skip navigation
The Man with the Golden Arm

The Man with the Golden Arm(1956)

  • Saturday, February 14 @ 04:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Man with the Golden Arm (1956) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Man with the Golden Arm A junkie must face his true... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Man with the Golden Arm

    • Goetan
    • 12/11/13

    Preminger's then-daring film about drug addiction. Sinatra earned an Oscar nomination as a drummer who relapses into his heroin addiction; Parker seems too over-the-top at times and not as grounded as Novak. By today's standards, the portrayal of a drug addict seems tame compared to films like "Trainspotting" and "Requiem for a Dream," but this film allowed for drug addiction to be explored in a bold and graphic way on screen. Harrowing and powerful with an edgy, Oscar-nominated jazz score with a magnificent leading performance. I give it a 4/5.

  • Kept me on the straight and narrow

    • cathy
    • 12/5/13

    I saw this when I was a youngster growing up in New York. This movie was so realistic to me I decided then and there no drugs for me. It is one of those few movies that makes an impact on your life and stays with you. I look forward to seeing it here on TCM.

    • 2/2/12

  • Supporting actors steal the show

    • el debbo
    • 2/2/12

    John Conte as Drunkie John is such a good, annoying "C'mon Molly!" type drunk...just itching to get that first beer down the hatch. Darren McGavin is excellent...oily, muscular, almost sexual when soliciting business. And this is Kim Novak's best role, methinks. She seems so quietly flat...with an undercurrent of hopelessness...she's great. As this is supposed to be a Polish neighborhood in Chicago & she's Polish, she was prime for the part. She later did Pal Joey with Sinatra and they repeated the classic "Where're we going?" as they clipped off down the street arm in arm.

  • This movie is awesome!

    • Aimee
    • 12/5/11

    I have always loved this movie. I used to be a drug addict, so believe me... it is very realistic.

  • Next time go to drug rehab to see a real junkie

    • Kent
    • 6/17/11

    Nothing fits in this film. Everything smacks of a bad stage drama, including the costumes and sets.The actual physical withdrawal of a heroin addict is slow and subtle. The real junkie is devious, not sick as is the alcoholic.This film is so bad in every way, it should be part of the Golden Turkey Oldies. I saw it a few years after it first came out, it seemed more of a caricature then with sad clown acting. Now, after seeing again, it is just bad!The rarely shown "Monkey on My Back," is low budget film from the same era (1957). It is a more powerful, realistic and better portrayed film on addiction than the overdone "The Man with the Golden Arm." Big names do not make a big movie.

  • Frank Sinatra as Frankie Machine

    • Vance Garnett
    • 9/17/10

    This is the one for which Frank Sinatra should have won the Oscar. But since he had won one a couple of years earlier, well,they felt they couldn't do it. Ironically, the actor who helped him win the Oscar in 1953's"From Here To Eternity" kept him from this 1955 Oscar for "Man With the Golden Arm." I speak of Ernest Bourgnin. His role as"Fatso," the sadistic operator of the brigg who beat Maggio to death, helped hand Sinatra the Oscar. But in 55, it was Ernie'srole as the Plain Jane guy in "Marty" that beat out Mr. S. Young Nancy and Frank Jr. were angry at Bourgnine for the robbery, but Frank told them that this is the man who helped get me the Oscar when I really needed it. Frank's scene when he's going through "cold turkey" withdrawal is an amazing piece of acting--so good it's difficult to watch. And yet you can't look away.

  • Taboo subject

    • George Terflinger
    • 11/10/07

    This was a great movie went it came out and still is. This subject was really taboo when It first came out. You should show it some time

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.