skip navigation
The Pirate

The Pirate(1948)

  • Sunday, December 14 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Pirate An actor poses as a notorious... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Beauty

    • Meredith
    • 12/4/13

    I found this film to be beautiful. The lavish sets and wardrobes and the colors all work together to produce beautiful eye candy. Even Garland looked the best I've ever seen her (It's hard to believe she was sick most of the time). The only distraction was Kelly with a mustache - He looks silly wearing one.

  • I Love this!!

    • Erika C.
    • 6/24/13

    When I was nine, I ponied up my allowance to see this movie three times in a week. Until the advent oftv reruns, it was the only film Id ever seen more than once. Watched it last night on TCM trying to remember what had captivated me so thoroughly . The dancing? Gene Kelly was superb, as always (and this time, I noticed his bare legs in the pirate sequence... I doubt that was what drew me at nine, but you never can tell). And how on earth could he make his feet move that fast? Nor was it Judy Garland, except, perhaps, in the scene where she throws everything but the kitchen sink at Kelly. Nor was it the set, script, or Walter Slezak, whom I faintly recognized but couldn't put a name to. And then, from the kitchen, where I'd gone to get a drink of water, I heard the strains of "Be a Clown" and I knew instantly that I'd given up a weeks worth of Popsicles just to see that sequence and hear that song again. I wonder, now if that's been a influence on my life, since, in my dotage, I have a need to make everyone laugh? In short, it's worth the trip to get to the end.

  • Calamity Judy

    • jery tillotson
    • 6/23/13

    I've read a good deal about the making of "The Pirate" and I'm amazed at how beautiful it turned out despite Judy Garland's frail health and nervous breakdowns. As usual, MGM's usage of the old, original Techncolor process is mesmerizing. Everything else is a typical studio marvel---costumes, photography, editing and Cole Porter's beautiful songs.Gene Kelly dominates the movie because director Vincente Minelli couldn't get his wife to the set half the time. When he did, she could rarely perform. That we see Judy actually dancing and singing is a miracle. Gene Kelly created one of the most macho and sensuous dance performances by a male in his big pirate scene where he's clad in clinging hot-pants, open vest--emphasizing that Kelly was a very fit pin-up boy and brilliant dancer.I saw this once in a movie theater in Madrid where the owner told me it had been playing there for two years, non-stop. The theater was packed. Obviously "The Pirate" was much beloved there.

  • this movie should walk the plank

    • jae
    • 6/22/13

    just because you put two great stars in a movie doesn't make it a great movie to watch.

  • Garland and Porter

    • Condie
    • 3/7/12

    I know of no Judy Garland musical comedy that I have enjoyed more than 'The Pirate'. It is pure clean well-done fun!Cole Porter is one of our finest composers of song. He is one of the few composers that did both his own lyrics and his own music - both with incredible intelligence.

  • a big splashy dud

    • hermann
    • 6/9/11

    This is an exhibit in comedy that doesn't work, at turns mannered, shrill, hokey. And the songs stink. (Well there is Be A Clown at the end, but by then who cares.) I would venture to guess that this is more disappointing for Garland fans (the junk songs and part of her appeal being her genuineness) than Kelly fans (his persona is more superficial anyway.)

  • Filme sensacional

    • Sonia
    • 10/25/10

    Eu adoro ver este filme. Meu filme predileto com a maravilhosa Judy Garland com aquela voz divina e gosto muito do Gene Kelly. Os dois tinham uma qumica espetacular no filme. As msicas, a direo do filme. Tudo impecavel. O melhor filme de todos os tempos da Judy. Eu recomendo que assistam.

  • Even in German...

    • LaTosha
    • 7/23/10

    I watched this movie on Youtube, voiced over in German, with no subtitles and still cracked up. This is a fun movie that sort of reminds me of the Princess Bride. The whole family will love this movie.

  • WOW!! WHAT A SET OF LEGS ON GENE KELLY!!

    • Rachel
    • 2/27/07

    This is a fun movie to see. GENE'S performance was great as always. However the mustache and the hairstyle he wore did take away from his extremely handsome looks. I had to really look hard to recognize the handsome GENE that I'm so use to seeing in his movies, but he was still great to watch, expecially the ballet scene which showed off his gorgeous muscular legs. He also showed off a lot of his atheletic ability in this picture, and his routine with the Nicholas brothers was cute.I love the scene between he and Judy, when she finds out that he really isn't Macoco. What a mess she made. And I loved the number that Judy did, "Mac the Black." This is a really fun family-style movie to watch. Everyone will enjoy it.

  • the Pirate

    • Anne Montes
    • 1/16/07

    This is a feel good movies, seeing Gene Kelly as the dashing handsome Stranger that into Judy Garland,The young senorita life with dancing and singing. I would love to have this movie on home video.Please I need to own this

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.