skip navigation
Possessed

Possessed(1931)

  • Friday, September 19 @ 10:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Possessed A factory girl rises to the... MORE > $16.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Loved this movie

    • Pappy Y
    • 1/3/14

    Don't understand why folks who don't care for either Gable or Crawford would choose to watch this. Knowing about their personal relationship makes the film even more interesting. I think people who are critical of the roles 'chosen' by these stars and exactly how they would then impact society at large have NO clue to how the Hollywood Studio system worked. I do not pretend to know, but I do know actors/actresses signed long term contracts.Crawford is gorgeous and I thought the rendition of the song in three languages was touching and imminently for boding. (I never cared for her in her later years, but am always amazed at her youthful appeal.) Always enjoyed Gable and understand his character's dilemmas. Loved his line; "I like you too much to marry you.") I was glad it was a happy ending and during The Depression, I doubt I would want to feel worse. Depressing movies and sad endings may depict reality, but who pays to see it (unless it is done so well, with lots of redeeming values?)

  • Crawlford and Gamble

    • joanclarkbanging
    • 8/25/13

    Sleazy pair of actors who deserve each other.Both have hotpants

  • hot team

    • george snedker
    • 5/24/12

    wonderful crawford and gable pre code they really sizzle in this.

  • Um filme muito bom

    • Sonia
    • 11/1/10

    Este filme merece 10 estrelas. A Joan interpreta uma operria que quer mudar de vida e se torna amante de um homem rico. Mostra a vida real nos anos 30. Um filme tabu para a poca que eram hipocritas demais para aceitarem que isto existia. Uns dos meus filmes prediletos que deve sempre ser exibido por ser um classico de primeia qualidade.

  • Love Joan

    • Adam
    • 3/2/10

    I never knew Joan was so pretty in the 1930's! I really don't have much to say, this movie left me speechless, it is now one of my favourites.

  • Classic Hollywood

    • Lily
    • 8/12/09

    I just bought this dvd, and wow was I surprised! Joan Crawford is gorgeous in this, and Clark is so handsome! I can see why they were such huge stars, and why the public loved them so. I am a new fan of Joan Crawford for sure! Thanks for making this film available. This is a must see!

  • Destroy then Attempt to Redeem

    • f2008ilmzzz
    • 5/20/09

    The redemption theme near the end of this film is too thick to cut through. The women (Joan Crawford) destroys the reputation and career of the man (Clark Gable) she's seduced into an extra-marital affair. Once it's almost too late to come forth with any semblance of truth, she does. As if doing so would redeem her and rescue him, as if he was a victim who had not choice but to get mixed up with a destructive and self-centered factory worker. The plot's like a bad fairy tale. The script's cornball. The acting's substandard. This film can't be redeemed even by its fans.

  • Gable and Crawford Vehicle

    • JClements
    • 5/15/09

    In order to appreciate this film liking both Gable and Crawford is required. This film is a vehicle, more or less, that uses them and it shows. Gable's role doesn't serve him well and Crawford's performance doesn't either. I can get into Gable's acting when he's paired with a strong co-lead. That's not the case in this film.

  • Sorry image of a woman

    • Marjorie.Campbell
    • 5/15/09

    It concerns me how often Joan Crawford played the sorriest kinds of women. They are ones who ruin relationships, men's lives, either victimize or are victimized, neglect children, enjoy being cruel, unkind or flat out evil and more of the same ilk. At my age, I am not amused. For too long girls and women have experienced being downgraded because of other women who play into these types of ruinous stereotypes. If not the type Crawford played in this film, then it's the fairly tale princess waiting for a white knight in shining armour to rush to her rescue. Such images are dangerous since it's hard to distinguish when they're real or imaginary in films.

  • Not My Cup of Tea

    • Syntonic
    • 5/13/09

    Since both leads are two of my least liked movie stars, I'm not impressed with this flick. It was unreal then, histrionic now and I doubt it will be around in the future. With a badly made soap opera quality about it, Miss Crawford's lack of ability to being convincing in a role seriously degrades this film to a flick. Gable's cock-sure arrogance is so obnoxious now that in order to sit through the flick there's too much egotism to wade through

  • Fame, Fortune & Fanatacism

    • m_d
    • 5/12/09

    The theme of this film is down right greed on the part of a woman: Joan Crawford. (Nothing new about that). The lawyer she uses to game access to all the privileged of wealth becomes her possession. In fact, what isn't an objectified by this social climber? One has to wonder while viewing such films if Crawford had any sense of social responsibility whatsoever for the images of amoral beings she portrayed. I'm convinced she was capable of stooping to any depth to acquire whatever her characters sought after. It's as if she had to read a part to know who to become next.

  • Miscast as Working Class

    • Geraldeen
    • 5/12/09

    Joan Crawford's miscast as a working class woman. She doesn't pass. Clark Gable's so arrogant that his bravado outdates any interest in the film. What were producers thinking when turning out this type of tripe? Was it a way to take advantage of the adulterous affair between two 'movie stars' with hom the public was obsessed? Or was it just a money making scheme to get the studio system up and running? Apparently average at best acting appeals to a certain following of viewers. Not me.

  • Questionable Values, Repetitious Roles

    • Joannah
    • 5/12/09

    No matter what film it is that Joan Crawford's in she'll find a way to be the victim. Gable, of course, has to wind up the rescuer. The real life adulterers have to stage their adultery so that audiences are made to feel it's palatable. Viewers were dumbed out bya potent form of media the reinforced unequal, double-standards gender stereotypes. That's how knights in shining armour came to be expected to rescue damsels in distress and live happily ever after. Critics, mainly men, gave their nods of approval, naturally.

  • It's a classic

    • Tom
    • 4/9/08

    Possessed is a gem, it really needs to see the light of day - on dvd that is! If you haven't seen this one, find it, because it's one of Joan's best performances, as well as Clark's.

  • Joan, what a dame!

    • Claudia
    • 3/19/08

    I saw Possessed the other day for the first time, wow! What a magnificent film. Joan Crawford and Clark Gable were steamy hot and wonderful! Thanks TCM for airing it! Possessed needs to be released on dvd, we need a Joan Crawford and Clark Gable collection asap!

  • Gable and Crawford at their Best

    • Classic Movie Fan
    • 10/12/06

    This is a great film and the sparks between Gable and Crawford sizzle. Gable is WOW! Don't miss it! Highly recommended. Needs to be on DVD!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.