skip navigation
My Name Is Julia Ross

My Name Is Julia Ross(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Woman In Red by Anthony Gilbert

    • betterthanthebook
    • 8/16/16

    Read the book after watching film,and the film so much better with the crazy hubby/bad boy son angle.Outstanding stories,both film and book.This time Foch is Macready's intended victim,unknown to her she is to replace the wife he murdered and dumped her body.The book she is an agent killed trying to get the goods on Fifth Columnists and they almost succeed in both stories.The climax looked like Ralph Hughes started to fall before actually being shot.I really love this film and hope it's on dvd.

  • Based On The Woman In Red by Gilbert

    • lovethisstory
    • 8/10/16

    The movie doesn't hint at 5th columnists,but there are in the book.This is a well done psychological thriller,Ralph Hughes kills his wife and an elaborate scheme is cooked up to lure a non suspecting woman with no ties or family to substitute for a murdered wife,killed during one of her husband's psychotic rages.Great acting from the primary cast,some great supporting roles,some fair actresses in London.Hope it plays soon on TCM,and is available on dvd!

  • Suspense,Thriller,Mystery

    • likecopperbeeches
    • 7/28/16

    And that's just the mother and son and their flunkies.Ralph Hughes is a psychotic who murders his wife,and mommy tries to help him cover it up by getting Sparkes to open a phony employment agency (ala The Copper Beeches by Conan Doyle) to hire a woman with no attachments to be her employee,actually to fill-in for her deceased daughter-in-law because her son got mad cuz his wife accused him of marrying for money.George Macready absolutely rocks as crazy Ralph in Cornwall!Can't wait to watch again!Please put out on DVD!

  • Would Love To See This Again

    • lovedthismovie
    • 7/28/16

    Excellent,suspenseful thriller/mystery.George Macready plays psycho Ralph Hughes,who covers up the murder of his wife with his mother and household idiots.Julia is hired by a fake employment agency to play Ralph's wife,who unfortunately married him,not knowing he was only after her money.Ralph has a nasty habit of playing with knives.A must see!

  • Love Dame May & McCreepy Son

    • aboutperfect
    • 7/28/16

    Well worth chasing down.Julia is hired by an "employment agency",which it clearly isn't.Perfect mystery/thriller with Dame May doing all she can to provide cover for psycho son,played by a brilliant George Macready as the husband who needs another woman to masquerade as his wife he murdered in ...you can guess the rest,but this is an absolutely brilliant version of "The Woman In Red" by Anthony Gilbert,remade as "Dead Of Winter",which was pretty good,but doesn't approach this film,for Macready's performance alone.No wonder he was so menacing in GILDA the next year!

  • Lots of bang for the buck

    • TK
    • 12/6/13

    Robert Osborne said they only spent 10 days and $175,000 making this movie in the 1940's. Goes to show that a good story, script, direction, and cast don't need a lot of trappings. Nina Foch is gorgeous. Her distinctive speaking voice is a delight along with her performance which captures you from the start. You can feel her despair as she realizes her situation, and then her resolve as she gathers herself and starts matching wits with the villains. Fans of suspense won't be disappointed. Thanks TCM for another pleasant surprise.

  • Treasure Lost but Now Found

    • HoneyButta
    • 10/30/08

    Just watched this movie a few days ago after waiting over a year to do so. This, like the other poster, was a movie that haunted me since seeing as a young girl, but all I could remember was "My Name is.....". After searching through the TCM website, I finally found it! It aired 10/23 and I taped it and it's now my treasure!! Just as I remember, haunting and suspenseful, but not quite as scary (I'm not a young girl anymore!)

  • Overlooked Classic

    • alan melzak
    • 4/25/07

    A B-Movie masterpiece from Joseph W. Lewis

  • Very Good Movie

    • Cathy
    • 4/21/07

    I have only seen this movie once before. and I think that I have seen every old movie there is. I was so glad that TCM showed it so I could see it again. I think that it is very well done because it keeps you in suspense until the very end.

  • My Name Is Julia Ross

    • Dee
    • 4/20/07

    I have waited 60 years to again see this movie. I was 11 years old when it came to the theater's and I was entranced with its' mystery.So, last night, 4-19-2007, TCM presented the film and I so looked forward to seeing it again. I slipped my vcr tape into the recorder, set the time for recording, but, when I went to fetch the tape,......sadly I did not notice the tape was almost full and I had forgotten to rewind the tape before recording 'My Name Is Julia Ross'. I have checked Netflix but no DVD for this movie.I can only hope that TCM will again show this film as it is a wonderful production.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.