skip navigation
Queen Bee

Queen Bee(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Queen Bee - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • What A Queen B

    • newjoanfan
    • 1/24/14

    Joan's character truly detestable.Well-acted,the nurse rather like "Eva" herself.Missed the part of how Carol died,can imagine Eva responsible,however it came about.Surprised,but glad Jud was driving went over,even if his character more likeable than Eva,but she grabbed the wheel.Hope Avery,Jen and the kids made a family n the end.

  • This film helped drive people to TV

    • denscul
    • 5/17/13

    Unlike most reviewers, I couldn't find much about this film that I liked. I am from Va. The trees had Spanish Moss hanging from the trees. It doesn't grow here. I didn't hear one Virginia accent. The script was terrible. All those scenes with everyone grouped together. If you want to see Crawford in a good film, where she plays a domineering scheming woman, with a believable script. there are several. Crawford was a great actress, but nothing can help with aging. She could have grown into a better actress if she played parts where she played her own age. Likewise for Bette Davis. When they both played in Baby Jane, they were terrific.

  • Great Soaper

    • stroedel68
    • 5/17/13

    I enjoyed this picture, very much, and I'm surprised by the low ratings other fans seem to be giving. First of all, it strikes as a soap opera type, which may seem to cheapen it to some. The story grabbed me from the beginning, and the cinematography, is done extremely well. All of the actors were superb, especially Barry Sullivan and with of course, Joan standing out. She is as mean as can be imagined, and maybe this also seems to cheapen the film, in that she seems to be playing up to the " mommy dearest" stereo-type. But she does it so well! There are surprises, and I was not able to think ahead as to what was going to happen next. I had never heard of this picture before, but I'm going to full-heatedly recommend this film to my other Classic Movie fans. If you are a fan of Joan Crawford, you will love this film. Thank you TCM.

  • Queen Joan

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/16/13

    There will never be another Joan Crawford. Maybe at this point she's playing a caricature of herself, but what a wonderful self to watch. She was certainly a force to be reckoned with - from "Mildred Pierce" to "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?". Whether you like her or not, she can't help but make an impression. A ridiculous storyline doesn't even matter - it's all about Joan now. We'll never see her like again.

  • Queen Bitch!

    • RedRain
    • 5/16/13

    Joan Crawford played a wicked, conniving woman better than any actress EVER! I thought I'd seen every Crawford film but somehow I missed this one. I completely disagree with many reviewers about her makeup and her face here. She looked her age and she acted her age which was 52 at this film's release. Both were extremely appropriate in the story. Barry Sullivan as her long-suffering weak husband who turns to drink to disguise his hatred for her is great in this film. I liked how his character evolved and he became strong as he planned to rid himself of her. I'm particularly fond of the acting of John Ireland and he doesn't disappoint as Crawford's ex-lover who finally is fed up and sacrifices his life to get rid of her. I liked this film and I liked Crawford in it. It isn't the sweet Crawford of "Grand Hotel" but it does showcase what we are used to seeing her as in most of her films.

  • Queen Bee

    • I_Fortuna
    • 5/16/13

    I really enjoyed this movie inspite of the harsh characterizations of Joan Crawford. If the viewer is in love with the seeing the dirty laundry and painful part of Joan Crawford that was written about in some books, then this is the movie to see. I am not a fan, but she was great in this film and I regret that her reputation as a Queen Bee is all she is remembered for. She was a great actress regardless of her troubled personal life. We are not one aspect of our character but many and so was she. I will try to remember her for her triumphs and good character as well as what may have been issues that she would be professionally treated for today.

  • Pretty Accurate

    • Wiernie
    • 5/16/13

    ...portrayal of borderline personality disorder. So sad.

  • Over the top!

    • Dawn
    • 5/16/13

    Joan Crawford in full clown face, chewing the scenery, as she so often did as she aged. Interesting only for its camp value.

  • Joan Crawford Is Queen Bee

    • Bruce Reber
    • 11/19/12

    Joan Crawford played some real on-screen bitches in her career, but in "Queen Bee" (Columbia 1955) she's without question one of the all-time detestable females on film. She plays Eva Phillips, a Southern matron who manipulates and tries to ruin everyone in her life, including her husband, sister in-law, cousin, ex-lover and even her own children. Joan has the same "Joker" face she sported one year before in "Johnny Guitar", only this time we see it in black & white instead of color. It also seems a little age inapropriate for her at 50 years old playing the mother of two young kids. But that was typical of the roles Joan was playing at the time. A good alternate title would have been "Big Bitch", but in 1955 that euphemism couldn't have appeared in print or even been spoken in a mainstream Hollwwood film. I was cheering at the end when Eva took that last wild ride with ex-lover Jud over the cliff. After causing so much misery and destruction she finally got what was coming to her.

  • Queen Bee

    • Sue
    • 11/10/10

    Great story, based on the book by Edna Lee. The movie followed it closely, but as always, a book creates the reader to form their own vision of the "star" and plot. No one, I believe, other than Crawford, could have portrayed "Queen Bee" better. I recommend this film to others who enjoy this story line and of, course, being a fan of Joan Crawford.

  • Like a Biography

    • Eunice_Campbell
    • 5/31/09

    The plot of this film's so much like'queen bee's' real life that it made me feel uncomfortable to watch all the destruction. It goes too far over the top. The costumes would have been great on a different lead actor. They were better looking.

  • Queen Bee

    • PearkyHusky
    • 5/30/09

    I'll rate this movie as one of the worst I've ever watched. There are too many reasons to list. The primary reason is the plot. The secondary reason being the cast.

  • Thought She Was Burnt At The Stake

    • Isaacs
    • 5/29/09

    Opps, that was another Joan. The good one. I guess they got them mixed up. This one should have been burnt at the stake before the 1950's. You know the film, "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?," with the delusional child star who's living partly in her past? It seems to me that's what this queenie was doing. Like she was deluding herself to think she was anything more than a relic of the past.

  • Joan rules

    • Tom
    • 4/14/08

    Queen Bee is great, thanks to Joan Crawford! She is fabulous in this movie.

  • Queen He

    • hitchcockblonde
    • 9/3/07

    While I love all Joan's films, can someone explain how along about this time she turned into a man? I mean jeez if she were anymore butch it would have made her eligable for "best Actor" award. Is it the hair at this point...the make-up or those big balls?? I'm not sure but Mr. er Ms. Crawford really has "roid" rage!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.