skip navigation
Outward Bound

Outward Bound(1930)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Outward Bound - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Outward Bound (1930) needs to be available!

    • Susan
    • 1/7/14

    Please make this wonderful classic available on DVD!

  • This best version needs to be on dvd

    • Marla Burke
    • 7/5/13

    I agree this is an essential Leslie Howard film for fans to have in their collection. Certainly, it should be shown more frequently on TV. Although I do like John Garfield, Between 2 Worlds just doesn't have the same feel, poignancy, and suspense.

  • This needs to be made available on DVD

    • Kathleen
    • 1/21/13

    I agree with Ginevra - can this please be released as a DVD? It is an essential Leslie Howard film, and I would love to have the opportunity to own it.

  • Please, make it available on DVD!

    • Ginevra
    • 8/10/12

    This film is very important for Leslie Howard's fans. We really need to have it released on DVD.

  • Outward Bound

    • Susan Leslie Watson
    • 7/18/12

    Need this on Video ! Excellent black & white movie about the mystery of life, death, and rewards or not at judgement day. Anxious unknowing. Mysterious edge of seat with surprises. Very thoughtful.

  • Outward bound

    • Sharon Beahm
    • 1/22/12

    This is one of the outstanding old movies. I first saw it when I was a child and in terrible pain, with poision oak and ivy. So, the mood of the film suited me well that long night. The movie is so well done is so emotional and mysterious. The actors are passionate and the story weaves so beautifully. Hard to believe that the story takes place on the ship, fog around, it looks like 1 or 2 sets may have been used.. yet it filled up such a large space. Please, please run it again on TMC.. and please release, this original. I have been searching for 30 years to see this movie again.

  • Wonderful fantasy

    • Jill Benone
    • 8/10/11

    Have seen "Outward Bound" on TV twice; once in 1963 or so and once earlier. I remember it as a perfect example of 1930's mysticism and fantasy (this was the era of Frankenstein and Dracula, remember, as well as a time of obsession with the supernatural). Making allowances for the still clumsy sound and somewhat static cinematography (if I remember correctly), I know I remember being moved by the message: heaven is what you make it on earth -- the snobbish socialite is condemmed to a life of party preparations to which no one will come; her husband will find his old cronies; the petty thief will be allowed to find his own way, unknowingly helped by his mother who gladly follows him; the suicidal young couple is returned to life; and so on. I find the story resonates today. Above all, I agree that a doubl DVD of "Outward Bound" and "Between Two Worlds", the '40s remake, would be an excellent thing!

  • Outward Bound

    • Brinna Nanda
    • 11/16/10

    I have been waiting to see this movie ever since I found out that "Between Two Worlds" was a remake of this 1930 flick. Mannered acting aside, this deserves to be released on DVD, for its sheer historical value. The 1924 play, on which Outward Bound is based was one of the first to investigate the "bardo" states, which Eastern religion posits as a transitional phase between life and death. This theme (of being dead, and taking some time to figure it out) has gotten a lot a play recently in Hollywood movies, but one can imagine the mind-bending effect it must have had on audiences of this era.

  • dvd set

    • Georgiana
    • 5/5/09

    Please TCM, get Outward Bound and Between Two World released on a 2-disc dvd set!!

  • Hope to see on dvd

    • Johnny Bolin
    • 1/24/09

    This movie, Outward Bound, and it's sequel, Between Two Worlds would make a great combination on DVD. Hope to see it released this way soon!

  • Have to see again!

    • Marilynn Herman
    • 3/27/08

    I caught two-thirds of this movie on TCM and was struck by the great script. I would love to see the whole movie. Could you PLEASE notify me when you plan to air it again? I would be most grateful.Thanks!

  • Release outward bound to dvd.

    • Julian Carter
    • 3/11/07

    This fillm has been on my mind since I viewed it on this network 5 years ago and I can not find any print or reproduction anywhere please e-mail me and let me know the next time you plan on airing this film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.