skip navigation
Rage in Heaven

Rage in Heaven(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Rage in Heaven A jealous man plots to fake... MORE > $16.95 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "Slapdash" Woody Van Dyke?!

    • dcto
    • 5/21/18

    Van Dyke had a great career, created many original classics in a wide range of genres, responsible for the careers of many great stars, notably Myrna Loy's. He was a fixer @MGM, frequently brought in to pinch hit troubled productions. Don't know the story behind this one, but he was still remarkably prolific here, on the cusp of an influential military career - he became a Major while persuading many stars to join the war effort. His Nora Charles, Loy, left Hollywood to work for the Red Cross, they made one more Thin Man sequel together. Electing suicide over death by cancer, Rage In Heaven is one of his last films. It may not be one of his greats, but this man who contributed so much to Metro's glory days deserves better than "slapdash". He was in fact One Take Woody because he knew what he was doing, look @ his body of work, as diverse as Hawks', despite being cut short.

  • rage in heaven

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/29/17

    About what you'd expect from a movie with three directors (only one of which...Slapdash Woody Van Dyke... is credited)and a petulant star who is willfully awful (i.e. playing a Brit while employing an American accent). Aside from the Sanders/Montgomery role reversal there is nothing even remotely interesting about this piece of somnolence. Perhaps the biggest disappointment is listening to rather banal dialogue from one of my favorite writers, Christopher Isherwood. Give it a C minus.

  • Good acting, poor editing and/or direction

    • James K.
    • 12/22/17

    I felt for Bergman and Sanders in this film. They both did a very good job, but the poor direction (or lousy choices of which shots to use) made the whole thing appear fairly amateurish. Homolka is almost treading on Bergman's heels as they search for a phone, and she has to tell him to come along quickly? Did Van Dyke call for that, or was there a much better take that didn't make the cut? Clumsy direction, at best, and a "whatever" stab at editing, it looks like. There must be other viewers who saw the sloppiness in editing, where you can plainly see the cast members accelerating away from a standstill at the call of "action". I am surprised that the headliners didn't object to the slovenly work behind the lenses, but perhaps some did, and were expertly ignored. Perhaps, working under the studio system, and being in high demand, as they no doubt were in that time frame, they just moved on to the next role before they had a chance to see even a rough cut. Maybe none of those factors, but it sure makes me wonder. A superb cast, for the most part. It was gratifying to see Sanders in something beyond his usual types of roles, as others have said. Tears in his eyes, in the verdict scene, no less. Anybody want to dispute that that may be the one and only movie wherein he was called on to do that? Also, I thought, as another reviewer mentioned, that Montgomery's performance suited the character very well, whatever the reason he played it that way. I have never considered him an upper echelon actor, but usually at least professional about his work. If his attitude stank while working on this film, I think it made him come off better than he might have otherwise. I really liked the story. In real life, unfortunately, a lot of the most dangerously disturbed people are not identified until someone or other has come to great harm. It was refreshing to see that reflected here.

  • My Correction

    • H.A.C.
    • 12/21/17

    "...Divine help..."

  • Leave Her To Rage In Heaven

    • H.A.C.
    • 12/21/17

    Two movies with identical storylines as noted by this review's title! Weren't the unlucky spouses lucky to have their true loves on board to fulfill their dashed hopes- to live ever after so safely & happily? It's tough when you're the jealous type- always sure of your inferiority when contrasted with others while loathing yourself for it. It is ego in reverse & requires Devine help to live through which can lead to surprisingly better luck! Too bad Robert Montgomery's & Jean Tiernry's characters- in their respective movies playing the disturbed, insecure, murderous kind- were 'left behind' by their own hand & failed plan to bring down the competition.

  • Leonard Maltin Review?

    • Maureen
    • 12/19/17

    I would love to know more about why Mr. Maltin finds this film "disappointing. I thought it was well acted and gripping.

  • Rage in Heaven

    • Karen Campbell
    • 6/28/14

    I just watched the 1941 movie "Rage in Heaven" with Robert Montgomery, George Sanders and Ingrid Bergman. I was pleasantly surprised how good the movie is because I had always read it was not a successful picture. I knew that there was a lot of difficulty in its filming. Ingrid Bergman is, of course, great as always. Her performance garnered her many good reviews. And, I was pleased to see George Sanders in a role against type. He was not his typical cynical and sarcastic character. His character, Ward Andrews, is kind, loving, and charming. Robert Montgomery plays the villain; another role against type. Ingrid Bergman tells the story in her autobiography "Ingrid Bergman: My Story, p. 118 ff.: Robert Montgomery was exhausted and needed some time off. He told her that he was not going to act, "I don't know how it works, I don't care, I'm not going to do what they tell me to do. I'll listen but I shan't take any notice. I'll just say the lines blah-blah but I shan't act." In the long run, Robert Montgomery's dead-pan performance fit his psychopathic role to a T!. Read what else she has to say in her autobiography. The supporting cast was very good.

  • A GREAT MOVIE, why not shown more?

    • Susan H
    • 8/3/11

    I really like this movie. For one, the men play against type beautifully. Since they are so often typecasted, one doesn't expect the movie to turn out the way it does.Also, Bergman is great, as usual, and adds to the movie, as the whole cast fits well together. Wish it were out on DVD.

  • Suspenseful

    • Debbie
    • 4/17/10

    George Sanders is so handsome, charming and persuasive in this movie that one wonders why Ingrid's character chooses Philip instead, when she seems to prefer George's character from the start. That mystery, and the mystery of where the dangerous Englishman by the name of Ward disppears to from a Sanatorium in Paris keep us intrigued from the beginning.

  • Unbelievable

    • TomInSanFrancisco
    • 12/27/08

    Ingrid Bergman is radiant, but not even her sunny smile can shed a light on this murky melodrama. Why the Robert Montgomery character acts as he does remains a mystery. Some interesting plot twists, though the events at the end speed by way too fast.

  • Review on Rage In heaven

    • naomi
    • 8/25/08

    Rage IN Heaven is such a great filmof that Psychological genre of the 1940's.Excellent cast handles their roles well.

  • Rage in Heaven

    • Trina
    • 6/24/07

    This movie is awesome. I loved it. It had the drama and suspense and Ingrid as usual, just wonderful. :-)

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.