skip navigation
The Sandpiper

The Sandpiper(1965)

  • Saturday, December 6 @ 02:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Sandpiper - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Meh...

    • ggtx785
    • 2/16/13

    Watch the movie for the gorgeous coastal scenery. This movie feels dated and the messaging a bit heavy-handed, and there are far better Taylor-Burton pairings (how about "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?").

  • The Sandpiper

    • Bruce C
    • 2/14/13

    Its hard to judge this film knowing the history and past of Burton and Taylor. The conditionin which Laura (Elizabeth) is presented is common today, along with a spiraling disregardfor religion. The film's title is close to being a misnomer, but not wholly. Its more of a tool -mechanism that pulled two entities on differing paths together. The Big Sur location and a healthy name cast make this an interesting movie for some. Sometimes films don't fit intoeveryone's personality, but no reason to disregard the body of work. Perhaps understandingcan only be known if one has experienced a relationship of this magnitude, if not, you'll not fully understand. The beach scene right after the little bird comes outside, is about as real as it gets. Very appropriate to be aired on Valentine's Day this year, its a love story on the human level.

  • sandpiper

    • bergy7
    • 8/20/12

    I loved watching this movie...not so much for the great acting...but the great music, scenery, and history.It;s a real timepiece and I didn't find it boring at all.

  • Redefines boring

    • Johnny Perry
    • 5/12/12

    The worst movie I've watched from beginning to end.(And this comes from someone who also sat through "Paint Your Wagon.")

  • Spirit of Big Sur

    • Noir Horse
    • 5/12/12

    I love love love this movie. The music, styling and locations combine with the amazing cast to weave a story that touches the soul. For me personally, it always fills me with a mysterious sense of deja vu, for a place in time that I'd yet to be born. I also think it ridicous to suggest that an artist cannot be beautiful or glamorous. Liz is perfection! The locations are wonderful supporting characters. Thanks for placing it in your schedule.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 11/4/10

    Um filme fantstico e excelente. Ver Elizabeth e Richard Burton juntos s poderia resultar num dos melhores filmes de amor dos anos 60. A trilha sonora do filme linda. Perfeito o filme

  • Big Sur In Redux

    • Elder Guru
    • 10/18/10

    Liz 's and Dick"s tour de force vehicle and John Mandel'smasterpiece score. What more can one say, loved it!

  • Sandpiper Is a Glorious FIlm

    • Beckette
    • 8/24/10

    Please put this film back in your schedule. It's wonderful to watch, a perfect snapshot of that moment in time. I ADORE the locations. I disagree with the previous poster regarding Liz's glamor factor . Since when is it rule that an artist be unglamorous or unfashionable? Liz definitely captures the bohemian spirit of the artist she portrays- and does so beautifully.Can't wait to see this one again.

  • Close ups galore

    • Joe
    • 5/26/08

    The Liz Taylor close ups were incredible. It was shot in the summer of 64, the year they were finally married!Great sets locations and quite a scene when Bronson is sculpting Liz.Of course dont forget the Oscar winning very famous song, The Shadow of Your Smile.

  • Four Raspberries!

    • patri
    • 8/3/07

    Liz is far, far too much of a glam gal to convince the audience that she's an artist. I really like that embroidered white caftan she wears in one scene with Burton. It's a film I love to hate.

  • Love The Sandpiper!

    • Catherine
    • 2/17/06

    This film is absolutely stunning! From the Big Sur coast location to the stellar performances of Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. It speaks to the free spirit in each of us and to our self-imposed limitations. I would add this film to my collection in a heart-beat if it was made available.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.