skip navigation
Charade

Charade(1963)

  • Sunday, January 4 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Charade A beautiful widow tries to... MORE > $39.95 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Charade

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4/5Score-5/5Titles-5/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • Charade

    • Maria
    • 8/15/12

    Charade is a very thrilling, suspenseful movie. Keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering who is the real killer. An excellent movie for TCM to show the new generation that automatic weapons are not needed to create terror.

  • Charade

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/18/12

    An exciting & hilarious mix of genres. Grant & Hepburn sizzle on screen, each giving great performances, as do future Oscar-winners Coburn, Kennedy & Matthau. A witty screenplay that combines romance, suspense & humour, and the addition of Mancini's score propels the suspense. A perfectly balanced entertainment film. I give it a 4/5.

  • Charade

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    Enormously entertaining "Hitchcockian" comedy-thriller. Seeing this, it's no wonder Broccoli wanted Cary to play James Bond (and he would have, too, if he only had to sign on for one film instead of two)! Audrey Hepburn is also great in this, possibly her best film.

  • Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn Splendid

    • David Atkins
    • 8/7/10

    Universal was lucky indeed to have Cary Grant as its leading star in the 60's: Operation Petticoat, The Grass Is Greener,That Touch of Mink, Father Goose, and this brilliant film.(Cary Grant, Doris Day, and Ross Hunter anf their movies just about saved Universal with their movies!)Charade splendidly set in Europe has two of the most charismatic stars of their era Mr Grant and the ineffable Audrey Hepburn. Substance and Style...how they are missed!Supported by the fine Walter Matthau, this is a great movie representing a bygone era of Hollywood film making! Kudos to director Stanley Donen and Cary Grant, Audrey Hepburn, Walter Matthau, Henry Mancini.

  • Shades Of Hitchcock

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/2/10

    I have heard "Charade" (1963) with Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn called the best Alfred Hitchcock film that Hitchcock never directed. It has all the trademarks of the master of suspense - a tense fast-paced plot, humor and great acting. It's fun watching Cary Grant (who starred in 4 Hitchcock films) and Audrey Hepburn being chased around Paris by bad guys trying to get their hands on the money that Hepburn's dead husband stole from them. Grant is his usual debonair self and Hepburn looks super chic in those Givenchy outfits. It's been about 5 years since I've seen it. Please put "Charade" back in your lineup TCM - you used to show it often.

  • Charade (1963)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/28/09

    An outstanding classic, stars Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn are in fine form and make a wonderful team. They have a genuine chemistry together. The movie is a joy from start to finish. The plot is fascinating with enough twists to keep you very interested. Expertly combines thrills, with humor, romance and comedy. Superb direction.

  • A MASTERPIECE!

    • amina adams
    • 2/25/09

    A REAL MURDER MYSTERY, FULL OF SUSPENSE AND ROMANCE. I LOVE CARY GRANT; HE WAS SO FUNNY WHENEVER HE GRUFFLY ACKNOWLEGED HIS LOVE FOR AUDREY AND THE UNIQUE WAY HE PROPOSED MARRIAGE TO HER. I EXHALED DEEPLY WHEN IT TURNED OUT HE WAS'NT A BAD GUY AFTER ALL. I LOVE THEM BOTH, CARY AND AUDREY.

  • Great Movie!!

    • Abbie M
    • 3/25/08

    Charade is one of my favorite movies! My parents used to watch it when I was growing up, and they passed on their love of it to me! This is the movie that first introduced me to Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn, and I'm so glad it did! I love the romance, comedy, and thrills of this movie! If I had it my way, I would play it all the time!

  • Romantic, Comedy, Thriller - in that order

    • seshadri chari
    • 3/17/08

    The dialogue is witty, clever and excellent. I have watched the movie several times, and I can't think of a single useless word spoken. Henry Mancini's music is timeless. Of course, Hepburn is the best; in fact, all the actors are good.

  • GREAT MOVIE

    • James
    • 8/27/07

    great movie!

  • Top notch Hitch!

    • Tony Correll
    • 6/2/07

    It has been stated that "Charade" was the best Alfred Hitchcock movie that he did NOT make. Many of his successful elements are employed here. Namely, mystery, suspense and Cary Grant. The chemistry here between Cary Grant and Audry Hepburn is remakable. Thank you once again Mr. Donen for a wonderful motion picture experience.

  • Charade rocks my face off!

    • Oktavia Reynolds
    • 12/4/06

    This comedic suspense thriller combines the unforgettable talents of Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant. They have an amazing chemistry and this classic should not be missed by Cary and Audrey fans.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.