skip navigation
The Sea of Grass

The Sea of Grass(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Sea of Grass Katharine Hepburn and Spencer... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Tracy Rider

    • Martha
    • 9/25/14

    For those complaining about Tracy's riding . . . sigh! I would assume that Spencer Tracy was 'riding in tune with the part'. He would have looked funny in those days being a great rider. In real life he was a very good polo player. If you look at his 'rein hand' you will see that he is a better than average rider.

  • The Sea of Grass

    • BennaughD
    • 5/20/14

    I love this film and would love this to be on the regular line up. Strong messages for parents.

  • Terrible!

    • C white
    • 6/6/13

    Tracy and Hepburn in a western?! The end result is even worse then the idea of it! No wonder Kazan was embarrassed and is reported to have urged people not to see it. But with all the talent involved in the film i just dont understand how the diologue could come off soooo very very bad. It is worse then any Howard Hughes western.

  • Sea of Grass

    • PippaStallings
    • 2/10/13

    Please play the movie Sea of the Grass again with Katherine Hepburn Spencer Tracy because it was exciting!!But, I have missed the 20mts of Sea of the Grass because my TV went out so I didn't see the ending. Please play week of Feb 17, 2013 I will appreciate it, thank you.

  • Some people can't do Westerns

    • Kent
    • 10/23/12

    Kazan, Tracy and Hepburn have no sense of Westerns and, fortunately for us, made few. They are of the automobile age with collective sensibilities. Tracy was out of his element as a rugged, independent self-made rancher and past Indian fighter. This is a boring, miscast, turgid film. Do not watch it, it is a waste of your good time.

  • awesome

    • tom wells
    • 4/9/11

    Brilliant, way ahead of its time. tracy and hepburn as i have never seen them before, but as always believable in a most incredible performance!

  • Not what I expected

    • muriel
    • 9/22/09

    Very good story, but didn't work with this treatment or these stars.Painfully obvious that Tracy couldn't ride and it was essential to the story. I think the stars were too old for the picture, and they didn't age enough.However, I liked the sentiments voiced by Col Brewton, I only wish it had been different actors and more location shooting. Hepburn is very beautiful in this film.Read the book!

  • THE GRASS ISN'T ALWAYS GREENER

    • Jordan
    • 9/18/09

    I believe that this is Katharine Hepburn's MOST glamorous role - she is a BEAUTY as Lutie Brewton and has a gorgeous wardrobe from her days in St. Louis. Spencer Tracy's Col. Jim Brewton is her opposite in nearly every way. He is a lover and fierce protector of the land. Edgar Buchanan's character Jeff: the house cook and manny is a charming guy! Almost to the point of running over everybody else to take care of the children, he's a great "uncle" or "grandpa" to Sarah Beth and Brock. Sarah Beth grows into a lovely young lady, unlike her wild-child spoiled brother, Brock. Perhaps, he had one to few fathers (or mother) raising him? A couple of decades in time and a few dust bowls will fly right by during this two hour movie. Some of the distant scenery is breathtaking, as folks travel by horse and buggy.

  • Always forgive, but never forget

    • David
    • 9/17/09

    The Sea of Grass is a forgotten masterpiece amidst a "sea of movies". With a story line that's Way ahead of it's time and not for the faint of heart; because it'll break yours.There are many love stories aligned throughout this story. Father daughter, father son, husband wife, wife and lover, even love of the land. But in the end, the biggest message flows upon the tears of forgiveness. It's Spencer Tracy, Katharine Hepburn, Robert Walker, and Melvyn Douglas at their very best. Directed by Elia Kazan, is there more to say? When love hurts, forgiveness heals. Please make time, to drown in the emotions of The Sea of Grass.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.