skip navigation
Good Neighbor Sam

Good Neighbor Sam(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Good Neighbor... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • DVD not llke a good neighbor

    • Alan Johns
    • 4/25/13

    I opened a "Good Neighbor Sam" Jack Lemmon Collection dvd case, popped the dvd into the drive, and lo and behold..... "Operation Mad Ball" started playing! Took the dvd out to check the label.... yep, it says "Good Neighbor Sam" so they did not put the wrong dvd in the right case. They entirely screwed up the production with wrong movie/wrong label. I want GNS, but am afraid to buy it for fear of getting the same result twice. Know why studios are going broke? Sloppy work, no quality control, and cutting corners left and right. (I'm surprised Sony didn't release this on an el crappo DVD-R. BTW, I can't tell an official DVD-R release from a pirated release. And the dimwits cannot fathom why they are bleeding profits. DUH!).

  • Great comedy!

    • Debbie
    • 8/17/12

    I think that everyone in this picture is wonderful, but the Louis Nye character, is so hilarious. I own it on VHS. It should be up dated on DVD.

  • Good Neighbor Sam

    • Melody Eckstrom
    • 5/8/12

    I was 12 years old when this excellent movie came to the big screen... I went with my Mother and Aunt and Brothers... "One of our local radio stations was having a Good Neighbor Sam Contest" They wanted to know if you knew anyone/ neighbor who went out of there way to help you or someone.... Well i sent in my letter about a Friend of the family his name was Jerry Guthery... I told how he had helped our family after our parents had divorced and we had to move across the country to live closer to our Realitives.... I won the contest.. I couldn't believe it....Of course Jerry won a set of luggage and several wonderful gifts, and one of the great things he won was a (years worth of free movie tickets) he gave them to me!!!! I had an extra wonderful summer that year, there were a lot of great movies released that summer....My older Brother was happy to go to the movies with me that summer, after all he got in for free...

  • Lemmon and Provine Star in Riotous Comedy

    • David Atkins
    • 10/16/10

    Jack Lemmon was a major star at Columbia with such films as Phftt with Judy Holiday Kim Novak and two other films with Kim Novak Bell Book and Candle, Nortorious Landlady. Jack Lemmon was a substantial star at Columbia and one of his final films at Columbia was this riotous comedy which co starred Romy Schneider, Michael Connors and the lovely Dorothy Provine who was a real stunning beauty and had a lot of zing to her performances. Ms. Provine would go on to star in Its A Mad Mad World with Spencer Tracy at UA, and The Great Race at WBw ith Natalie Wood, Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis and then basically quit the industry.

  • Please release Good Neighbor Sam

    • Joe Maddox
    • 2/16/09

    I saw this movie in my local movie theater (Park Theater, Everett, Massachusetts) when it was released. It's part of Lemmon's legacy....Louis Nye in the vacuum cleaner truck as super sleuth, the Hertz commercial guy, and Dorothy Provine, a wonderful actress. Come on folks, this is a must release.I'm beggin' man, please release it.Thanks,Joe (58 years old)

  • Lemmon At His Funniest

    • Bruce Reber
    • 1/23/09

    I saw "Good Neighbor Sam" for the first time on a local TV station in the early 80's and thought it was one of the best comedy films I had seen. Beacause it was on TCM so late (or early 5:45 A.M.) I taped it and watched it again last night and I think Jack Lemmon gives one of his funniest performances. It was also good to see it in widescreen and without commercials. I will have to watch my VHS recording until it is on DVD. Please hurry! This is truly one of the great comedies ever!

  • How about Good Neighbor Sam release on dvd?

    • monty
    • 11/22/08

    Good Neighbor Sam is without a doubt one of the treasures of the 60's. The entire cast was excellent with Jack Lemmon at his best. Who could ever forget the spy van out front. And how about Edward G. Robinson as Mr.Nurlinger. It is due time to release on dvd.

  • at least explain

    • jay jenkins
    • 9/29/08

    why does'nt some one at least tell us the reasons that this movie is not available on dvd. No rights or not funny enough or?

  • Good Neighbor Sam

    • Loie
    • 9/8/08

    This has to be Jack Lemmon's best comedy he ever made. I really don't understand why they have never put this movie on DVD, it really needs to be shown more on T.V. so people can see it...I sure hope the people who makes the decision to put a movie on DVD, are paying attention to what people love to watch, and this is a must!!! Loie

  • Too bad it was pan and Scan

    • chauncey
    • 9/8/08

    I'd say roughly, 99.8 % of the movies broadcast on TCM are OAR... but today's broadcast of Good Neighbor Sam was not. It was Full frame. I guess Columbia Pictures/Sony does not have a decent enough print even for TCM let alone a stand alone DVD that has never been issued.. Too bad.. I waited all weekend for this letdown.. BUT I will give a 7 out of ten only because I have been waiting to see this film after 40 years so a bit is better than nothing..

  • They Don't Make Them Like This Anymore!

    • Terry Bienvenue
    • 9/8/08

    I saw this movie for the first time about 20 years ago. It was one of the funniest movies of all time. Any chance it was on television I watched it. About three years ago I was able to purchase it on VHS, and now I have shared it with my teenage kids. It's timeless!

  • One of Jack Lemmons best comedies

    • Rick
    • 4/14/08

    I saw this movie when it came out. I was about 15 or 16. I think I saw it about 6 or 7 times between the theaters and at the drive-in. It is a hilarious. Other performers in it are Dorthy Provine, Edward G. Robinson, Mike Connors, Louis Nye and others It is a great movie and I think the funniest comedy Jack Lemmon ever did. Thee are so many funny scenes in it , but the one scene that was shown in the ads is why I wanted to see it.Connors character was in an argument with his wife, played by Romy Schneider. He tell her what she need is a good swift kick in the hind end, she responds with "You wouldn't dare" and starts to walk off and of course Connors character kicks her in the hind end and she gets up and lets him have it. Great movie!

  • Happier Times

    • Marcia
    • 4/6/08

    A loveable, feel-good comedy. Dorothy Provine is adorable as the loving, supportive wife who thinks her husband's "junk art" is genius. The Hertz commercial goofs made my Dad laugh harder than anything else we ever saw in a movie until Jack Lemmon clearing his sinuses in The Odd Couple. The musical score was also outstanding. Even the opening credits are a hoot. It's a shame this isn't available on DVD. One of Jack Lemmon's best.

  • Good Neighbor Sam

    • Howard Lewis
    • 1/18/08

    Great Movie that has been neglected by TCM and Movies Unlimited. Can't buy a DVD. Why? Not politically correct in this day and age? It is a fall down funny bedroom and boardroom romp. Please make it available to us who simply love GREAT movies. No Jack Lemmon box set of his comedies? Why? Jack Lemmon was a one of a kind actor who had little ego, huge amounts of humility and was respected by all who knew him even if he couldn't make the cut at the Clambake. Give him his due. Thank you.

  • VERY FUNNY 60'S STYLE COMEDY!

    • mike s
    • 11/18/07

    WHY THIS MOVIE IS NOT SHOWN MORE...I CAN NEVER FIGURE IT OUT. THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE!!!!!IF YOU CAN PLEASE SHOW THIS...ALOT OF VIEWERS HAVE NOT SEEN THIS MOVIE.!

  • GREAT ADULT COMEDY.

    • GENE BICE
    • 8/17/07

    I HAVEN'T SEEN THIS FILM IN YEARS; IT'S RARELY SHOWN ON TV. IF YOU LOVE JACK LEMMON, LOUIE NYE - YOU WILL REALLY ENJOY THIS MOVIE. THEY DON'T MAKE THEM LIKE THIS ANYMORE!

  • Good Neighbor Sam

    • Peggy
    • 8/2/07

    My dad says this is a good movie and I love Jack Lemmon and have never seen it and would love to.

  • A Funny Film

    • Movie Fan
    • 10/28/06

    I highly recommend this most enjoyable film with Jack Lemmon and the beautiful Romy Schneider. Jack Lemmon does a terrific job in this role. Dorothy Provine is wonderful as Jack's wife. Romy Schneider shows she has a strong knack for comedy as well. Please show this film on TCM. More important please released it on DVD!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.