skip navigation
Red Dust

Red Dust(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Red Dust A plantation overseer in... MORE > $21.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Perfectly cast

    • TK
    • 4/2/14

    Jean Harlow, Clark Gable, and Mary Astor are perfect. Gable was right at home as the rugged male lead with a vulnerable heart, as he showed us in more than one movie. The part of a wisecracking sexpot was made for Harlow's looks and style and she has such great chemistry with Gable. Watch her drop the facade though when she gets jealous and stares daggers at Gable and Mary Astor behind their backs. She was a masterful actress. But it's Mary Astor who may have flown under the radar as the best choice of all. Her trademark understated acting was perfect for the part of a respectably married woman struggling with awakened passion for another man. I think Donald Crisp also is worth mentioning. This was definitely not Lassie or National Velvet. He shows his versatility as Guidon the hard drinking plantation overseer. A great collection of characters wonderfully played.

  • Hot and Sexy

    • Tony
    • 3/10/14

    The sequence showing Astor and Gable in the rain. WOW!!!Bravo, Victor Fleming!!!

  • great gable and harlow

    • george snedker
    • 8/15/12

    the classic tropic's romantic movie with great combo of gable and harlow they really sizzle in this movie(the bath in the barrel).brilliantly directed by fleming with great supporting cast remade in the fifties as mogambo also starring gable which is just as good.a memorable movie.

  • Red Dust

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/9/11

    ***1/2

  • Maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 11/17/10

    Eu adoro ver Mogambo, mas nada se compara a verso de 1932 do filme. A qumica entre Jean e Clark e a direo excelente. Red Dust merece um clssico e o TCM deveria exibir o filme, pois este um verdadeiro classico dos 30.

  • The red dust

    • crow
    • 8/31/10

    I absolutely love Mogombo. I did not expect The Red Dust to live up to my expectations. Wow, A great movie. I wish this movie was out on video. Harlow an Gable were fabulous. I never thought I would like Halow that much. SHE WAS WONDERFUL!

  • Jean Harlow's Movies

    • Bunny
    • 7/29/10

    As I watch and enjoy Jean Harlow in Reckless on TCM, I'm wondering why Jean Harlow's movies are not on DVD?! They have the a DVD collection for most of the famous classic movie stars, but NOT Jean Harlow! Red Dust, Reckless, etc. should be available to Harlow's many fans!

  • Best On-Screen Kiss?

    • Laurie C.
    • 6/3/10

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time! Perhaps the best scene is Clark Gable and Mary Astor caught in the rain, and he sweeps her up in his arms and carries her inside and they lock lips and bodies lustily, but then there's the scene with Jean Harlow bathing in a rain barrel, only prevented from saying the "F" word when Clark Gable pushes her head under water! This is just an amazing movie I am glad to have discovered from a bygone era, definitely a "must see"!

  • An absolutely MUST SEE Gable/Harlow film!

    • Randy Williamson
    • 5/16/09

    A wonderfully written story with great acting. If you want to see two of the BIG screen's finest this is a great one to see. Their on screen chemistry together is apparent in this film. Mary Astor is a great plus in this movie as well.

  • Movie -very good

    • Brenda Faria
    • 6/5/08

    This film is what "Mogambo" was patterned after,am I correct?

  • A “Must” - Essential Harlow/Gable

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/10/06

    If you are going to see one Harlow film this is it; she is flawless; touching and hilarious. A great film about adultery in the tropics and a definite "must". Frank, sexy, funny. Gable at his hunkiest and one of Astor's finest hours.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.