skip navigation
Walk, Don't Run

Walk, Don't Run(1966)

  • Monday, December 29 @ 04:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Walk, Don't Run Set during the Tokyo Olympics,... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love TMTM, and love Walk, Don't Run

    • Marjorie Preston
    • 1/11/14

    A number of reviewers here have compared Walk, Don't Run to The More the Merrier--unfavorably. I love both movies, and I think the actors in WDR as well as the updated setting make for a very fresh take on the situation--a housing shortage (post-WWII in the former, at the Tokyo Olympics in the latter) that forces three disparate characters to live together. Cary Grant is just darling as the middle-aged industrialist trying to get the young woman and man together, and Jim Hutton is, as always, laconic, low-key and droll.Of course I also adored Joel McCrea in the original movie, and his smooching-on-the-steps scene with Jean Arthur is much sexier than the kissing-in-the-cab scene between Hutton and Samantha Eggar.Anyway, thumbs up to both films. Something this chaste would never fly today!

  • not a good remake

    • Bethann
    • 10/3/13

    I just saw Walk, Don't Run and it can't compare with the more the merrier. I saw" the more the merrier" a couple of times and it was a much better movie then this remake. The more the merrier had the perfect stars for the parts. I think Cary Grant was wasted in this movie. I like all the movies Cary Grant plays in. I have been watching movies for 70 (seventy) years so I have see a lot of movies. Long Time Movie Fan, Betty

  • Walk Don't Run is a classic

    • Gilda
    • 5/11/12

    I disagree with the reviewers who claim the lack of chemistry. The chemistry is deft, dry, and hilariously funny. Jim Hutton delivers every one of his lines to perfection and plays well with both Grant and a prim but also funny Eggar. An truly enjoyable film any day of the week.

  • Walk Don't Run

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    Uninspired remake of the fantastic film "The More the Merrier." Grant's first "character," non-lead role, is his last film but he should have quit when he was ahead with the outstanding "Father Goose." Two principal actors are extremely bland and have no chemistry together. Watch the original instead.

  • Cary Grant, Jim Hutton Outstanding

    • David Atkins
    • 8/28/10

    Cary Grant, the perfect movie star, chose this film as his swan song, a remake of Columbia's iconic The More The Merrier that starred the peerless Jean Arthur. Grant made Universal his studio for the last of his movies: Charade, That Touch of Mink, Operation Petticoat, Father Goose, et al but segued to Columbia for this remake of George Stevens classic. The remake is set at the Olympics in Japan and Cary Grant sought out Jim Hutton -who made those marvelous comedies with Paula Prentiss at MGM- to be the nominal leading Man. In fact I wished Prentiss had the femme lead in this film. The Hutton/Prentiss chemistry was unbeatable. The film is sprightly and delightful. Cary Grant felt he was too old to be a leading man, and quit films. I disagree.

  • Grant's Swan Song.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/13/10

    Cary Grant brings down the curtain on his long distinguished career as he stars opposite Samantha Eggar and Jim Hutton in director, Charles Walters' brashly good-natured comedy based on the book by Robert Russell. Grant is a British industrialist, who arrives in Tokyo and shares an apartment with a beautiful young girl (Eggar) and an American Olympic runner (Hutton), and he decides to play Cupid with his young roommates. A rather flamboyant way for Cary to say goodbye. Filmed on location in Tokyo, Japan. With John Standing, Miiko Taka, Ted Hartley, BenAster, George Takei, Teru Shimada & Lois Kjuchi. Cary Grant died on November 29, 1986.

  • Walk, Don't Run (1966)

    • James Higgins
    • 5/13/10

    Can't compare to the original version from 1943 "The More the Merrier". Forced comedy, occasionally amusing. Without Cary Grant it would have been a dud. Tim Hutton just doesn't have what it takes in this film. Samantha Eggar is a bland choice. Uninspiring fluff.

  • Walk Don't Run

    • trinjboro
    • 3/15/10

    This is one of my favorite Cary Grant movies. It is a hidden gem, that is well cast with Jim Hutton and Samantha Egger. Grant is his usual dry humor self and he and Hutton play off each other wonderfully. An interesting side note, Grant hums the song Charade while making coffee, that's from his earlier movie Charade with Audrey Hepburn.

  • Walk Don't Run Music

    • Carol
    • 6/27/07

    What was the name of the song that played throughout the movie?

  • a fun-loving movie to watch

    • leslie naucke
    • 1/20/07

    Walk Don't Run Is an entertaining and funny movie. Cary Grant is his uaually aluf yet involved self. jim Hutton and samantha Edger are charming. It is a well done, clean-cut movie with a lot of laughs and entanglements.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.