skip navigation
Love Affair

Love Affair(1939)

  • Monday, December 15 @ 11:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Tuesday, March 3 @ 04:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Love Affair Near-tragic misunderstandings... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Original!

    • Marillynn
    • 12/21/12

    Yes, Cary Grant is...well Cary Grant, and therefore perfect in everything....But the remake, An Affair to Remember PALES in comparison to the original, Love Affair. The great Maria Ouspenskaya steals the movie as Charles Boyer's beloved grandmother. Oscar realized this and nominated her for Best Supporting in 1939!Personally, I never FELT a love connection between Grant & Deborah Kerr...I mean, did they ever REALLY kiss? Each scene was hidden by scenery! But Boyer & Dunne...they tease...they flirt...Watch the movie & compare for yourself.

  • Simply superb!

    • RedRain
    • 10/3/12

    I love this film! It is much better than the remake with Annette Benning, although I do like her very much as an actress. I believe this film is better because of the remarkable performances of Charles Boyer and the incomparable Maria Ouspemskaya as his precious and wise Grandmother. Irene Dunne is so beautiful and innocent in this film that she breaks your heart. The idea of keeping secrets for what we believe is the good of someone else shows clearly how bad a decision like this can be. Make no mistake about it. This is a love story, a glorious one too! It is perfect in every way. Two things to note: The beautiful lace shawl is paramount in this story and you cannot possibly not be affected by the children singing "Wishing" which was nominated for an Oscar.

  • one of the greats

    • c burkett
    • 12/25/11

    one of the best I've seen.I've watched this movie at least six times in my life and I still find it entertaining,I think it is better than the remakes and I watch it every time TCM shows it -great movie!

  • Love Affair

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • Um filme nota 10

    • Sonia
    • 11/9/10

    Este filme excelente. Irene Dunne e Charles Boyer esto afinados e existe uma qumica entre eles muito forte no filme. Que foi indicado a 6 oscar incluse por melhor atriz e melhor trilha sonora. Muito Bom.

  • love affair with love affair

    • hermann
    • 9/2/10

    Irene Dunne and Charles Boyer, two of the screen's most appealing stars. And both of them stated later that this was their favorite film. (How can anybody not love Irene Dunne? What personality! What talent!) I can see this movie over and over. As for those remakes, just forget them. Why tamper with perfection?

  • Seen again

    • Jim Parmer
    • 6/1/09

    I didn't know this version existed. I have seen "An Affair to Remember" many, many times, and again, I cried at the end.Want to see this one many more times.

  • "An Affair tio Remember" but with heart.

    • Catherine
    • 11/2/08

    I never knew "Love Affair" had been remade into "Am Affair to Remember". In fact, I never knew "Love Affair" existed until today when turning CM on early this morning thanks to the time change! This has so much more heart than the other version. Kerr is so flat, emotionless is "An Affair" and Grant, of whom I am a huge fan, is not convincing. But in this movie. emotions are well acted and lifelike. Dunne and Boyer- who I never saw so handsome - sparkle together. And Maria Ouspenskya as his mother is marvelous! I prefer this movie over "An Affair" and its 50's starch and overacting.

  • A Natural Love Match

    • Alison
    • 10/15/08

    Although I always tear up at the end of the Cary Grant/Deborah Kerr version, "An Affair to Remember", the pairing of Boyer and Dunne, resulted in a far more believable love match. Their rapport is natural, light, humorous and affectionate. And who could resist the sexy French accent of the suave Charles Boyer. Think I'll pop a bottle of pink champagne!

  • Love Affair vs. An Affair to Remember

    • Jane
    • 12/31/07

    I stumbled upon Love Affair during an insomnia event and it didn't take long to realize that the story was familiar. I liked Irene Dunne but having seen the Deborah Kerr/Cary Grant version first (and being a Grant fan) I prefer that version. I was surprised that there is no recognition that one is a remake of the other in any of the databases I researched. Perhaps it is because the male character name is different in each.

  • Irene Dunne sings -- bird listens

    • Monica
    • 10/3/06

    Irene Dunne is always magical. I turned on the TV in the kitchen as Dunne began to sing "Plaisirs d'Amour". The baby chickadee in the birdbath outside the window cocked his head and listened - obviously with great pleasure!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.