skip navigation
On the Town

On the Town(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

On the Town Three sailors wreak havoc as... MORE > $12.98 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wide Screen

    • Ross Care
    • 4/6/13

    ON THE TOWN was not shot in wide screen. Wide screen did not come in until the early 1950s: Cinerama in 1952, CinemaScope in 1953. MGM shot several musicals (BRIGADOON, STUDENT PRINCE) in CinemaScope.

  • On the Town

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/23/12

    No matter how this movie is seen, the idea of three sailors looking for casual sex is evident on screen. Kelly, who also directed the film with Donen, is joined by Sinatra & Munshin who spend the film looking for women who include Miller, Garrett & Vera-Ellen. The story has obvious faults, but luckily the songs & Oscar-winning score are memorable treats for the eyes, ears & heart. An entertaing & terrific film. I give it a 4/5.

  • Best Musical MGM Ever Made !

    • Jim Burns
    • 10/3/11

    A great movie..the singing and dancing was great as well as the plot. I loved the part where Frank Sinatra and Louise Garrett were in the cab and he fends her aggressiveness until he finally caves in when running around the cab. The "On The Town" song with the dancing and singing where all three couples meet on the Empire State building was great as well. Great movie..they just don't make them like they used to !!

  • Can't be Repeated

    • Condie
    • 9/24/11

    The entire musical was collaboration by several of the best in the business. It might be repeated but never excelled. No. Without MGM this production can never even be repeated.

  • A true classic

    • Michele
    • 9/11/11

    Star turn performances from all six leads, but my money is on the lovely and cute-as-a-button Vera-Ellen. She simply sparkles in her dance numbers. Great fun in the tradition of the grand MGM musicals. Don't miss it.

  • vera-ellen

    • jack
    • 6/6/11

    adorably cute face and sensational legs!

  • The best!

    • Margaret Strother
    • 5/23/11

    Everyone rocks in this movie. The music is fine art, and the cast is perfect. I especially love Betty Garrett, never enough of her in anything.

  • On the Town

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/23/10

    Three Sailors on liberty in New YorkOn leave is a longer period.

  • On the Town (1949)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/8/09

    Outstanding musical, one of the best from the 1940's and of all time. Great songs, creatively choreographed. Well produced. Lively and colorful. Fantastic and talented cast.

  • Lucky Betty Garrett

    • Lizzy
    • 6/12/09

    Quick note to Rachel:If you keep mentioning Gene Kelly,you'll explode!!And now my review:Can I just say Garrett got lucky in this movie?Gettin' to mack on Frank Sintra 12,000 times!!!

  • excellent

    • rosita
    • 12/9/07

    this movie is faulous, talented, lovely actors and actress.

  • GENE KELLY NEEDS A DATE!! I'LL VOLUNTEER!!!

    • Rachel
    • 3/13/07

    This is such a fun movie to watch, as is all of GENE'S movies. This is a great cast of actors. Ann Miller with her great taps--she could have been dubbed the "female GENE KELLY" of taps...she was great. I love the cute number that GENE and Vera Ellen do together, "Main Street." and Frank and Betty perform a cute number too. There are many good scenes in this movie, but the one that made me laugh the most is when "Brunhildie" fixes "Gabey" up with "Lucy." GENE'S facial expressions are so hillarious, they're worth a million!! But being the sweet, lovable, handsome, sexy, sensual guy that he was on and off the screen, (GENE)"Gabey still tries to have a good time with Lucy. So for a movie that's packed full of fun, laughs and dance, see this one. It's great for the family. My boys and I love it!!

  • fabulous!

    • I
    • 6/23/06

    Vera-Ellen, by far a very talented dancer and lovely actress. This one is Tops!

  • Wasn't this filmed in "widescreen"?

    • Carol
    • 4/13/06

    I thot the movies filmed at this time were now being shot in wider aspect ratio, not the square "TV" shape anymore. How can we know what the ORIGINAL movie was shot in? You seem to only show the ratio you have DVDs in.

  • On the Town!

    • D
    • 2/19/06

    I just love this movie, every time I watch it I just fall for it again. It is by far my favorite movie on tcm.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.