skip navigation
Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington(1939)

Contribute

FOR Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (1939) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington An idealistic Senate... MORE > $65.99 Regularly $65.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I Just Love This Film - Very Inspirational

    • Judy
    • 2/1/14

    I absolutely just love this film!!! Mr. Stewart's best actor performance is just great...with Ms. Jean Arthur as the wise-on-Washington leading lady, superb as well. And Mr. Harry Carey as the President Pro Tem is just a joy to watch. Do I have enough 'just's? - well, one more,... just simply inspirational.

  • Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-3/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-5/5Score-3/5Screenplay-2/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-3/5

  • Mr. Smith goes to Washington

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/6/12

    The essential film for fans of Capra & Stewart. Stewart is a naive idealist appointed on the belief that he will be easily manipulated by the senior senators. Stewart earned a Oscar nomination for his sincere performance, Arthur is great as a reporter won over by his idealism and both Rains & Carey received nominations for their supporting roles. Oscar-winning screenplay is impressive Americana, filled with the memorable filibuster & a moving montage of Washington's monuments. An outstanding hymn for the American government. I give it a 5/5.

  • A movie feast

    • Brian
    • 10/5/12

    This is a movie for the ages!! Six stars out of five. If you've never seen it then shame on you.

  • Best of the Best

    • Mr Ed
    • 10/5/12

    This was Jimmy Stewarts best performance by far.

  • What a great film!

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    What can you say about this classic that hasn't already been said? Let's talk about the cast then -- James Stewart, Jean Arthur, Claude Rains, Edward Arnold, Thomas Mitchell, H.B. Warner, Beulah Bondi, Harry Carey ... all superb. A movie with meaning.

  • Stand Up America!

    • Wil Arnold
    • 8/13/11

    It's amazing that so many Americans have watched this movie from 1939. It is really amazing that "deficiency bills" existed in that era. If this film were made in 2010, would it be popular? This is about the best movie made. Sure, its in b/w and not computer generated, simplistic settings, not much violence, simple ideals and portrays what's wrong in government in 2011. I wish that every American voter would send a copy to his/her Congressman and Senator at once. I bet most have not watched it. I even bet some would not watch it now if you send it.I do know if conversations exist on Capitol Hill then most will get a message that needs to be heard. Get with it Congress: Partisan politics do not run the country. Bi-partisan is the way government is designed to work. A government OF the People, For the People and BY the People not lobbyists, special interest or campaign donations. Sorry if this isn't quite a polished movie review. It is such an appropriate movie and every voter should be required to watch this movie before being allowed in the voting booth.

  • As timely today as it was in 1939

    • Pamela G
    • 7/15/11

    At a time when the Mr. Taylors and the Mr. Potters have overtaken our government and our country and sold it to the highest bidder, it's good to remember a time when there were some ideals. The only thing that can save us now is a revolution - but I fear our collective brains and bodies are too dulled by food, pharmaceuticals and lack of physical activity to really give a flying ... A pity. We used to stand for something. Thank you Mr. Murdoch.

  • A real winner.

    • chris
    • 7/12/11

    Mr Smith lets us know that perseverance and determination will still conquer.

  • Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    *****

  • Mr Smith Goes to Washington

    • Phil Irvin
    • 10/3/10

    Watching MSGW on TCM as I write. One of the Top 10 movies EVER! Watching it NOW reminds me of what a DISGRACE our US Senate is TODAY! May GOD have Mercy on America.

  • Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (1939)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/22/10

    Among the best films of all time, this film works on every level. What a cast. Jimmy Stewart is perfectly cast. Jean Arthur, Claude rains, Edward Arnold, Eugene Pallette, Guy Kibbee, Thomas Mitchell, Beulah Bondi, Harry Carey, H.B. Warner and William Demarest are all fantastic. It boasts one of the best supporting casts ever gathered for a film. Filled with Capra touches. Wonderful story, superb score. Nominated for eleven Academy Awards and won an Oscar for best original story. Inspiring, moving and one of those rare and incredible films that is superb in every way. A delightful Capraesque slice of Americana.

  • Worse today!

    • Jack The Hat
    • 8/30/09

    Things don't change much, that was 1939 and here we are in 2009. Politics a usual, with the exception that we have more to fear from our own government today, then they did back then.

  • An Absolutely perfect and excellent movie!

    • Dave Stover
    • 7/24/09

    This is the first time that i've ever seen this movie from start to end,and I wish I were older than 45 now,because I wish that i could have attended Mr Smith Goes To Washington on its premiere day or night!Jimmy Stewart obviously gave an absolutely riveting performance in it!Oh, if only Jimmy Stewart had been awarded best actor for his role in this great and nothing but movie!Unfortunately,a certain almost 4 hours in length movie from 1939 won best picture for that year.Oh yes,I've seen Gone With The Wind in a theatrical rerelease.But,I feel that The Wizard Of Oz should have been awarded 1939's Best Picture Oscar,and my dad shares my opinion about this.By now,i've seen three movies(that i'm aware of) from 1939,partially thanks to TCM!

  • Washington - Lessons To Be Learned

    • Jordan
    • 2/28/09

    Normally wouldn't care to watch a political movie, but this holds your interest and teaches you a bit along the way. Enjoyed Jimmy Stewart and Jean Arthur together. It was nice to see Jean in a role other than comedy. Visiting the different Washington monuments was a nice touch.

  • Mr. Chips beat Mr. Smith...

    • FrankieCee
    • 2/27/09

    Lynn, I'd have to disagree with you, most respectfully. Although Mr. Smith's Jimmy Stewart turned in a stellar performance, Mr. Chipping's Robert Donat was impeccable, brilliant and as close to perfection as an actor performing a role can get...I agree that Jimmy Stewart is a national treasure, however, it was simply a matter of the perfect role being performed by the right actor and Bob Donat's performance was by far, the best of the nominees that year...of course I wouldn't have enjoyed being on the board that year as the final choice must have been excruciatingly difficult to finalize...tough choice, but a fair decision ultimately...

  • And the Oscar goes to...

    • Lynn
    • 12/20/08

    This is another wonderful Capra film. Mr. Smith is the senator we wish represented all of us. But I have one question. How did Stewart's amazing performance lose to Robert Donat's Mr. Chips for the best actor of 1939? No contest. A travesty! Stewart is truly one of our national treasures!

  • Jimmy Stewart is the best!!!

    • Curvitas
    • 9/23/08

    James Stewart is brilliant in this movie. The scene that moves me so is when he filibuster's. That is pure instinctive acting---you can't teach that! This is one of many of his great performances! Jean Arthur excels in a serious role. (She is more known for screwball comedy) She was really believable. FANTASTIC movie!!!

  • Mr Smith Goes to Washington

    • Craig Brewster
    • 2/11/08

    I agree with Mr Justine. they should make a re-make. washington will sell us out again and again. The open border bill is selling America out!

  • Mr & Mrs Smith

    • justine
    • 10/3/07

    Great movie. THey should remake it.

  • A Movie that never grows old!

    • Melanie Beth
    • 8/20/07

    Such amazing acting! Jimmy Stewart really out did himself! Here is a movie that really makes you stop and think. And the best part is that it never seems to grow old!

  • Unsung hero...

    • Bill Young
    • 4/10/07

    The acting by all in this epic film is superb. It's just a shame this movie came out in 1939 or it would have fared much better in the awards category. In my humble opinion, the facial expressions and overall presentation by H. B. Warner serves to well enhance this delightful and intriguing film.

  • A world we wish was Real

    • Craig
    • 3/28/07

    We need 100 Jimmy stewart in the senate and 450 in congress. Replace all the political puppets. This movie is how we wish it should be. I must live in a dream world.

  • A GREAT DRAMA

    • WALLY
    • 3/28/07

    It is one of the best of the Jimmy Stewart movies.It may very well be his best known role.Great drama from start to finish,if you love movies about politics and government this is your kind of movie.

  • Best patriotic movie ever!!!

    • Anna
    • 10/6/06

    I loved Jimmy Stewart in this wonderfully acted patriotic drama.This movie shows the kind of American citizens we should strive to be.Jimmy Stewart in this film had a simple love and respect for America that is truly admirable!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.