skip navigation
Romance on the High Seas

Romance on the High Seas(1948)

Contribute

FOR Romance on the High Seas (1948) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Romance on the High Seas A singer on a Caribbean cruise... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Um filme maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 12/13/10

    Eu amo este filme por causa de Doris Day. Ela muito querida no mundo inteiro por sua voz , sua interpretao e sua naturalidade. Este filme timo. Um filme divertido e romntico que nos faz rir e sonhar.

  • Doris on the High Seas

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 5/16/10

    The billing is wrong in this film...although it's her film debut, Day should really be second-billed, after Jack Carson. Then, Janis Paige and Don Defore should be third and fourth-billed, respectively. But aside from that, the film works and reminds one of the delightful screwball comedies of the 30s. S.Z. Sakall and Oscar Levant are on hand to cause their usual brand of comic mayhem, and so is Franklin Pangborn in a small role. I agree that the sets are gorgeous and so are the clothes and accessories on the ladies. There are many elaborate crowd scenes, and it's obvious that Warners spared no expense on the budget for this one. Not a bad way to introduce Doris Day to audiences.

  • This is when films were fun to go to.

    • Jack The Hat
    • 5/12/10

    I was only ten years old when this film came out and my first thought was when I grow up, I hope I meet and marry a Doris Day. Films back then were made to entertain and they did---then came message films and Hollywood lost there way because it became idological as it's first requirermment. Sadly films have become political propaganda today and have lost the fun and the reason for attended them.

  • Romance On the High Seas (1948)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/18/09

    Surprisingly pleasant musical. Doris Day is delightful. Good songs, enjoyable and clever story. Well produced, some great sets. Nicely photographed.

  • Great fun, highly recommended

    • muriel
    • 7/16/09

    This is one of my favorite Doris Day movies. When this ends you are smiling. It's just FUN. Lovely songs, snappy dialogue. I don't know what a previous poster meant by not having a great co-star, Jack Carson was perfect as the ethics impaired but lovable detective.

  • Fun movie, better than I expected.

    • Cheryl
    • 8/21/08

    A lot of fun, Doris is wonderful in it too. It's sad she didn't have a really great co-star, such as Hudson or Garner, as it might have been even better. It is also refreshing to see Doris as a gum snapping, night club singer, although it sure is a step away from her good girl roles. Overall, a don't miss for romantic comedy and Doris fans. Was better than I expected!

  • Cute & Very Funny!

    • hooligan
    • 5/30/07

    One of the most impressive movie debuts ever - Doris Day is adorable in the female lead, as well as Jack Carson as her leading man! He is hilarious, as he is in his other comedies! Movie also features a great supporting cast, including Janis Paige, S.Z. Sakall and specialty music acts! Love it!

  • Wonderfully brilliant!

    • Gemma
    • 8/1/06

    I've loved this film since I was 8 years old and am searching high and low to get it on dvd. Doris Day at her best!

  • Romance on the High Seas is a fun ship!

    • Vicki
    • 2/28/06

    This musical, which was Doris Day's first, is high spirited and fun with some of her best music. She's so cute and the story is a classic mix-up comedy. I recommend that everyone grab popcorn and sit back to enjoy laughter and Doris' fabulous singing. I only hope they make a DVD of it VERY soon.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.