skip navigation
The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm

The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm(1962)

  • Sunday, December 7 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm (1962) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Wonderful... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great childhood memory

    • Shannon L
    • 1/28/14

    As a kid, I had this film on an LP and listened to it hundreds of times. It wasn't until later that I discovered it was even a movie. I have only found it on television a few times but would love to own it and watch it just as often as I like. Buddy Hackett was probably my favorite character, as the dragon slayer. But the Dancing Princess and the Cobbler and the Elves were also terrific and entertaining. I remember listening to Rumplestiltskin mocking the fevered Wilhelm always made me laugh. What a terrific film and great memories it evokes. Thanks

  • the best movie you never saw

    • Cheryl A Leonard
    • 12/7/13

    i saw this movie at radio city music hall when it premiered in NYC back in 1962 it was a stunning production!! the lobby was set-up as part of the movie with fog and trees ao you actually walked through the forest to get to your seats. As for the length of the film, back then, theaters and films were presented with an intermission for bathroom breaks and candy/popcorn refills. So stretching the legs and refocusing a fussing child was not a problem. In addition they sold programs that went along with the movie so I'm sure that also amused some children. I still have mine. It was shown on three screen in panorama which is why, i believe they have such a difficult time showing it properly or releasing it.You just haven't seen all the action yet. It was fantastic. Even though you have watched the film it still is the best movie you never saw!!!

  • Simply beautiful!

    • RedRain
    • 2/20/13

    This film is a gem for young and old. It is heart-breaking in that Jacob Grimm is so ill throughout the film but it is uplifting in the telling of the marvelous fairy tales. The cinematography is gorgeous. If you have children, please have them watch this film so that they will see that real people wrote the fairy tales that all children fall in love with when they are very young. Watching this film will bring back fond memories for we adults. It is just a simple and beautiful film nugget!

  • The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm

    • Michael Foster
    • 11/25/12

    I first saw this film in Cinerama in Minneapolis, Mn. I do hope the powers that be will restore the film on Blue Ray in the SmileVision format like they just did for This is Cinerama, The Windjammer and How the West was Won.. I have these discs and they play well on a large flatscreen, especially How The West Was Won. This would make a great addition to the set. The storyline about the Brothers is good and the segments with the stories are quite well done. I just hope they consider restoring some of the other films such as South Seas Adventure and Seven Wonders of the World. It would be nice to see many of the actors that were in this film one more time.

  • A fun movie, but...

    • John G
    • 5/3/12

    The widescreen is awful and distracting. I really wish someone would do a proper restoration of this and fix it. It's in letterbox format, but the Cinerama is really off on TCM's print/copy. I'm sure it's a beautiful show on the big screen, and it's a good film, but the video version is odd to watch.

  • The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm

    • Torrence Buttermore
    • 10/29/11

    This is a GREAT family movie. I certainly hope TCM shows it soon again, so I can watch it once again. I'm not a kid but this is for us oldies also.

  • Brothers Grimm...

    • James Higgins
    • 3/16/10

    64/100. Way overlong but it certainly is creative and imaginative. Impressive special effects, perhaps not by today's standards but it must have been enthralling in 1962. It is entertaining and good for the whole family, although I can't see a lot of kids being able to sit through over two hours of this. The production is impressive. It won the Oscar for best costume design and was nominated for art direction, score and cinematography, all of which were quite good. It is divided into four segments. The Puppetoons are particularly enjoyable.

  • Why did I avoid this movie?

    • Annabelle
    • 2/25/10

    I watch it for the first time this morning something to go to sleep to.(or so I thought) Was never interested before. I am happy so happy I had the pleasure. Was going to buy DVD but not for sale yet. I would watch it often.Fabulous!

  • Takes me Back

    • Mike P.
    • 2/24/10

    You just watch this movie and smile...because its a simple story told well.

  • great movie

    • joe borchardt
    • 9/3/09

    This movie reminds me the good old fashioned movie making they used to do. I wish the would release it in Blue-Ray, the way "How The West Was Won" in Smilebox.

  • What A Great Movie! Please Play Again...

    • J.Scott
    • 8/31/09

    I love this movie. My mother used to tell me stories of when she went to the theater to see the brothers grimm, she was 5 years old. The dancing princess story was my favorite. I only caught half of the tv broadcast, please play it again!

  • Magical, outstanding, absolutely beautiful!

    • Rae M. Dart
    • 12/10/06

    This is a movie for young and old - for everyone! It is set in a real-life magical, historic, extraordinally beautiful and romantic area of the world. The film is exciting, romantic, entertaining and uplifting. Laurence Harvey with his marvelous voice is superb as Wilhelm Grimm who narrates the stories. Terry Thomas is a bumbling greedy knight as a foil to Buddy Hacket as his knave. Yvette Mimmieux is enchanting as the Dancing Princess which is an exquisite fairy tale. I highly recommend it and sincerely hope it is released on dvd very soon.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.