skip navigation
Roberta

Roberta(1935)

  • Tuesday, February 3 @ 05:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Roberta A football player inherits a... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Men, Be Warned!

    • disinterested spectator
    • 9/25/14

    All right, this is a Fred and Ginger movie, so you know what to expect: some great song and dance numbers from that duo along with a flimsy romantic plot. Double that, because there is another romantic story between Randolph Scott and Irene Dunne, equally flimsy. Unfortunately, the plot that underlies the romantic subplots concerns a high-class fashion house. That means half the movie features women modeling this or that elegant dress, all leading to the grand climax: a fashion show. It is probably supposed to be funny that a real man like Scott would inherit a store like that, but it wears thin in a hurry. Maybe women like that part of the movie, but most men, even those who would watch a Fred and Ginger musical, will be bored by all that fashion stuff.

  • Surely, the best dance team ever in film!

    • Alice
    • 3/8/13

    I love this film; the story Randolph Scott (in a comedy role, rather than his usual westerns), Irene Dunne and her lovely singing voice, and my all-time favorite dance team, Fred and Ginger. This one had me cheering during their dance sequences. I always love to watch them dancing. However, some of the dances in this film were extra-special. They appeared to be having such a great time. I so love great dance talent, and feel so blessed to be able to enjoy these wonderful gems anytime I choose. I now own all 10. Thank you, TCM. You turned me on to Fred and Ginger, as well as so many other great talents in all kinds of films; even silent films. Thanks so very much.

  • top caliber 30s musical

    • j.c.
    • 11/5/11

    I am astonished that someone objects to Irene Dunne's singing. Jerome Kern is quoted as saying that she was his favorite singer. For my ears, she sings with more finesse than Jeanette MacDonald. In this movie I particularly admire her delivery of the swanky "Lovely to Look At". Her legato spinning of "Yesterdays" also a highlight. This is a completely delightful movie. Anyone who enjoys musicals musn't miss it.

  • Eye Beautiful; Ear Sour

    • Condie
    • 8/14/11

    I love the Jerome Kern music and could watch Fred and Ginger forever. I like this play even better than its remake, "Lovely to Look At". And yes, Irene Dunne is, as always, a sweetheart, but she can't carry a tune in a bucket! Why did they let her sing so much when there were perfectly good voice dubbers available? This is otherwise a fine movie with some historical truth about the outcast Russian nobility in Paris.

  • Score!

    • GenevieveRose
    • 2/11/10

    Positively delightful! Irene Dunne easily kept up with the masters, Astaire and Rogers. She was wonderful, the story is excellent fun, and the script is keen; how many great lines there are, especially between Fred and Ginger! Talk about quotable. The fashion parts add a great element, and some of my favorites of Astaire's are here--especially the song "I won't Dance, Don't ask Me"--in which he certainly does dance, and what a time!!! Five stars. And Randalph Scott angrily shoving Ginger onto a couch only to see her pop up and get knocked down again--great laughs. Don't worry--Ginger could take it! She's got class and sass.

  • Dated and Uneven?

    • apple venus
    • 2/11/10

    Sure, this movie is dated. Um, it's an old movie. Isn't that why TCM is so fantastic? Because we get to spend some time in another era? Is it uneven? Yes, I'll agree to that. Also, I can't stand the sight of Fred Astaire. Were he not such a talented hoofer-- and aided by the beauty of Ginger Rogers-- no one would've given two hoots about him. I won't get into his personal life here. One thing that "Riccardo", the reviewer, doesn't understand is the beauty of the fashions which he refers to as "dated". Anyone who doesn't appreciate the beauty of fashions of eras past doesn't understand the history of fashion. The clothing in the old movies is part of why I watch. The outfits in this film are classy and fabulous. Women didn't always dress like the hoochie mamas of today, Riccardo. Get over it.

  • A Dated and Uneven Masterpiece

    • Riccardo
    • 10/8/08

    For a contemporary audience, the fashions which constitute the "raison d'etre" of the plot are quite dated. And while I didn't mind the double-couple idea...it goes back to Shakespeare, after all....I did find the film over weighted with the story of Roberta, herself...and for me, the film's pace lagged as a result. So there are plot problems with this film, which could have been much more happily resolved as in "Follow the Fleet" two years later. This having been said, the dancing by Ginger and Fred is superb. In later life, Fred named "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" as one of his favorite danced with Ginger. In this their third film, she was growing by leaps and bounds..so to speak...as a dancer. And the "I'll be Hard To Handle" is a mini-masterpiece of exuberance...as Arlene Croce has correctly pointed out. Nonetheless, it still retains a lot of humor, charm, and joy...as the combined screen personas of Fred and Ginger more than overcome its shortcomings.

  • Rogers & Astaire steal this movie

    • bergy7
    • 12/13/07

    Irene Dunne is wonderful in Roberta, but Fred Astaire & Ginger Rogers steal the movie with their incredible dancing and hilarious repartee.There are some classic comedy lines between the two and their three dance numbers showed it was obvious that this was the beginning of the greatest dance team in history.

  • Irene Dunne captured my heart

    • Buz Allegretto
    • 8/2/07

    An actress born more than a half century before me - hss enchanted me beyond belief. Irene Dunne has the most beautiful smile and her eyes just captivate me. I wateced TCM the other day when they showed "Roberta" and was entranced by her beautiful singing voice. I want to see that movie again. I hope TCM shows it again. I make it a point now to watch all her movies when they are shown. What a wonderful humanitarian too in her personal life. she certainly had it all. One in a million. What beauty and charm. I want to meet her when I am in heaven. One of God's truly good people. Buz Allegretto

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.