skip navigation
Song of Love

Song of Love(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Song of Love True story of Clara... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Old fashion love story

    • Charlynn
    • 7/21/13

    Song of Love is a wonderful old movie with a great cast. The story of love surviving hard times and sickness. Two people dedicated to one another by choice and then truly committed.

  • must see for classical music lovers

    • Connie Neilson
    • 12/26/12

    My husband and I viewed this movie on TCM while visiting friends in Tucson Thanksgiving 2007. Since we watch TCM religiously, we were amazed that we had never heard of it. We both loved the story, production, acting, music and informative introduction by your wonderful guest hostess who viewed this movie while in Japan. I think it has been played again on TCM a few times, but should be repeated at least once per year, maybe on Clara Wieck Schumann's birthday. This is is one of Katherine Hepburns best movies. Glad to see it is finally available for purchase from TCM!

  • I am so glad this movie was made!

    • Jason Bucklin
    • 9/7/10

    I recorded this onto my DVR when TCM ran it a few months ago. I didn't watch it till last night (why I waited so long I don't know---maybe I was afraid it would not be as wonderful as it truly is). Now I am watching it for the second time and the tears are constantly present from the very opening scene. I love Schumann and Brahms, being particularly drawn to the beauty and "love element" present in Schumann's music. This movie really brings that out as it tells the story of Robert and Clara's great love for one another. It's amazing how I forget that it's Katherine Hepburn playing Clara. She *is* Clara in this film, and the love and dedication for Robert that is portrayed by her in this exquisite film is astounding. That's what I have been hearing in Schumann's music ever since I first fell in love with it 20 or so years ago---the Song of Love---his great love for Clara. If you are not moved to tears at the end of this movie then you're probably really dead and just don't know it. ;0)

  • A Love Song

    • patsdogs
    • 6/17/10

    A wonderful movie! I would love to give this movie to a friend of mine who loves Schumann. She's a classical pianist and would love the story and the music. I hope you make it available soon on DVD.

  • Romantic era composers

    • jawam
    • 11/21/09

    I enjoyed this film and was surprised to find a film depicting three of the Romantic era's composers: Clara Wieck, her husband Robert Schumann, and his student, and subsequent national treasure in his own right, Johannes Brahms. It is a lovely film and one I would love to see transferred to DVD for college music majors to appreciate. Theirs is a lovely story and Clara's is a rarely showcased "female" talent in a male-dominated era coupled with an intensely feminine dedication to her husband's music. It is such an auditory and visual treat (lovely actors).

  • We need this on DVD!

    • Bob
    • 6/20/08

    Saw this marvelous film when I was a teenager, and I remember it still. It's a classic,and as a classical music nut it's remarkable that Hollywood did it.

  • We Need this in DVD. Outstanding

    • cathy
    • 1/3/08

    This movie shows great acting with a wonderful life story. Something about watching someone's life story -- and the life of Robert Schumann to boot. Katherine Hepburn -- superb. Please -- why not available in DVD? This is a classic to watch over and over again.

  • Wonderful

    • Gerardo
    • 11/20/07

    What a wonderful movie full of grace and character. Two of my grandchildren also saw this movie and were mesmorized by the beautiful music.

  • Good Robert Walker performance

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 4/7/06

    This movie provides one of the rare times in Mr. Walker's short career what a fine actor he was.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.