skip navigation
Gathering, The

Gathering, The(1977)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Gathering, The - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • THE GATHERING

    • EK
    • 12/31/10

    I REMEMBER WATCHING THIS MOVIE AND CRYING MY EYES OUT!!IT WAS RERUN FOR SEVERAL YEARS, AND I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR IT EVER SINCE! IT IS A REALLY POIGNANT MOVIE ABOUT FAMILY DYNAMICS, BUT IN THE END, ALL THAT MATTERS IS LOVING ONE ANOTHER. IT IS RIGHT UP THERE WITH OTHER CHRISTMAS CLASSICS, AND SHOULD BE SHOWN YEARLY. ED ASNER AND MAUREEN STAPLETON AS A COUPLE DEALING WITH LIFE'S TWISTS AND TURNS GIVE SENSITIVE PERFORMANCES. PLEASE ALLOW ALL OF US TO ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS BEAUTIFUL, SWEET MOVIE!!!!

  • A Holiday Classic

    • Annette Gettis
    • 12/12/09

    This movie was a hit when it was released back in the 70's, and is still my holiday favorite. I think it rates right up there with "Its a Wonderful Life", "Miracle on 34th Street" and all the other Christmas classics we have come to enjoy every Christmas Season. I taped it from the TNT showing back then, but the quality is about gone. I would like to have a digital version to watch each holiday season. It reminds us of what is really important in life; family, friends and tradition.

  • This movies a classic

    • Ed Vickery
    • 12/2/09

    Everybody should see this movie at least once,it brings back family values

  • SHOW THIS MOVIE

    • Denise
    • 11/21/09

    You need to at least show this movie on television. It is a classic, that shows us what can happen if we put money, work or anything else before family. It's about love which we don't have too much of.Denise

  • Need This Film on DVD

    • Jim Cochran
    • 5/10/09

    This is one of the best Christmas movies for the family. We have worn out our VCR tape and would like to find a new one. It is one Great Movie.

  • Movie should be released

    • Art
    • 2/14/09

    I sure wish this movie was on DVD I live in the town where the movie was made and its pretty nostalgic to see some of the landmarks still here. I've walked the same paths as Ed Asner did in the movie.

  • Beautiful movie.

    • Beth Nichols
    • 12/16/08

    This movie should be on DVD. I remember watching it with my family, all 12 kids and parents. I cried even as a child for those kids and the dad. I watched it with my husband who came from a large family also and he cried. It made us feel more appreciative of family life. It told a good story, and made you happy in the long run. I would buy this movie if it is released, and the second one. Except I cannot remember the title. I think it was "The Gathering Part II". I cannot praise this movie enough.

  • Christmas Movie remakes

    • TeriLHS
    • 11/20/08

    I can't believe that this wonderful movie hasn't been put on DVD.This is an awesome family movie. I remember watching this with my mom that has since passed on and she taped it on VHS, and I have worn this VHS out and can no longer watch it and would love to beable to purchase part one and two. Please put it on DVD so the older generation can enjoy these old family holiday movies with the younger generation

  • A Wonderful Holiday Film!

    • John
    • 8/17/08

    I consider myself fortunate, when The Gathering was originally aired on television I owned a VCR (they were a novelty then) and I had the foresight to tape it. I loved the film then, and it has become a Christmas tradition for my family. An excellent movie, in every way. My tape is over 30 years old and showing signs of wear, but I cherish it.Hanna-Barbera is missing the boat on this one. They have what could easily become another "It's A Wonderful Life" on their hands and they're just sitting on it. The Thornton family story is heart warming and the overall message of bringing the family together and resolving differences is something truly needed in today's society in which personal gain and lack of concern for others prevails. The producers need to release this wonderful film!

  • SHOULD BE A CLASSIC!

    • JANIE
    • 12/29/07

    MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVES THIS MOVIE. WE NEED MORE MOVIES LIKE THIS ONE. REMINDS YOU OF CHRISTMASES PAST WHEN FAMILY WAS MORE IMPORTANT THAN GIFTS. A TIME OF SLOWER MOVING TIMES/NOT RUSH, RUSH, RUSH!!!

  • A Touching Family Message

    • diane
    • 5/17/07

    The Gathering uses a great cast to remind the viewer of the timeless importance of making amends and bridging family differences before it's too late. A haunting film that hits home with those who have lost loved ones, especially around the holidays. Wish I could get a copy.

  • What a movie!

    • orangekitty
    • 2/28/07

    This movie was filmed in my hometown of Hudson, Ohio and has a been a favorite of mine ever since. It is hard to find and would like to buy it. The great part of this movie is that it was filmed in special parts of Hudson that I remember, and the home was a wonderful edition of the style of the area; Classic Colonial style. The home belonged to friends of my parents, and the cast included some citizens of Hudson as well!This film will always have a special place in my heart.

  • A great one

    • Chris
    • 1/26/07

    Used to be one of my all time favorite Christmas movies. Haven't seen it in so long.

  • A touching Christmas story

    • Katie
    • 12/21/06

    The first holiday season after losing a loved one is always difficult. This movie with a wonderful cast will bring a tear to your eye as you remember all of the good times.

  • One of the best Christmas movies

    • Kimbra
    • 12/20/06

    This movie is a wonderful holiday movie, I look for it every year to watch, i use to have it taped so i can watch it but the tape finally tore up. I would love to add this movie to my collection.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.