skip navigation
The Postman Always Rings Twice

The Postman Always Rings Twice(1946)

  • Friday, April 18 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, May 14 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Postman Always Rings Twice Illicit lovers plot to kill... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • It's HOT in here!

    • RedRain
    • 7/15/13

    Gracious me but this film is so hot you can barely stand it! Lana Turner and John Garfield just heat things up from the get-go and she is as incredibly beautiful as Garfield is handsome. Big problem, though! She's evil and he's so vulnerable and so head-over-heels in love with her that he is ready to do her bidding in a murderous plan. I've always believed this is the ultimate film noir, with top notch stars and an A-one screenplay. It is definitely an "essential" and everyone should see it at least once. Five stars from me!

  • Keep it Cool

    • Jezebelle
    • 11/15/12

    John Garfield was just as steamy as he always is and he makes you want to sit through the movie. This was my first Lana Turner movie and it was a good one to make a fan out of me. I found her stunning, I understood why the Garfield character fell so helplessly in love with her. She was just so beautiful, so dangerous and so tantalizing that you went absolutely gaga for her. The plot line was the classic 'murder the husband so we can be happy' but the trust wasn't there between the two and it ultimately ruined the characters (plot wise because the characters were very realistic embodiments of human inconsistancy, desire, love and insecurity). I loved how in this one love story film noir two other stories grew out of it with the trial and the post trial. The ending doesn't seem to fit as well as how it should have ended because to me they let it slip away at the very end. They tripped at the finish by not maintaining the cool that would have saved them.

  • The Postman Always rings Twice

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/16/12

    An excellent, first-rate film noir. Drifter Garfield begins work at a resturant run by Kellaway & begin's an affair with Turner, resulting in Kellaway's murder. Garfield is great & Turner is absolutely stunning, playing an unique femme fatale, one with actual affection towards the leading man. Gloomy story based on McCain's novel has been altered for censorship reasons, but still engaging. An unforgettable classic from the noir genre. I give it a 5/5.

  • Film Noir

    • Garfield
    • 6/29/12

    Excellent film.Feel sorry for Garfield.Remake not in the same class.

  • Electrifying

    • Billy Wirtz
    • 6/29/12

    Lana Turner is absolutely incredible. Garfield holds his own, but she changes from predator to prey and then back again in under two minutes. Terrific ending with no less than three false starts. The electricity between them is almost unbearable. Not enough stars for this one. Essential...

  • The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/14/10

    What makes this classic film noir stand above so many of the others is the sultry and sizzling chemistry between Lana Turner and John Garfield. This is among one of the best performances either would ever give. It's an excellent story as well, intriguing and compelling. Superb cinematography and the writing is outstanding.

  • A Lana Turner Classic...

    • Natasha N
    • 11/26/09

    I would say this is Lana Turner's best film, She looks amazing! John's acting is so good. The ending was a bit sad, as much as it is wrong what they did, you still want them to live happily ever after. I really wanted them to be together, but darn production codes wouldn't allow murders to live, or be free... Anyway great film, I watch every time it is on.

  • On location filming

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 11/22/09

    The gas station scenes were filmed in Norwalk, California, located about thirty miles southeast of downtown Los Angeles. In the mid-1940s, Norwalk was very rural and was comprised mainly of orchards and oil wells. Of course, now it is all part of the massive sprawling suburban landscape of L.A. In addition to these scenes in Norwalk, the movie also makes use of real-life locations in East L.A. and Malibu. Tay Garnett's film stands as a historical document of greater Los Angeles in the mid-1940s due to its extensive on-location filming.

  • Turner-Garfield Sizzler

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/13/09

    "The Postman Always Rings Twice" is a top notch film noir in the style of "Double Indemnity". The plots of both films are very similar (a woman enlisting the man she's fallen in love with to help kill her husband), and Lana Turner and John Garfield make just as hot and lethal a couple in "Postman" as Barbara Stanwyck and Fred MacMurray did in DI. I'm surpirsed that "Postman" didn't get any Oscar nominations, especially for Turner and Garfield for their great performances. I'd like to see "Postman" shown more often on TCM; it's truly one of the best film noirs ever.

  • Lana Turner and John Garfield Sizzle

    • Joannah
    • 6/20/09

    Lana Turner plays Cora Smith, a married owner of a diner on the coast of California. Dear Cecil Kellaway plays her older husband, Nick Smith, who's got money. John Garfield plays a drifter who becomes a grifter, Frank Chambers. This classic is a tale of Turner and Garfield having a very hot adulterous romance that they make the audience want to happen even though Kellaway makes the audience love him. There's the conflict between wanting to watch the lovers together as they plot to bump off the older man then attempt to carry it out and bungle it, and being so sympathetic with the kindly Kellaway that it seems too cruel to murder him even for love. Turner and Garfield make too sensuous a couple for words. This is the version that's a classic.

  • Second Chance?

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 2/12/09

    As many times as I have seen this film, I marvel at the deliberately insidious screenplay. Garfield and Turner are perfect as the two illicit lovers who are thrown together by fate, and plot to kill her husband. When they both come to this realization, it suggests that at the right time and place and circumstance, even good people are capable of anything; and that realization is chilling. As the film progresses, there is an eerie awareness that they may get away with this. If you haven't seen this film, the ending is in the title: The Postman does ring twice, indeed.

  • ssssteamy

    • mr. T
    • 12/30/08

    Lana Turner's entrance in this movie was the sexiest entrance ever, next to Gary Cooper's in Saratoga Trunk with Ingrid Bergman. Nuff said.

  • What a excellent movie!

    • wanda f lowery
    • 10/28/07

    This is one movie you'll never forget. It'll keep you on the edge of your seat,from beginning to end. I love Lana Turner, and John Garfield is wonderful. They make alot of heat in this movie! It most definitely will draw you in and hook you! Great movie! Bye

  • Postman Rocks!!

    • Diana
    • 11/14/06

    This movie is one of my favorites! and it is John Garfield was never sexier! ;0)

  • The Postman Always Rings Twice

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 8/10/06

    This is one of John Garfield's and Lana Turner's best. But Hume Cronyn really stands out. I really enjoy his performance even though his part is small.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.