skip navigation
Bunny Lake Is Missing

Bunny Lake Is Missing(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Bunny Lake Is... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • More Than Bunny is Missing

    • Meredith
    • 12/5/13

    This started out as a really good film. I was hooked from the start and I enjoyed seeing Olivier working his magic. But then here comes the ending.. the long, long, long, long, ridiculous ending. I was so taken aback by the events that suddenly occurred when Dullea all of a sudden devolves into a child wanting to play childish games with his sister. It was so disappointing and to have it drag out into eternity - it was a slap in the face. I'm not sure I've ever seen a movie that I liked such as this ever have an ending that ruined the whole film. It was like watching two different movies - and I'm still not sure what happened. Sad, really.

  • Best movie ever made

    • joe
    • 10/15/13

    enthralling... captivating great acting a don't miss movie

  • Interesting

    • stevemozi
    • 4/24/13

    When I was much younger and watching Saturday morning cartoons, this movie seemed to be the afternoon movie about half of the time. As a child, I never made it through half of the movie. Slow pacing, 21 second average scene time, and it went on and on about no one knowing where Bunny was or if she really was at all. However, one very early morning when I couldn't sleep, I watched it on TCM. It still dragged on, but this time I was more humored by the differences in societal changes. Like, the scnese where she just "drops" her child off with the cook at the school. Who would ever do that today? No paperwork? No credentials? But, the story really does get interesting when the camera pans around the apartment to show missing articles that were there earlier in the movie. As far as the ending, I have to remember that Psycho had just been released 5 years earlier. And, this story was from a book of the same name (Bunny Lake is Missing) from 1957. These psychological thrillers were very popular during this period. Surprise endings where the main characters turn out to be the bad guy. I loved the ending part where Carol and Keir dance about discovering their history and alluding to much deeper trauma. Nothing wrong with this movie. Classic psychological thriller with a fun twist to the plot. I'm glad they gave the part to Carol Lynley instead of Jane Fonda. She brings a much more innocent character to view.

  • Bunny Lake is Missing

    • gia
    • 1/12/12

    What a ridiculous movie. What started out as a somewhat interesting plot,devolved into a "What the heck is going on?" convoluted mess. And that forever long ending. Why she didn't just whack him over the head and get away when she had the chance. And there were plenty of chances. All in all, a waste of time. My time.

  • Bunny Lake is Missing (1965)

    • James Higgins
    • 6/5/10

    Great cast and a solid mystery thriller. Great direction from Otto Preminger. The story is well developed, as are the characters. Very suspensful and interesting throughout. Very well acted by everyone, Laurence Olivier is always a pleasure to watch. Well photographed. It really gets you thinking, great story.

  • Saw this movie today and?...

    • Cassandra
    • 12/1/09

    I saw "Bunny Lake is Missing" and before that...i never knew about this movie. At first i thought it was going to be like a drama film or something? oh, was i wrong. It became more exciting and you had to think??? The little girl...is she real? did she die? who took her? etc.A bit suspenseful and a wee bit crazy...especaially lakes' brother. Higher! Higher!...and its such an exciting movie when it gets more into it. I don't smaller kids should be watching this neither...there are some parts when...its just kind of gets weird, uncomfortable. yes, overall...great movie!

  • Questionable ending

    • jarrod McDonald
    • 11/3/09

    I agree with the previous poster who said the ending is all wrong. This is a great film, however, because it really keeps you guessing. You have no idea which way the filmmakers are going with the story, because there seem to be all these clues that may or may not be relevant to the abduction of the child. I guess what I don't like about the ending is that it seems implausible. I would think that a neighbor would hear all the noise and come to the woman's rescue before the police put it all together and arrived on the scene. Also, I think Keir Dullea's descent into madness comes out of nowhere and it would've helped if one of the many clues earlier in the movie would've indicated that he may be a bit unhinged. This said, I did like the 'play' scenes in the final sequence, because they were truly terrifying and you could identify with the woman's plight...but I think there should've been more of a chase and more struggle before the police arrived. And if incest had actually occurred, then it should've factored more into her devotion yet fear of her brother. The one good thing, undoubtedly, is the help the younger cast members receive from stage vets Laurence Olivier, as the detective, and Noel Coward as the landlord.

  • Ends with a punt

    • Maria
    • 7/6/08

    The ending is unworthy of the movie-- an excellent suspense-thriller-mystery comes undone, but I've watched it more than once because it's so well done & so gripping

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.