skip navigation
Meet John Doe

Meet John Doe(1941)

  • Thursday, February 26 @ 01:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Meet John Doe A reporter's fraudulent... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of the Greats!

    • Alice
    • 8/6/14

    This is one of those films which exemplifies the word, classic. We can watch a true classic movie over and over and over again through the years, and learn something new each time we watch it. The true classic film is timeless. Love, love these films. Love you, TCM, for being around to show these films to us. Thank you.

  • Meet John Doe

    • Megan A
    • 12/3/12

    This is in my top 5 films of all times! I never tire of watching it! Priceless!

  • Meet John Doe

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/24/12

    An underrated classic from Capra. Cooper & Stanwyck give good performances, as do Brennan & Arnold in the supporting roles. Even with fascism in the story, the plot is less compelling than Capra's other works & is slow at the times. A fine film to see from time-to-time. I give 3.5/5.

  • Grande filme de Frank Capra

    • Sonia
    • 11/8/10

    Este filme adorvel e ao mesmo tempo trata dos valores humanos numa poca em que as pessoas ficam mais fragilizadas no Natal. Eu recomendo que todos vejam.

  • Meet John Doe

    • James Higgins
    • 4/9/10

    Pure Capra, not his best, but it is still magnificent. It's a feel good film, as expected. What else can be said of Barbara Stanwyck. She is amazing as always, and gives such depth and range to her role. Gary Cooper is ideally cast. They make a great team and you can tell they have a good rapport. The supporting cast is wonderful, especially James Gleason, Walter Brennan and Edward Arnold. So well written, a wonderful and very memorable story.

  • A POLITICAL MESSAGE

    • mike nixon
    • 11/17/09

    Meet John Doe staring Garry Cooper is a strong message to Washington.. Maybe a few nuckle head politians can learn a little from the master GARY COOPER. Please show it more often...Thanks Mike N

  • my opinion

    • david lauck
    • 9/30/08

    ithink this is one of of the best movie that mr.cooper played in most of his movie,s he played such a kind gentle man it was also very funny in part,s the two older woman in the courtroom scene about being pixalated was hilarous a must see for all age,s david lauck

  • Gary Cooper

    • Marilyn
    • 6/1/08

    This is my favorite movie ever. I can't explain why it is, I just know that it is. I have yet to find one that I am so willing to watch over and over and over again, close together. I know people whom claim to be fans of Mr. Cooper, Ms. Stanwyck, and Mr. Capra but don't even know of this film's existence. That is a pity. This should be aired at least every Christmas, since the movie centers around the impending 'suicide' planned for Christmans Eve. It should be aired as much as they air 'It's A Wonderful Life'. I am saying AT LEAST, it should be aired so much more than that, throughout the year. A lot of the movie has relevence even today, just like most of Capra's work. That man knew what he was doing. He really did. There are a lot of funny moments in this movie. One of my favorite scenes is the 'baseball' scene. That was great.

  • WHY hasn't WB taken this out of public domain?

    • Dean
    • 5/8/08

    It really needs to be taken back by the studio, and released w/ Capra's other unreleased films, which unfortunately are all with Columbia/Sony. The print looks pretty decent on TCM, tho a tad soft. With all the crap that is released these days on dvd, i think it's high time that this title is given its due. The cast is just outstanding, politics aside. Brennan/Cooper are terrific, and Stanwyck as always is luminous.

  • Very Entertaining

    • Dan
    • 7/16/07

    Cooper and Stanwyck once again makes movie magic. This is one of the better films in 1941 and it entertains to the masses. A great way to spend time watching with a Tequilla sunrise and a loved one... .

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.