanted to sell this film they should have changed the title to "Who invented the Reception Line? Sellers plays a child like character. When we are children, we haven't learned the art of deception. Children speak whatever comes to their minds, and in a world of deception, their honesty sometimes sounds incredibly intelligent. Chance the Gardner never tells a lie. His fascination with TV is like a pre-school child. His coments to questions about where he gets his news, and whether he would write a book, are answered honestly- he can neither read or write. The characters who hear this comments interpret them as satire, genius, or anything but something taken literally.Beyond the subject of conversation, I see another example of a great actor and script. When the Doctor discovers that Chance really is a gardner, and is about to tell Melvyn Douglas he hesitates because his patient, the billionaire who senses that Chance, the Gardner has a pure and honest heart. Men who climb to the top have missed some of the best parts of life. They have not stopped to smell the roses. In the last moments of Ben's life, he has found someone who has.

  • Shirley MacLaine

    • william gauslow
    • 1/27/11

    Shirley deserved at least an Academy Award nomination for this movie.

  • A must see this election year

    • Bob
    • 8/10/08

    Everyone who votes should watch this movie. It is very funny.

  • The Image is everything Society

    • Philip Bonahoom
    • 7/20/08

    Please schedule this movie. I think it is one of the funniest and all too accurate stories of how people form judgements of other people. (The Image is everything Society)

  • Beautiful Simplicity

    • Faith
    • 10/27/06

    This is a very funny movie with a clean look into a simplistic mind and the perception of the so called intellectuals that something more complex is going on.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.