skip navigation
Possessed

Possessed(1947)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Possessed A married woman's passion... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I think she's fine...

    • SK
    • 12/13/13

    I noticed a lot of people bashing Joan Crawford's performance in this film. True, she's not as good here as in "Mildred Pierce" but she's as least as good as she is in "Humoresque," which, along with "Mildred," forms the trifecta of mid-1940s Crawford Warner Brothers triumphs. I was impressed that Crawford allowed herself to look like h--- through at least of the third of the film (much of the story is told in flashback from Crawford's bed in a mental hospital). No makeup, disheveled hair, catatonic look on her face. I once read in an interview that Crawford did her homework before filming, visiting real mental hospitals and observing patients. She noted that playing a "madwoman" was not all about screaming and tearing out one's hair, that her character had simply been pushed to the edge. As far as Crawford being "too mature" for Van Heflin, well, older women do fall for younger men! A few years later, she played a stable older woman who falls in love with a much younger, very unstable Cliff Robertson in "Autumn Leaves" and won accolades. I think Joan is fine in this solid, Crawford work.

  • Another great movie w/ Joan

    • Ms.Peaches
    • 6/14/12

    Love This movie!!! great Storyline I didn't want to move from the couch. watch this movieyou won't regret It!!!

  • Maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 12/19/10

    Este filme um dos melhores de Joan Crawford. Ela est divina e tem uma qumica maravilhosa com Van Heflin . O roteiro maravilhoso e a direo de Curtis Bernhardt muito boa. Um clssico que eu daria 10 estrelas.

  • You will be possessed just by watching it!

    • Gabrielle
    • 10/22/10

    Joan Crawford did an excellent job in her acting, she's so realistic. Her acting left a great lasting impression in me, her character showed alot of guilt and obsession. In fact, I loved the story, it pretty much made alot of sense. It followed through a great series of suspense. I thought the pairing of Joan Crawford's character and Van Heflin's character was a little too odd since Joan seems to look much older than the leading man. Geraldine Brooks looked gorgeous in the film and played Carol well. This story is about a woman who is madly in love with her ex-boyfriend, but when she sees him romance her stepdaughter, she goes insane. It is worth watching if you're into those character-goes-physchotic-kind-of-suspense movies.

  • Timeless

    • Nichole
    • 6/1/10

    I believe that this was a movie before its time...as we watch and read the news & modern movies you can see that alittle of this character is in most of this scourned woman of the 21st century. This is an old age film that gives a new age film feeling. I liked that she went insane 4 the love of her life. I give kudos to Joan Crawford and her supporting cast on their excellent portrayal of love seriously gone wrong...anyone else see traces of Snapped in this movie.

  • Crawford and Heflin

    • Cher
    • 5/17/10

    When the movie started I just couldn't believe they were lovers. She seemed too mature for him.And when he uttered the line:"All I've ever done is fall out of love with you, that's a mans privilege."Is that what people really believed in 1947?Good grief.No wonder it has only 3 stars.I gave it 3.

  • Possessed (1947)

    • James Higgins
    • 11/24/09

    Joan Crawford gives a fine performance, she's at her melodramatic best. This film is certainly over the top, but that plays a large part on it being enormously entertaining. Thoroughly enjoyable, it is Joan's film all the way.

  • "I HAD NO IDEA IT WAS INSANITY!!"

    • Al
    • 11/22/09

    Great mid-period Crawford film with excellent male support from Heflin and Raymond Massey. (Not to be confused with Joan's 1931 opus with Gable of the same name.) Here we get Joan as a registered nurse!! She's redressed, obsessed and completely possessed as Louise Howell who will stop at nothing to keep the attentions of studly Van Heflin. Have seen it a hundred times and look forward to 101. Thanks!

  • Van Heflin: The Leading Man

    • MarieAndrews
    • 7/10/09

    I love watching Van Heflin as a leading man with the classic actors like Barbra Stanwyck and Rita Hayworth. Here, he is so mis-matched with Joan Crawford because he's a far superior actor. Nevertheless, it may be worth a watch to focus on Van Heflin, the leading man.

  • Van Heflin's Film

    • Syntonic
    • 5/13/09

    He could make any one else her performed with look good enough for a film to pass. That's what Van Heflin had to do since Joan Crawford was miscast in her 2nd film with this title. (The 1st is worse yet, with Gable). At least Van Heflin had more humility than either Gable or Crawford. He acted for the sake a acting and creating good films. But, Van Heflin wasn't always offered the best of parts or the better actors. Instead he kind of got stuck with movie stars like Crawford.

  • No Acting Required

    • Geraldeen
    • 5/12/09

    I can believe that Joan Crawford was possessed; but, not by love. No match for the acting skill of Van Heflin, he carries the film & drags Crawford along. I don't think it took any acting at for Miss Crawford to be mentally ill. The original 'method performer', all that was necessary was to show up to work and be herself. Van Heflin had quite a challenge to fulfill his part to act as if he loved her. There are too many well acted films of the 1940's to get sucked into this one.

  • One of Crawford's best performances

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 3/27/06

    Joan Crawford gives a powerful performance as a mentally ill woman.

  • A "Must"

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/7/06

    Absolutely - MILDRED PIERCE included - Joan's finest hour. Starts oddly and the mix twixt hospital and backstory doesn't always succeed but that ultimately matters not a jot. The plot gels/excelerates quickly and if you hang in there it will Freak. You. Out. Wonderful lacquered Warner's production, the Crawford/Heflin and Crawford/Brooks exchanges rivet (admittedly the Crawford/Massey ones less so...), filled with wonderful Noir chills and atmosphere throughout. Cannot over-recommend.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.