skip navigation
Vacation from Marriage

Vacation from Marriage(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Vacation from Marriage After World War II service... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • vacation from marriage

    • kevin sellers
    • 11/18/17

    Decent Brit wartime/ homefront film. Hard to dislike anything with two great actors like Donat and Kerr at the top of their game, but I sure as hell woulda liked it more if the ending hadn't aped Hollywood and the bored but awakened by war couple had actually followed the arc of the story and split up. Plus, the dialogue, in its too faithful delineation of how ordinary people actually talk, ends up being itself kinda ordinary. Give it a B minus.

  • Inspiring True Love

    • Will Fox
    • 3/2/17

    Robert Donat & Deborah Kerr, 24, are in a "No Sex, We're British," listless marriage, when WW2 separates the couple. City bank bookkeeper, sedentary Robert joins the Navy, gets health invigorating exercise, his 1st promotion, and becomes a war hero. Meanwhile mousy, home-alone housewife, Cathy joins the women's navy, tries lipstick, a new hairdo, and becomes a newly independent woman, captain of a crew of four women on HMS Skipper (Her Majesty's Service on a launch, indispensible for Command and Control communications, when bombings destroy telephones, roads and wireless). When 20something hormones and absence makes the heart grow adventuresome, both experience the thrill of romance with a Significant Other. Three years pass before they get leave at the same time for a reunion they both secretly dread. Will the newly confident, independent, Robert and Cathy fall in love again? Do the transformed personalities care to try? Perky Glynis Johns is savvy, as Cathy's charming lifestyle coach in the WRENS and the pivotal, change agent. Donat and Kerr engage us, slowly sparkling in director Alexander Korda's film that won the Oscar for Best Original Story. The B/W, symbolic cinematograph is might fine. Highly recommend "Vacation From Marriage" be added to TCM's "Essentials," as the film that galvanized Hollywood, MGM hiring Deborah Kerr, leading to her nominations for 6 Oscars. Please broadcast the British version of VFM; "Perfect Strangers" has an extra 10 mins. of great celluloid, rated 5 Stars! Encore, too.

  • Some Kinda Wonderful

    • el debbo
    • 2/25/16

    What a great film! Love Deborah Kerr and the fabulous Glynnis Johns in it, and I'm going to look for more movies with Robert Donat--- there's just something about him. Kerwow. It's late February 2016, and I'm finding more and more movies that ARE in the TCM Shop but are not linked to that information on the Overview. Like this one! Wake up techies at TCM, you are missing sales opportunities. 5 glistening silver stars for "Vacation".

  • Comparable to US Best Years of Our Lives.

    • denscul
    • 2/19/15

    Donat, Kerr, and Glynis Johns, with Ann Todd in small role are terrific. Made in 1945, at the end of WWII, the film dealt with returning veterans who survived and where forever changed. England had been at war for 6 years, and had been bombed almost daily. The British civilians suffered directly, unlike the US, but the genre was the same. One of the largest problems that impacted both countries was to marriages. Separations and opportunity played havoc on many marriages and this film brilliantly shows the change in the two mousy pre war couple, and the couple who returned from their war time experiences as two completely differently people. The last 5 minutes of the film shows two almost total strangers falling in love again. Glynis Johns plays the worldly wise friend to Kerr, and plays the role to perfection. Donat's teacher was being in actual combat and surviving a sinking and rowing to safety.

  • Yes, A Gem

    • Anne
    • 10/2/14

    Love finding these gems thanks to TCM. Glynis Johns is a joy in this film, just a much younger Mrs Banks. She helps a timid Deborah Kerr find her voice, her beauty and her path and it's fun to watch. They teamed up together again in The Sundowners with excellent results. Loved watching Robert Donat evolve into a more confident, attractive man. Another must see from me!

  • A Gem of a Movie

    • Maria Ramos
    • 9/16/13

    What a gem. I only recently discovered Robert Donat thanks to TCM, and now I'm a great fan of his work. How a World War against fascism not change people for the better! And then of course I love love stories with happy endings.

  • Different kind of love story

    • J.D. Hines
    • 5/30/09

    This film allows a couple to fall in love with each other twice. But with the second falling they are vastly improved people. The good war ennobled them both through mutual military service, making them stronger, braver, sexier, simply more fully human. Donat especially seems to stand straighter with several more pounds of muscle and the benefit of Royal Navy tailoring.

  • Vacation from Marriage (1945)

    • Jay
    • 3/9/09

    A sweet and wonderful film, very skillfully directed, superb screenplay. The performances are sublime. Intelligent, excellent character development. A gem of a film.

  • How an event can change someone

    • D. Roy
    • 6/24/07

    I first saw this movie in 1963 just before I joined the military and at a time in my life when, like many other young persons, I asked, "what am I supposed to do with my life". I thought the story of this couple said what is most important about events and decisions that affects people. This couple lived in a world that was changing and although they did not overtly think about how their actions might affect them, in the end they came to realize that their three years apart provided each a wider view of the world that engendered a deeper understanding of who they were, the reasons they were together in the first place and that the change they underwent actually strengthened their relationship. "Vacation from Marriage" is not only a believable story about how an event can change someone but it is also a microcosmic view of how a major event, like a war, affects people. This movie is underrated and should be made more widely available.

  • A poignant memory

    • Joseph Russell
    • 5/3/06

    I saw this movie in late 1945 or early '46, while I was still in the US Navy, and felt that it captured with delicacy and tenderness the way in which active involvement in the war worked transforming changes in the participants, and how survival differed so from what one would otherwise have expected from previously humdrum lives. Ever since then I have been seeking an opportunity to see it again, and to show it to my wife, who has never seen it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.