skip navigation
The Red Danube

The Red Danube(1949)

  • Thursday, October 16 @ 06:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Red Danube A Russian ballerina in Vienna... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • What a great surprise !

    • Alice
    • 10/4/12

    I nearly missed this gem of a film. I could not believe my eyes and ears as I was filled with joy as Ethel Barrymore honored God with her wonderful performance as Mother Superior. What a treasure this movie is, so heartwarming in an ever-darkening world. Thank you, TCM. Please, please, show this one again, at night, preferably.

  • The Red Danube

    • Elizabeth Davis
    • 10/4/12

    I was able to view the movie on a limited basis at the nail salon. I would love another chance to see this movie. I give it 10 stars. This movie was on one TV and Angela Lansbury in Murder She Wrote was showing at the same time on another TV. WOW...

  • About The Red Danube...

    • Patricia Charboneau
    • 10/4/12

    My family left Italy in a hurry in 1933 due to the political trouble. If it hadn't been for a British friend of my grandfather's, his sons, wife, other family members and their families, would have been shipped off to internment camps and finally killed in concentration camps like the rest of my grandfather's brothers and sisters who did not choose to leave Italy. This movie was especially poignant for this reason. My father was only 11 when they came to the USA and he never forgot those who did not leave Italy in those troubled times. He went back twice to look for family members. He did find out they were taken by Fascists and interned in concentration camps in countries that ended up behind the Iron Curtain after WWII. Needless to say they were not cooperative with my father's search. Watching this movie reminded me of my father's sadness and disgust with the Soviet styled gov'ts in the countries that he searched and their complicity in hiding these warcrimes. I thought the movie, 'The Red Danube', showed off that foolishness that governments can promulgate, if they try to be politically obedient to the minions of dictatorships.

  • Lots of food for thought here...

    • RedRain
    • 10/4/12

    Ethel Barrymore steals this entire film. Her performance as the Mother Superior who has unshakable belief in God is stunningly spot on. She is the perfect foil for Walter Pigeon's character in this film. Of course, there's the obligatory love story as a backdrop to the film but there is just something about Ms. Barrymore that speaks to love of a different sort. Her lecture to Pigeon's character re simply believing in something is not the same as having the courage to stand up for it is a true movie gem. I liked this film very much and it was also a delight seeing the beautiful Angela Lansbury when she was so very young.

  • GREAT film!

    • Audrey
    • 1/10/12

    Caught this on TCM...where can I buy it? TCM says this is not available on home video?A superb movie... political story was superseded by the real story: (1) Soldiers having to "obey" orders to send refugees back to certain death (2) The spiritual story-- with lines like "God has not failed man, man has failed God" and "This is what men do to other men when the men have abandoned God..."I wish TCM would re-air this at NIGHT!!

  • A Great cast in a hard-hitting War film!

    • Ryan
    • 1/5/12

    One of the pluses of this 1949 MGM film is it's cast! Walter Pidgeon is the perfect choice to play Colonel 'Hooky' Nicobar, and he is stately and mannered throughout. Ethel Barrymoore makes an equally perfect Mother Superior, and the conversations between her and Pidgeon, that could have been mauldin... are perfectly sedued. Peter Lawford... always a handsome star at MGM... doesn't disappoint in the looks department here either... although what is it with him and wearing a mustache in war films this, Rogue March, and Exodus...?? but anyway... moving on. Angela Lansbury, Louis Calhern and Robert Coote also provide good supporting roles. the cinemography is ace, and Janet Leigh as the russian Ballerina is both beautous and a great actress. Not a film that will likely raise the spirits much, but hard-hitting and not 'run of the mill'... Recommened.

  • The Red Danube

    • Andrew C.W.
    • 2/26/10

    Superb casting moves this cold-war melodrama to dramatic heights that virtually any other cast would be hard pressed to carry. Based in post-war Vienna, Walter Pidgeon follows orders while trying to balance same against a burgeoning spirituality. Ethel Barrymore as a faithfilled protagonist creates a stirring in Pidgeon's heart. A beautiful young Janet Leigh advances sympathy for her plight, and Angela Landsbury and Peter Lawford support the credibility of the script while framing the humanity in the story. There's comedy, drama, suspense, tragedy and intrigue that must have disturbed period audiences with an atypical ending which will leave present-day audiences surprised considering the genre and date of this film. Timeless message, a must see!

  • Agreed - an overlooked post WWII gem!

    • Steve S.
    • 1/7/10

    This could have been a follow-up to Carol Reed's "The Third Man" albeit w/ plenty of spiritual overtone's but, like the Reed film, "The Red Danube" eventually boil's down to moral's i.e. what is right and wrong!Great acting and dialogue along w/ a strong plot moves this film w/ continuity and expectation.

  • Where has this been all these years?

    • David Henderson
    • 2/27/08

    Here's a gem of a post World War II - Cold War movie that I had overlooked for more than half a century. It's script is both amusing and touching -- and surprisingly effective in relating religious and political influences on the events of the time. A youthful Janet Leigh displays talents that led to her stardom, and Walter Pidgeon is masterful as always. The location filming lends authenticity to the movie, as does the selection of the "extras" in refugee roles.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.