skip navigation
Theodora Goes Wild

Theodora Goes Wild(1936)

  • Wednesday, September 10 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Theodora Goes Wild A woman's two lives as... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Weak movie --wasted cast

    • Herman
    • 6/17/13

    This is one of those films that you hear echoes of praise for, as if it were some kind of long lost "classic." But in fact it is a slow, unfunny mess of a film. Irene Dunne is (as always) game for almost everything. But there is really nothing much for her to do. A couple of nice sequences in the film with her and Douglas can't make up for a very unfunny comedy.

  • Oh, boy!

    • RedRain
    • 2/22/13

    I grew up in a small town exactly like the one in this film! Filled with busybodies who thought nothing of gossiping about everyone they knew. My own family lived in fear that someone would find out something and gossip about us! It was, and is, ridiculous and this film more than bears that out! Because I lived in a town like this one, this film is a sheer delight for me! Irene Dunne, as the authoress from the small town who writes a scandalous novel, is at her best here. Melvyn Douglas, the big city guy, is a joy to watch as he unknowingly falls in love with the girl from the small town. For me, the crowning glory of the film is the moment the head of the nosy Parkers is handed her daughter's thought to be illigitimate (daughter was secretly married but Mom doesn't know) baby in front of the entire town. Spring Byington, the de facto head busybody. faints dead away! That scene never fails to make me laugh aloud! Fast paced and hilarious film! Great fun!

  • I Love Theodora!

    • Laurel
    • 8/24/12

    Discovering Theodora just a few years ago was like getting a wonderful present! Loved everyone in it including the dog.

  • Not Funny

    • Paul
    • 4/10/12

    This movie was billed as one of the great "Screwball" comedies. There was very little that was funny. This was quite a letdown. Melvyn Douglas's character was just irritating. Dunne's character was a woman lost, not funny at all. What a bust!

  • Theodora Goes Wild

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • Fabulous

    • KonaRose
    • 4/5/11

    Irene Dunne and Melvyn Douglas create sparks I did not expect. The movie combines polar lives of these two characters - they get to know one another in the country and the city, in the public writing industry and while hiding painful sides of their lives, and finally, in personal conflicts they eventually conquer when egged on by one another. The supporting cast, especially Spring Byington and Thomas Mitchell, add to the enjoyable storyline. This is a delightful comedy. It's coming back on the air Sat, June 15 @ 0300 EST. If you loved Irene Dunne in her other comedies (such a pity she did not win more accolades), then please don't miss this one. It will make your inner heart smile.

  • Classico de primeira qualidade

    • Sonia
    • 11/9/10

    Um classico de primeira qualidade. Sempre achei a Irene Dunne uma atriz um pouco injustiada porque foi indicada diversas vezes ao Oscar e nunca ganhou nenhum . O importante que ela est tima neste filme.

  • Spring Byington

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 12/17/09

    Spring really steals the show. The more I see of her in films, the more I like her. She's also very good in 'Ah, Wilderness!' as Lionel Barrymore's wife. As for this film, itself, I agree with others who say Irene is very good...she's funny and gets the chance to do a bit of singing (always a plus). But the film doesn't stay focused on her or on Theodora like it should. It gets too distracted by these other people crowding into the frame, with each new character presented with his or her own separate subplot. It gets confusing. Because there are so many balls being juggled in the air, it distracts us from the main plot which is Theodora's relationship to Michael. What this movie does have going for it (in addition to Spring's performance) is the chemistry between Irene and her leading man, Melvyn Douglas. Too bad they didn't make more movies.

  • Theodora Goes Wild (1936)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/27/09

    Delightful classic screwball comedy from 1936, a great year for films and this movie adds to the greatness of that year. Irene Dunne is brilliant, she has such a great knack for comedy. Melvyn Douglas is in fine form and it has a wonderful supporting cast. Well written, excellent direction by Richard Bolesalawski. First rate in all ways. Very funny.

  • Theadora makes me wild!

    • Kathryn Gerhardt
    • 4/3/09

    Irene Dunn has never been better. All of her movies should be released on DVD. She's the complete package, voice, comedic talent she has it all!

  • Favorite Irene Dunne movie

    • Ed
    • 12/22/07

    I watch this movie whenever I see it listed on TCM and it gets better every time I see it. Irene Dunne has a great double role as the repressed Theorora and the wild Miss. Adams. The supporting case is also well acted. Thomas Mitchell is wonderful as the editor of the Lynnfield newspaper - it is interesting to see how those old phones can be held with one hand while taking notes with the other hand and at the same time hopping around with glee as the news that will shock Lynnfield into modern times comes in. Theorador's Uncle John Lynn's long row of photos of old girl friend would be a little shocking even today, I wonder what people thought about this in 1936.

  • Irene Dunne's 1st comedy!

    • Wendy
    • 11/19/07

    And to think, Irene almost didn't make this movie! She didn't want to work with Melvin Douglas and went to France for 6 months, thinking the studio would recast her role....lucky for us they waited for her return! This is one of my favorite Irene Dunne movies! I still laugh out loud everytime I see this movie. Irene is brilliant! This is a must see movie!

  • funny movie very good

    • Trudi
    • 6/21/07

    This movie was very entertaining! I laughed so hard. I am only 30 years old and I actually loved this movie. I would watch it again and again if it was on dvd.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.