skip navigation
This Gun for Hire

This Gun for Hire(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

This Gun for Hire A hired killer dodges police... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Star Power

    • denscul
    • 8/29/14

    Two newcomers Ladd, and Lake, are dynamite together in an otherwise mediocre plot, especially the corny ending. Imagine trying to do a remake without these two stars. Lake' s career did not last long, but Ladd played the gunslinger in my favorite western, Shane. Once again he is a hired gunfighter but trying to reform. There is doubt what happens to RAVEN, but in Shane, he just rides off into the sunset.

  • Alan Ladd's First Major Film Role

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/21/12

    I watched "This Gun For Hire" on TCM again late Tuesday night 3/20/12 (actually 1:30 AM Wednesday 3/21/12), and it's a very powerful early 40's film noir. Alan Ladd (who's billed 3rd after Veronica Lake and Robert Preston) stars as hired killer Philip Raven, tracking down spies who stole a secret gas formula and framed him for murder. Raven is totally amoral and callous, having gotten that way from the abuse he suffered during childhood. He's softened a little by Lake, who tells him that finding the stolen formula and saving his country is more important than his personal agenda of revenge. This is the only time Ladd would play such a complicated and dislikable character, as in most of his films after TGFH he played cool. self-confident hero types (i.e. "The Blue Dahlia" and "Shane", two of my favorite Ladd films). Please show more of Alan Ladd, TCM (maybe a Star of The Month tribute in the near future). He was one of our most talented and overlooked screen actors.

  • Love this film

    • jack
    • 8/10/11

    I just saw this movie a few days ago for the first time and loved it. I enjoyed Ladd's portrayal of a totally cold and amoral character. A shame Kregar did not make more films, he was teriffic in"The Lodger", he died far too young (28). Best of all, was the opportunity to watch Veronica Lake, she is mesmerizing to this watcher. I especially liked her musical scene where she is wearing a sexy black, tight-fitting outfit, at last an idea just how nice a figure she has. I can't see enough of her (literally!)

  • this gun for hire alan ladd 1942

    • philip klein
    • 5/3/11

    i have been waiting for tcm to show this film i am a fan of tcm, my favorites are FILM NOIRplease schedule this one for me and veronica lake/ alan ladd fans thanks keep up the good work!!!

  • Noir de primeira qualidade

    • Sonia
    • 11/6/10

    Uns dos melhores filmes noir de primeira qualidade que lanou Alan Ladd e Veronica Lake ao estrelato. Insuperavel

  • Please schedule this movie! Thanks!

    • Mike
    • 11/7/09

    "This Gun For Hire" is the movie that made both Alan Ladd and Veronica Lake. It and "The Blue Dahlia" are the two best for that combination. Please schedule "This Gun For Hire" and thanks for scheduling "The Blue Dahlia" !!

  • This Gun for Hire (not a werstern)

    • Dick
    • 8/4/07

    Another Alan Ladd film noir great. The Raven, (Alan Ladd) is hired to kill a man who is selling military secrects to fifth columist during WWII. He is double crossed by the agent who hired him (Laird Creger)and pursues him. He runs into Veronica Lake who is the love interst of LA police detective, Robert Preston who is working the case.Veronica Lake does a nice job portraying a singing magician, her night club act, working in a club owned by Laird Cregar. The plot thickens.Is the Alan Ladd character a killer or a patriotic hero?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.