skip navigation
Dead Ringer

Dead Ringer(1964)

  • Saturday, November 15 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Dead Ringer A woman murders her rich twin... MORE > $6.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • !!!!!!11VIVA BETTE���������

    • MANUEL LABORÍN
    • 3/28/14

    THERE ARE SEVERAL THINGS THAT DO NOT MAKE SENSE IN THIS MOVIE. MURDER AND HER EXPENSIVE CLOTHES ARE SPOTLESS AFTER? . SHE VERY CONVINIENTLY , FOR THE WRITERS, TAKES TO LONG TO SCREAM FOR HENRY DURING DUKES ATTACK. AND SO ON. SO? Y LOVED IT, ITS LIKE A GOOD BOOK : I COULD NOTPUT IT DOWN . THE GREAT DAVIS MAKES IT INTERESTING.

  • Bette the Great!

    • RedRain
    • 10/9/13

    Let's face facts. There is no actress - living or dead - who can or could do evil the way Bette Davis could! She could be devious, spiteful, conniving and downright murderous, as she is here, and we still love her. This is a testament to the great actress she was and why honors are still being heaped upon her and her legacy of so many films. She worked so very hard at her craft and she was a genius at it. She is particularly devious here and she makes for the great villain in the piece. (I would have hated having Karl Malden's role, as this is clearly Davis' film from beginning to end.)

  • Dead Ringer

    • Donna Weigel
    • 7/11/13

    Bette Davis is the best. There is no more actors out there like Bette.

  • Dead Ringer

    • Donna Weigel
    • 7/11/13

    Bette Davis is the BEST. I am a tremendous fan of hers. I look forward to her movies on television.

  • Whatever happened to DUKE?

    • Rosalie
    • 5/16/13

    Love the movie - just wonder if anyone knew the outcome of poor Duke. Hoping he lived with Henry after.

  • Unbelievable!

    • Mark
    • 5/11/13

    OK, so Edie shoots Maggie in the head at close range and then changes clothes and, yet, there is no physical evidence of any murder? Give me a break!! There would be blood and brains all over the clothes. I guess that is part of what makes the movie so much fun, ie, how far-fetched the plot is.

  • I Love Bette

    • April
    • 3/7/12

    Ms. Davis can do no wrong. I try never to miss one her movies on TCM.

  • Dead Ringer

    • Portia Thorpe
    • 5/21/11

    5 stars

  • Fun Movie For Davis Fans

    • Dennis Bennett
    • 4/12/11

    Bette at her best!

  • The Ringer with No Ring

    • John Ellis
    • 4/6/11

    Somehow Bette gets you to feel it was all Jim's fault because he was too shy to pop the question. She plays both parts with great authority, albeit Margaret's screen time is brief. The first Davis film I ever saw. It's not Hitchcock, who would have elevated it with details and character angled shots, but good.

  • best of bette

    • chris williams
    • 4/1/11

    loved this film. a rainy day and pop corn watcher.what makes this movie fun is how she tries to cover here true idenity..-not knowing the combo to the safe, why the dog suddenly warms up to her(the dog hated her twin sister)

  • Best Bette!

    • Gerald Hampton
    • 4/1/11

    This movie made its debut a year before I was born, but I remember watching it when I was about 11 years old. The fact that I cannot remember when I first saw Star Wars, The Wizard of Oz or Jaws is a terrific testament to the impression that this film made on me! Whenever I see Miss Davis in a film, this performance always pops into my head. She is brilliant, as is Karl Malden.

  • Bette's WB Valedictory

    • David Atkins
    • 8/27/10

    Bette Davis, in my opinion, the greatest of all Warner Bros stars: Muni, Cagney, Bogart, Flynn, et al returned in triumph to WB her home studio where she was undisputed Queen of the Lot after her smashing return to films in Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?Jack Warner gave Bette a great script and she plays the twins expertly. This is a great film to watch and to savor a great cinema queen at work. Viva Bette Davis!

  • First and favorite

    • Cyndi Lewandoeski
    • 12/4/09

    This was the first Bette movie i saw and it began my admiration for her. It has grown trenendously from that point. My mom and I watched it on PBS;it was suspenseful and I LOVED it. I think it is a much underated movie and I would love to see it on TCM {at reasonable time}. For those who have not seen it, I would STRONGLY reccomend it.

  • Dead Ringer (1964)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/23/09

    Certainly not one of Bette Davis's best, but she is always good and always worth watching. It does tend to be a bit campy, but I never lost interest. It's well made and Bette hams it up beautifully.

  • Identitical Twins & Murders

    • BeauB
    • 7/25/09

    Being an identitical twin myself, this film fascinates me. Bette Davis gives one of her more interesting performances that I've watched because the two roles she plays are quite different. Also insteresing is that Davis' leading man inseveral of her classics, Paul Henreid, isthis film's director. Davis starts out as Edie Philips, a modest restaurant & bar owner. Her boyfriend is Sgt. Jim Hobbson (Karl Malden). There's a rift between Edie & her twin, Margaret de Lorca (Davis). When de Lorca's husband dies, their history starts to unfold. Since the synopsis on this site already tells the whole story, I'll review the performances. Peter Lawford plays Margaret's secret lover, Tony Collins. Lawford embodies evil doing surprisingly well. Malden is always super as a cop; this time, he's exceptional. That's likely due to his many interactions with Bette Davis. It'a probably redundant to write that Davis' performance is a stunner.

  • Two Bette Davis' is Better than One!

    • DavidNeumeyer
    • 6/24/09

    This film in which Bette Davis' plays dual roles as identical twin sisters is the second time she took on being identical twins. "A Stolen Life" co-starring Glenn Ford was the first such film of Miss Davis'. This film is very different from "A Stolen Life." Karl Malden is her co-lead and plays a detective who's her boyfriend. Peter Lawford plays her sister's adulterous murderous lover. Even writing a review, I realize I've just been fooled by Mis Davis' acting. I called Bette Davis' own character "her sister." That's how outstanding her performanceS (capital S intended) are. She is two very different women as these twins. The plot is so intricate. The crime drama is classic. Lawford is sinister. Malden really shines interacting with Miss Davis. He's still the detective though. But Misss Davis is yet again two more different characters, the likes of whom she's never played before. I can watch this film over and again.

  • Bette Davis Crime Drama

    • Linda.Lee
    • 6/15/09

    Paul Henreid, an actor who starred in classics like "Goodbye, Mr. Chips,""Now, Voyager" and "Casablanca," directs Bette Davis, Karl Malden, and Peter Lawford as lead actors in this crime drama. Bette Davis plays dual parts of a set of twins who are identical but do not have similar personalities. Malden plays her the more appealing twin's boyfriend and a detective. Lawford plays the less appealing twin's murderous lover. There is a lot of substance to both the plot and acting in this terrific film. Henreid does a very good job directing.

  • Bette Davis, Karl Malden & Peter Lawford

    • Brossard
    • 6/10/09

    Paul Henreid, who'd played Davis' lover several times prior, directs this superb murder mystery. Bette Davis, once again (as in "A Stolen Life") plays twin sisters, Edith Philips & Margaret de Lorca. Edie's a neighborhood bar owner whose mid-life beau is Sgt. Jim Hobbson (Karl Malden). He's in love with Edie when her brother-in-law dies & the sisters reunite afters being estranged for years over Margaret stealing Edie's true love: the man who's just died, Margaret's husband. This murder mystery seems to be straight forward at first, then begins twisting & turning quite bit. Peter Lawford playing Tony Collins, shows up as the real bad guy in the mix. Everybody winds up dead or headed for the electric chair except the cop (Malden). Henreid proves to be a find director of three terrific leading actors. Davis' performance as very different identitical twins is top drawer.

  • Bette Davis Performs a Great Dual Role

    • m_d
    • 5/28/09

    In "Dead Ringer," one of Bette Davis' lesser well known and infrequently shown mid-life films, she plays middle-age identitical twin sisters who look alike but are extremely different. The rich one is a selfish socialist who's a recent widow with an adulterous lover (Peter Lawford), superficial, and oppulent. Her twin's a hard working small business owner with a boyfriend who's a police detective (Karl Malden), struggles to make ends meet and lives humbly. This twist and turn murder mystery begins to unravel after the adulterous sister's husband dies and the estranged sister meet. Bette Davis gives a striking performance playing the dual role as the twins. Malden's and Lawford's performances are very good. Paul Henried capably directs after being a frequent co-lead with Davis in several of her major films. He was also Laslo in "Casablanca." Chalk up another great one for Davis.

  • On Davis' Dual Role Performance

    • MarjorieAW
    • 5/26/09

    Playing twin sisters is a pretty rare occurence in feature film history. Bette Davis did so twice. "Dead Ringer's" the under-rated 2nd time. It had to have been difficult to be two very different types of characters in one film. Davis makes one sister detestble, and, at the same time, makes the other sister one that many people are able to feel empathy for. Deep down one's rotten to her core and the other is a goodly woman.The twist about "Dead Ringer" is that the good sister murders the bad one and assumes her identity. But there are too many twisted aspects of the dead bad sister's life for the good sister to even imagine. Those are the things that shock her to the degree that she allows another killing to happen. Paul Henried, a frequent co-star of Davis' directs Davis quite well.

  • The Davis Twins Again 22 Years Later

    • NJMB
    • 5/16/09

    Bette Davis played dual roles as twin sisters in "A Stolen Life" (1942). Now she's back as a middle-aged pair of twin sisters in a murder mystery. Karl Malden & Peter Lawford are co-leads. Davis' former frequent on-screen lover, Paul Henried is this film's director. Like in "A Stolen Life" one twin's more upstanding than the other. One works as an bar owner. The other is wealthy & recently widowed. The main difference is that Bette Davis is a much more mature actor in this film. Her performance as both sisters is really great acting. You can tell she's hit her professional stride as a legendary actor.

  • Justifiable Homicide?

    • DavidaH
    • 4/29/09

    Whenever we watch Bette Davis, Karl Malden & Peter Lawford in "Dead Ringer" we know the mystery isn't the murder itself. It's whether Davis character will be found out after murdering her self-centered, adulterous, conniving twin sister. Somehow we want the good sister, who murders her wicked twin, to get away with a justifiable homicide! What's most remarkable, however, is that Davis portrays both very different sisters and makes each appear distinctly different although they are identical twins. Doing that's great acting!

  • DeadRinger: there is non other to compare

    • Robin
    • 9/9/08

    I Love your station TCM, you have brought to screen movies that has not been seen since they have been premiere years ago. Bette Davis puts so much emotions in her acting, she plays the character with such pose and excellence. I love her in every one of her movies. This particular one, I have not seen in years. My sister and I was just talking about it recently. Please find a spot on TCM to show this film. I guarantee you, your ratings will definitely increase even more. Thank you

  • please show dead ringer

    • susan harris
    • 6/17/08

    I would love to see this movie, i saw on late night tv about 25 years ago and loved it but have not been able to find a copy.

  • Dead Ringer is DEAD ON

    • David Washington
    • 5/14/08

    Bette Davis was such a versatile actress.She had a gift for putting great emotion in her roles, and was very masterful in doing so. I am a classic movie freak,and this is one of her best. This movie had me from the opening clash of the cymbals and violins to the end scene on the way to the Gas Chamber. Bette was an actress who personified Classic in a grand tradition.

  • DEAD RINGER IS ONE OF BETTE DAVIS'S BEST MOVIES!

    • CHRIS ASHLEY
    • 4/21/08

    DEAD RINGER IS ONE OF BETTE DAVIS'S BEST MOVIES, BUT YOU NEVER SEE IT ON CABLE ANYWHERE. I CAN'T FIND IT AT ANY OF THE VIDEO RENTAL PLACES TO RENT OR EVEN TO ORDER IT. PLEASE SCHEDULE TO SHOW THIS GREAT MOVIE ON TCM SOON SO EVERYONE CAN SEE AND ENJOY IT! TCM IS MY FAVORITE CABLE CHANNEL TO WATCH. IT SHOWS ALL THE GREAT OLDIES! IT'S MUCH BETTER THAN AMC! PLEASE SHOW BETTE DAVIS MOVIES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE. IN MY OPINION, SHE IS THE BEST ACTRESS OF ALL TIME! NO ONE EVEN COMES CLOSE TO HER. SHE IS ONE OF A KIND!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.